We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,045 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Start your review of Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
 Click to rate
west midlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel grounds were stunning I agree rooms are not very big but as we weren't planning on spending much time in there we found our room more then adequate for our needs also very clean "Job well done the two young lads"Also the gripes about the breakfast we again found plenty to satisfy us Great choice of pastries exactly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaclarke
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear kaclarke, Many thanks for giving your positive feedback following your recent visit to our Excel Roma Montemario. We are very happy to understand you have spent good time together with us, our guest’s satisfaction is our main goal. We are glad you liked the room, clean and comfortable, the continental buffet breakfast served in the morning together to the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is awfull.How it is rated four stars I don't know.Tiny badly furnished bedroom.Tiny Tiny bathroom with the smallest shower I have ever used.Smelly sheets and towels.Tiny bar that is never open.Oh and they allow barking dogs accompanied by Italian owners in the restaurant at night .Do yourself a favour and stay in central Rome.!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Mary G, Thank you for choosing us for your journey in Rome. We are sorry for any inconvenience and to know only now you didn’t spend good time together with us; guest’s satisfaction is our main goal, so we always do our best in order to make our clients feel comfortable. We would like to remember that our...

Reviewed 18 February 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed in Rome for 4 nights at this hotel. It has a very nice exterior and the staff were pleasant and friendly. The facilities looked excellent - noting the pool, tennis courts and fitness centre. It is slightly out of the city centre (about 20-30 mins depending on where you want to be) which we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby K
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Toby K, many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit to our Excel Roma Montemario. We are very happy to know you have spent good time together with us, you liked our staff, always pleasant and friendly, the optional facilities and our location, outside from the chaotic city centre of Rome, in the wonderful Montemario’s pinewood. In relation...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Although the hotel is such a sprawling mansion that after seeing how contrastingly tiny the rooms are, one can't help but wonder where all the space has gone. I made a paid upgrade to a superior room and in my opinion in other 4-star rated establishments this would have just been the standard room. The furnishing is basic and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haz M
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Haz M, many thanks for your positive feedback after your recent visit to our Excel Roma Montemario. We are happy to understand you liked our superior room together to the spaciousness and the artistic furniture of the common areas. The structure provides different additional services, such as the gym: we are very happy to know you have found it...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

we stayed 3 nights hotel my girlfriend birhtday. Hotel position to city center by bus 30 min distance not bad breakfast simple nothing special even not 4 star hotel quality.Bar restaurant so expensive.room clean nice decorative.worst think they make extra charge leisure center gym sauna swimming pool not inclusive room price .Ridicuolus they want make profit leisure center.i get max...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kokai1976
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear kokai1976, Thanks for choosing us for your journey in Rome and for taking your time to give us your feedback following your recent visit. We are glad to understand you liked our structure together to the room, nice and clean, and to the buffet breakfast served in the morning. In relation to additional services, we provide different types of...

Augsburg, Germany
Reviewed 7 January 2017

It's a very good hotel. The only problem is the distance to the center of the city. It takes around 40 minutes by bus to get there. For a good price, it would make sense. Otherwise not. The breakfast was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcello P
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Marcello P, many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit to our Excel Roma Montemario. We are happy to understand you have chosen our hotel for your holiday vacation together with your family and we are glad you have found fantastic our buffet breakfast served in the morning. In relation to position, we are just outside the chaotic...

Belvedere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Very quirky hotel, originally a school or college, nicely decorated.Rooms large, huge windows, beds comfy shower small no bath. Situated in a lane, 20 minute walk to bus stop to get into centre of Rome. Buses were awful hardly any seats and packed with people.Stayed here for 2 nights in November breakfast good but were watched over by staff, bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainesmart4
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear elainesmart4, thank you for taking your time to share your experience in our Excel Roma Montemario. We are glad to know you liked several features of our structure and services provided such as rooms décor and the buffet breakfast served in the morning. In relation to the position, we are certain you appreciated the suggestive and relaxing area around...

Leeds
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Only stayed the one night following a cruise, and found it to be a 40 min bus ride to the city centre with the overloaded passengers crammed in like sardines. Would have checked out early if we'd have been due to stay longer. Not really a 4 Star Hotel, although the public areas inside & outside the hotel were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff92Leeds
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Jeff92Leeds, Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, following your recent visit. We are happy to read you liked our public areas in the inside and outside, together to our continental buffet breakfast served in the morning. At the meantime, we are sorry your stay wasn’t totally up to your expectation. We understand, from your...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Half an hour bus ride out of town but that's ok.The building is interesting and I liked the style of the place.The rooms are noisy as there is no carpet but the hotel can do nothing about ignorant noisy people who have to shout along the corridor at 7.30 am.Interesting 20 minute Dom Jolly type telephone conversation by someone next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aldershot2015
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear aldershot2015, thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback following your recent visit in Rome. We are happy to know you have found the building and the place interesting and you liked our staff, friendly and helpful with our guests. We always guarantee wellness and relax to our guest, the fundamental element is the respectful behavior...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a package holiday. Location: a bit far from the city centre but accessible via a 24 bus (913). It was a bit difficult finding places where to buy bus tickets on a Sunday though. Decor: very nice. The entrance of the hotel is very quaint. Breakfast: didn't enjoy it. The scrambled eggs wasn't up to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pr L

663 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Matrimoniale Deluxe (24)
Viewed
Matrimoniale Standard (27)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Quadrupla (26)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Tripla (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#438 of 1,292 in Rome
917 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#429 of 1,292 in Rome
612 reviews
5.5 km away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#589 of 1,292 in Rome
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#361 of 1,292 in Rome
609 reviews
4.8 km away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#443 of 1,292 in Rome
554 reviews
17.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Excel Hotel Roma Montemario is located in a peaceful district surrounded by the green, short distance from the Olympic Stadium, the Flaminio Stadium and 5km from Saint Peter Basilica. The perfect choice for those in town on business or leisure, the hotel is near local bus stop and is half hour from Rome downtown. All the rooms have natural light and are provided with bath with shower, hairdryer, tv and wifi. Our Resort offers an outdoor pool opened from June to August, tennis and beach volley courts, sauna, sporting club and parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Address: Via Degli Scolopi 31, 00135 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Price Range: RM264 - RM834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Montemario 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Montemario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excel Roma Montemario Hotel Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Rome
#303 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Excel Hotel Roma Montemario staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Solihull, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Excel Hotel Roma Montemario staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 floor double bed rooms”
 of 5 bubbles kokai1976, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 222 at back of hotel overlooking flats”
 of 5 bubbles elainesmart4, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Jeff92Leeds, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“none that I can let you know of..”
 of 5 bubbles daryljl2013, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“at the ground floor the restaurant side is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles chiarellas, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5