We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Venice

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 625: English reviews
Start your review of Generator Hostel Venice
 Click to rate
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

This hostel is in a perfect location, not in the busy centre on San Marco but just one quick water bus away! Staff are polite, room was clean and hostel was stunning. Great price for accommodation in Venice!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 708eleanorb
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Reviewed today NEW

I liked this hostel very much. A lot of young and cool people, cosy lobby, clean and nice beds, good bathrooms. I would recommend to everyone. The very city center is just 1 boat station away, which is about 10 minutes in a nice boat ride. No complainings at all

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yuri P
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with ten teen agers. What a fun place! Location and view stunning! Perfect rooms for our needs. Beautiful common room! Breakfast, and meals in general, could be improved to make the experience fantastic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Generator Venice with us. As you could see by yourself at Generator Venice we tried to create a wonderful atmosphere where our guests can relax, meet and share their travelling experiences with other fellow travelers from all over the world thus making your trip to Venice a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Terrible experience with the reception, and staff which are really all very rude people, and would not compromise on anything. I was charged money for nothing that I used. I will be reporting this institution to my credit card provider to block the payments.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank isliguezze
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear isliguezze, Thank you for sharing your experience at Generator. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. We will make sure to send your review to the specific department to discuss and make sure our guests have the best experience when they interact with our team. It would be great if...

Magdeburg, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place to stay in Venice ! People are really nice. Big bed rooms. Nice breakfast and ambiance at Hostel. I can highly recommend this hostel. I will be back for sure there ! Great time. Possibility to meet nice traveling people.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank agatak895
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear agatak895, Thank you for having chosen our hostel for your stay in Venice. We are fully committed on have a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at Generator Venice. We would like to inform you that we have shared your words with the...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great, away from the noise of the main island. They have rooms with great view. Check in early to get the bed with the best view in the dorm. Wifi was good, had no problem making video calls.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xiaoxi Z
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Xiaoxi Z, Thank you a lot for your wonderful and constructive feedback! It’s amazing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the recently refreshed facilities exceeded your expectations. We really hope to have you back again soon in our Venice hostel. Best regards Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything is great except breakfast. It is ridiculous to pay 4.5 € for it. There is nothing to eat at breakfast. There is only flakes with milk and possibility to make sandwich from not tasty ham. Also there is juice that you can't drink coz it taste like yuppi. Do not spend your money on it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darya N
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Darya N, Thank you for your review, We have taken on board your comments concerning our buffet breakfast, we do also offer different kind of plates like scrambled eggs with bacon, vegetarian omelettes and Italian breakfast, we hope to welcome you back in Venice in the near future. Best wishes Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So many problems. They made a mistake so I had to change rooms after the second night which was a huge pain. Not only this I had to check out in the morning and then I couldn't get into my new room until after 1pm. There was soap scum on the shower heads. The rooms are so small you can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Firstly can I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us after your recent stay. As I am sure you can imagine, with so many guests it’s great to get individual feedback to help us continually improve the service we provide. I am disappointed to hear your feedback as we have a team who...

Mol, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+ really good sleep comfort + very hygienic and comfortable sanitary accomodations + social hostel! + very helpful personnel + decent kitchen +- not so much to do in the vicinity, but very well accessible by Vaporetto. Quieter part of the city, but only one single boat stop away from San Marco (which is the place to be) +- bar...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanbaelend
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Karin R, thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed you here. Thanks and hope to see you next time! All the best. Generator Venice Team

Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

At first I was hesitant because it is located outside the main island. But once I was there, I realized that the location was perfect. Away from the busy and noisy touristy area; handful of secret local restaurants to discover; has the perfect view of Dorsoduro and San Marco; 2-3 meters from the Canal de Giudecca, which is perfect place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingMD
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear GlobetrottingMD, Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Venice. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall however I do apologise you found your room floor dirty. Hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards Generator Venice Team

468 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (240)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Private Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Small Dorm with Ensuite Bathroom (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#132 of 386 in Venice
480 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 386 in Venice
2,019 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
810 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#109 of 386 in Venice
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Giudecca

Neighbourhood Profile
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh, Guidecca, points away from the others – part of Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal. Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and factories to a quiet residential area with a sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic harmonious Redentore church stands as thanks for delivering Venice from the plague, hosting an annual heartfelt festival.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Price Range: RM189 - RM1,611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“clean room”
731hanym, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“13 beds room not a problem!”
LuliChap, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring headphones as you cannot control who will be in your shared rooms!”
Cheyenne0515, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views, cheap food & drink, lovely food, great staff, clean rooms, ideal location”
  • View from location
jenniferfT5705KJ, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As with all hostels, the large dorms are cheaper, small ones are nicer.”
DawnMarieGoz, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5