We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Marina

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Marina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Zagreb
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Honestly I expected more atmosphere from a converted 16th century convent. It looks very empty, barebone and I've been in many hostels in converted old buildings to know how good it can be with a little bit of imagination. Also quite difficult to find, not far from Piazza Yenne but in a side street and no signs at all to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanelic
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Very clean and a friendly service! Only downside was that there is no kitchen but the location made up for that. Very close to the old and new city center, station and various restaurants! You can enjoy a good Italian pizza on the terrace with a bottle of wine like we did. Breakfast is included the day after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linus D
Reviewed 31 January 2015

The hostel is situated in great quarter with excellent restaurants. The room was clean, not too small, with a bathroom. Breakfast was in italian style, so quite poor. Service was ok, For that price this is perfect place to stay in Cagliari.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartaSermak
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2015

The best about this hostel is its close proximity to the train station. It is situated right in the heart of the historic center next to a small square. The location gives you a lot of opportunity to go for lunch and dinner around the area. There are quite a few plazas that get vibrant and busy at night creating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
HostelMarina, Direttore at Hostel Marina, responded to this review

Dear Maria, thank you for reviewing Hostel Marina. We are happy that you liked our hostel and its neighborhood. We are sorry to hear that you had a long trip and a sleepless night before your arrival to the hostel and we understand that the wish of every traveler is to get the room in the morning. But we inform...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014

I encountered problems right from the beginning and you can read some of them from others here. Mine were no replacement lightbulbs. Maintainance not domne when reported and promises of changing room only to find other maintain ace issues. Air conditioning, security,bad staff members.Staff stressed and not the same as Admin or Central Office who seem to have other ideas?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eggtimer186225
HostelMarina, Direttore at Hostel Marina, responded to this review

Dearest, thank you for taking time to write a review for Hostel Marina. We regret you didn't have a nice stay with us, even if we let you sleep in a single room at the same price of a dormitory. This was our try to apologize for the inconvenient you had. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hostel...

Reviewed 18 October 2014 via mobile

Maybe it's just me staying in hostels very rarely, but there was no good vibe coming from other guests, neither from the staff. Rooms ok though, clean. Breakfast ugly, better eat out. Great proximity to the old town, plaza Yenna and other city highlights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia B
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 24 September 2014

The best thing about this hostel is its location: centrally located, close to bus terminal, railway station, city transport, pedestrian shopping streets, restaurants... The second best thing is cleanliness: I'm sure you have never been to a hostel with such awareness of hygiene. The staff are kind and eager to answer all your questions and help you get around. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirjana007
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was a 2 storey room - 2 beds downstairs and 2 upstairs. Plenty of space with a little balcony. The wifi is only in the common area downstairs and breakfast is very simple (bread, juice, coffee) but otherwise not bad for the price. The reception could have been a little more helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2014

I spent 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm. There were 2 full bathrooms ensuite for 6 people. The location is good. It's in the old town next to a small square. It has an elevator, Wifi, a lounge/library/TV room. It has a nice size courtyard with tables and chairs. It also has a large kitchen/dining area where they serve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jus_Eet_It
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My view of Hostel Marina is very mixed. Initially I thought it was great - the location was ideal; the rooms were pleasant and air conditioned and there was free wifi in the common areas. However on reflection the price is far too much. We were there for over two weeks as we had a course at the nearby university...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathryn M

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagliari
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#12 of 35 in Cagliari
593 reviews
174.9 km away
Hotel Vittorio Emanuele
Hotel Vittorio Emanuele
#2 of 12 in Sassari
352 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#15 of 35 in Cagliari
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
1.8 km away
Al Solemar Bed & Breakfast
Al Solemar Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 252 in Cagliari
103 reviews
0.2 km away
Sardinia Domus
Sardinia Domus
#36 of 252 in Cagliari
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Marina is an amazing hostel in CagliariOur Hostel is an ancient building located some beautiful steps in the heart of the old city, surrounded by churches, museums, medieval age towers, picturesque squares and breathtaking viewpoints. Marina district is also well known for local restaurants and pubs preparing typical dishes to be tasted with Sardinian flavours.Built in the XVI century, the Hostel was a monastery. A couple of years ago it was completely renewed and refurbished to be adapted to the modern requirements of a hotel, while retaining its historical charm.The first hostel in Cagliari, it is officially affiliated with the International Hostelling Network.Our young and dynamic staff welcome guests of any age and from all over the world, offering efficient services for all customers’ needs: different types of accommodation in spacious rooms with private toilets, free wifi and equipped meeting rooms.All public transports are five minutes from the hostel and this makes the main South Sardinian attractions really close to be experienced: spectacular sandy beaches, the hinterland Nuragic ruins, wild paths, Golfo degli Angeli creeks, Sella del Diavolo cliff, the pink flamingos oasis and much more ...Join us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Marina

Address: Piazza San Sepolcro 2, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Price Range: RM158 - RM373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Marina Cagliari, Sardinia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Marina staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quadruple rooms are very comfortabile to share- it has two foors-loft style- you feel like in two doubles in the end”
 of 5 bubbles 378elenae, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wifi only available in communal areas not in dorms”
 of 5 bubbles 787miriami, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 118 has a terrace!”
 of 5 bubbles MartinA400, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I stayed with a large room with an entresol”
 of 5 bubbles AHAU13, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Check out everything before you pay. Check you are not against someone else's noisy air conditioning. Check you have a view.Somewhere to air your clothes. Lighting and Air Conditioning. Hold them to what you agree to (both sides)”
 of 5 bubbles Eggtimer186225, 27 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5