We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via del Celso 31-37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily Italy
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (258)
Dining (64)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#17 of 118 hotels in Palermo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Hotel: Columbia Palermo Hotel is located in the heart of Palermo city centre, about 300 meters far from the Massimo theatre, the Cathedral, the Pretoria Square, Ballaro and Vucciria markets, only few steps from the Quattro Canti ( Vigliena Square). Situated in an historical palace of XIX century, entirely restyled, the Columbia Palermo Hotel offers a cosy and friendly atmosphere an all sorts of the most modern comforts. The Rooms: All 24 rooms are fully equipped with: private facilities and shower, hairdryer, TV color, mini bar, air conditioning, and WI-FI connection. Our service: Credit card, 24-hour reception desk, Rich international breakfast, Disabled persons room, Car-motorcycle-bike renting , WI-FI connection, Bar, Room service (part-time), Alarm call service, Cradle, Fax service, National newspapers (on demand), Arranged restaurants near the hotel, Private car parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
672Reviews16Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 270
  • 273
  • 89
  • 23
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steph O wrote a review 11 Nov
3 contributions
Had a lovely stay in Oct/Nov 2022, the hotel was clean, well kept and close to all local amenities and attractions. The staff were incredibly helpful and the hotel was very handy for exploring the area by foot. Breakfast was really good also. I had a hotel at the back of the building and when I was staying it was Halloween which meant a very loud nightclub - this genuinely didn't bother me in the slightest but if you are the kind of person who struggles to sleep with noise you might want to request a room at the front of the building, and I'm sure the staff will be happy to oblige if possible. Overall, absolutely delighted with my stay and if I return to Palermo, this is where I'll stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Betty from Greece wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Close to everything( excellent location), everyone was very kind and helpful. I definetely recommend you to whoever want to visit palermo. If i come again in Palermo, i would choose Hotel Columbia for my accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bobbyzj2 wrote a review Jun 2022
Seattle Washington17 contributions5 helpful votes
Awful accommodation......mold in bathroom, shower drain is so slow that it overflows onto the floor. Air conditioner is terrible, bed uncomfortable. And the door, well......if we arrived before 11pm we would have found another place. The only good thing is that it was 1 night....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erica V, Proprietario at Hotel Columbia
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Besides your rude behavior, pulling the keys at the reception, you have placed a false and distorted review. All because in a suite that has been offered free of charge, with a lounge, a room in the other part, a whirlpool tub, you wanted another air conditioner, in addition to the one already present, even if the room was very fresh. Why didn't you post photos of the interior of the apartment? Why didn't you put photos of the mold you say is present? as if that weren't enough for free, put two equal comments just out of pure Besides your rude behavior, pulling the keys at the reception, you have placed a false and distorted review. All because in a suite that has been offered free of charge, with a lounge, a room in the other part, a whirlpool tub, you wanted another air conditioner, in addition to the one already present, even if the room was very fresh. Why didn't you post photos of the interior of the apartment? Why didn't you put photos of the mold you say is present? as if that weren't enough for free, put two equal comments just out of pure badness, in destroying the work of others. Congratulations, very mature., in destroying the work of others. Congratulations, very mature.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RebeccaDeco16 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Loved my stay here! Me and a friend came for 3 nights and it would be difficult to find anywhere else so central and such good value. Nice clean, quiet rooms with everything you need. Friendly, welcoming staff at reception with excellent English. Easy access to the old historic centre, close to bars and restaurants. Great bar at the end of the street (Via del Celso). This is my second stay here and I'll definitely be back for another visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
janegartside wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom140 contributions105 helpful votes
We stayed in April 2022 for 3 nights . Great location , quiet and comfortable rooms . Plenty of hot water , clean towels given daily . Breakfast was ok - just continental type but alright , they’d make cappuccino if asked which was nice . Our son had twin room next to ours . Would recommend . Staff were friendly .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
indolawson wrote a review Nov 2021
Colorado Springs, Colorado72 contributions46 helpful votes
Upon entering the hotel we were pleasently surprised by the visuals. Looking at the outside we were a bit worried, however after entering, very pleased. The staff was very helpful. The location great. The room comfortable and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tourist525069 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
When I stayed here there was a problem with a blocked sink and after trying to resolve the problem I had to get the police involved the hotel staff threatened to throw me out and that I could sleep under a bridge if I didn’t pay £300 immediately I was very distressed as I had my two children with me and one of them was disabled. The two members of staff who I dealt with was extremely rude and I felt very threatened as I was single female adult with my two boys who did not speak Italian. I offered to pay this amount for the plumber but could only do this when I got back and they refused I also believe I was being victimised for previous customers actions. I would never return to this hotel and strongly advise anyone to do so especially if you are a single female.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erica Verso, Proprietario at Hotel Columbia
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Your accusations are quite serious and we wonder how tripadvisor gave you the opportunity to post such an inappropriate review, foremost the property and management are occupied by a woman, and all staff have deep respect for people regardless of gender. What you reported is completely distorted, perhaps because more than a year has passed and we called the police, because, with two children, you were completely drunk and threatened the staff and did not use the mask completely, in full pandemic(it was just started last year). In a week's stay you washed your clothes full of sand every day, completely clogging the sink, several times you were asked to avoid, then it got completely clogged and we had to repair on our expense, since you left without even paying . Have more respect for your children and for yourself, I say this as a woman.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rheate wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom8 contributions10 helpful votes
cannot fault this hotel, staff very pleasant and ample breakfast. the night we arrived we found the shower head was loose once mentioned it was done the next morning. this hotel is very convenient for all the tourist spot. one remark is the coffee is rather weak but one can ask the waiting staff for expresso or capucino, if the coffee was stronger maybe the waiting staff will have less to do, not a complaint just a remark!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gaynor p wrote a review Oct 2019
standish78 contributions84 helpful votes
This hotel probably won't be for everyone but if you need a central affordable hotel, clean rooms, super comfy beds, friendly staff and a adequate breakfast then you can't go wrong. Little things let this hotel down, but we reported them to reception and hopefully they'll be rectified. Breakfast gets a few folk worked up, yes there isn't a massive choice, but what's put out is fresh and if you want anything topping up just ask the staff. The hotel is situated on a small road that is still undergoing major building works, and as of such will put people off, not the noise, but the scruffy way the via is left after the builders have gone. But being honest your not paying a five star bill to stay here, so keep that in mind. The location sells this place hands down, never stayed anywhere so central for everything, and if given the choice we will definitely return x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Andy S wrote a review Oct 2019
Staffordshire, United Kingdom29 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed at the hotel Columbia for 4 nights hotel is central located in the heart of Palermo breakfast was continental everything was fresh the staff are excellent always polite room was clean and we had fresh towels daily for the price we paid this hotel was really good there is a lot of building work going on in the nearby streets but it didn’t effect our stay in anyway would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL COLUMBIA: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 534 Photos (Palermo, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Columbia
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Columbia?
Nearby attractions include Palazzo Conte Federico (0.5 km), Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.2 km), and Chiesa Del Gesu (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Columbia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Columbia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Columbia?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Columbia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dolce Capo, Biga Genio e Farina, and Finch Sushi.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Columbia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Columbia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Conte Federico (0.5 km), Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.2 km), and Oratorio di Santa Cita (0.6 km).