We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Caburlotto

F.ta Rizzi - Santa Croce 316, 30135 Venice Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (141)
Panoramas (30)
Room & Suite (110)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#159 of 582 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Casa Caburlotto, owned by the Religious Family of the St. Joseph’s Daughters of Caburlotto, was recently renovated and offers 52 spacious and bright rooms. Casa Caburlotto is suitable for individuals, groups or families, religious and otherwise. Casa Caburlotto, completely renovated in 2014, offers an ideal tourist accommodation and hospitality for individuals, groups and families with bedrooms mostly air-conditioned and with bathroom. It simply and soberly furnished with sight open to the canal or the garden. The breakfast, of continental type (sweet) is offered, inclusive of the price of stay, in two big dining rooms in the first floor of the building. It provides two elevators. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: There is a curfew from 00:00 (midnight) to 06:00. It is not possible to check-in before 00:00 and check-out before 06:00.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
294Reviews11Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 134
  • 54
  • 11
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DandyG wrote a review Jan 2020
Ankara, Turkey17 contributions22 helpful votes
The good part: Location was convenient for the train station. Rooms were clean. The women working on reception were friendly The bad part: I found this accommodation overpriced for what it is - at the time I paid just over 100 Euro I understand that it is an old monastery which I why i stayed there (I thought it would be a unique experience) however the rooms are cold (although when you complain they try to convince you the room is 22 degrees). The breakfast is very basic. If you have a room on the same floor as dining room it is VERY noisy The nuns who look after breakfast look miserable, you can’t even get a good morning from them. The very bad: The manager is hands down the rudest person I have had to deal with in a hotel - when I complained about the heat he became very agitated and aggressive. Had I not just pre paid 400 euro I would have left!!! Looking at other similar negative feedback for this place I can only assume I will receive a similarly rude response (which shows you the person you deal with here)?!?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Response from Caburlotto, Direttore at Casa Caburlotto
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Why did you not write what you did the first night? Because you feel ashamed for that? So I explain to everybody what happened: because you did not like the room (a basic standard room, without any kind of luxury as per your reservation!) during the night you took advantage that there were nobody at the reception to take BY YOURSELF another room. This is a VERY BAD behavior! The next morning we had to clean another room and you refused to pay it! So that’s why I became a little bit “rude”. But I am not a rude person! And you forgot to write that you complained about a “noise” in the room, not the heating......... You still want to keep the reason?!?
Read more
Anne V wrote a review Sep 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia74 contributions6 helpful votes
Great location away from the crowds. Quiet neighbourhood. Peace and tranquil. The rooms were clean. Not many places offer quad rooms and we were lucky to get a quad room. Room was basic as this was previously a place for the nuns. We enjoyed the morning breakfast prepared by the nuns. Simple and yet tasty. Great hot chocolate from the machine. Travelled all of Italy and was not happy with the hot chocolates in most cafes. It was lovely to have the machine that provides still and sparkling water. Their staff was very helpful and responsive. Lift service was provided and working for bags. Do take note if you have heavy and big bags. and there are a fair few steps and bridges to get across to this place. Suggestion for improvement to beds in the quad room as they were creaking all night and it was rather uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Natalie Ki wrote a review Sep 2019
32 contributions11 helpful votes
The hotel didn't perform well. 4 months in advance, they tried to block some money on my card, but refused to tell me how much money exactly they were going to block and how much time they were going to hold it. I spent a day trying to find it out. They only told me they wanted to block "just one night" (as if I knew how much is it, the rates for different nights can be diffrerent in the bill) in order to "check" my card. Usually, if a hotel wants to check a card, it blocks 1$. This hotel started from telling me that they are "a religious place" and therefore their doors are closed at night. Well, being greedy and not taking care for other people is very far from being religious. Start being Christians or stop telling you are "religious".
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Response from difrondi, Direttore at Casa Caburlotto
Responded 10 Sep 2019
When you reserve a room, you accept all the terms and condition. But you are the person who wants to dictate to someone else's house. One condition is that we have THE RIGHT to preauthorize the credit card you provide to GUARANTEE the reservation. Usually the amount of the preauthorisation is the first night. Because 1$ is nothing, no guarantee at all. You do not have the right to tell that we are greedy for that. First of all we are people who work honestly, and we take care of all our guests indistinctly.
Read more
Rharha wrote a review Aug 2019
Great Neck, New York108 contributions39 helpful votes
I am staying at the Casa Carbulotto today and tomorrow (8/22/19-8/22/19) and I couldn’t be more pleased.Im staying in a two single bed room with a bathroom and shower inside the room. From the moment you walk in, there is a very pleasant receptionist to greet you and give guidance when you need it. the room is immaculate and the shower and bathroom work superbly. At a nominal price for your room, you also get a continental breakfast and the location (close to all) is ideal for a tourist who want to be within either walking distance away or a vaporetti. The hotel, which is really a monastery is on a quiet block. And, after a days touring, one of the real draw is the garden in the back where you can sit and feel like you’ve just been meditating (but you haven’t). Spent my whole evening out here and it’s so peaceful and tranquil. For those taking a cruise it’s also an ideal location for getting there.There is a quaint street of restaurant and souvenir shops a couple of blocks away.This is an ideal place in terms of location, price and immaculate interior. I wouldn’t hesitate to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Margaret T wrote a review Aug 2019
14 contributions5 helpful votes
Friends stayed here two weeks ago and loved it! Their room had a canal view and there was a lovely garden to sit in, the whole atmosphere of the place was peaceful and pleasant. It was handy for the Vaporetto and easy walking distance to the sights. They thought it was excellent value and would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
US$59 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
casa caburlotto hotel venice
ItalyVenetoProvince of VeniceCity of VeniceVenice
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Caburlotto
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Caburlotto?
Nearby attractions include Ca' Zenobio degli Armeni (0.3 km), Venice Jazz Club (0.5 km), and Ways Tours (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Caburlotto?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, breakfast buffet, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Caburlotto?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Caburlotto?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arcicchetti Bakaro, Bacareto da Lele, and Cantina Arnaldi.
Is Casa Caburlotto located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Venice.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Caburlotto?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Caburlotto?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Doge's Palace (1.7 km), Ca' Zenobio degli Armeni (0.3 km), and Scuola Grande di San Rocco (0.6 km).