Hotel Columbia

Hotel Columbia

Via del Celso 31-37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily Italy
Traveller (230)
camera tripla
Room & Suite (258)
Dining (65)

View prices for your travel dates

RM 282
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#17 of 114 hotels in Palermo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel: Columbia Palermo Hotel is located in the heart of Palermo city centre, about 300 meters far from the Massimo theatre, the Cathedral, the Pretoria Square, Ballaro and Vucciria markets, only few steps from the Quattro Canti ( Vigliena Square). Situated in an historical palace of XIX century, entirely restyled, the Columbia Palermo Hotel offers a cosy and friendly atmosphere an all sorts of the most modern comforts. The Rooms: All 24 rooms are fully equipped with: private facilities and shower, hairdryer, TV color, mini bar, air conditioning, and WI-FI connection. Our service: Credit card, 24-hour reception desk, Rich international breakfast, Disabled persons room, Car-motorcycle-bike renting , WI-FI connection, Bar, Room service (part-time), Alarm call service, Cradle, Fax service, National newspapers (on demand), Arranged restaurants near the hotel, Private car parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian

Location

Via del Celso 31-37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Punta Raisi Airport
23.4 km
See all flights
Birgi Airport
79.9 km
See all flights
691Reviews18Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 275
  • 277
  • 92
  • 25
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joshiewoshie wrote a review Oct 2023
Toronto393 contributions375 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a good hotel that with a few tweaks could be a great hotel. This hotel is classified as two stars, so it's important to view it in that light. That said, the location is five star, and so are the staff. Everyone here was friendly and helpful. Our room was fine, but we could never get anything to work on the television. I really would have liked a fridge in my room, as I felt like a pain asking the front desk to store my wine for me. Breakfast isn't expansive and is on the sweet side, but is more than enough to get you started on your day. Please...fix the front door so it doesn't make that grinding sound every time it's opened! All in all, you will not find a better deal in a better spot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clive S wrote a review Sept 2023
142 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
8 day stay at this hotel, which is a very nice building in a very quiet lane just off the main tourist area, very close to pretty much everything. Accept the fact this is not a 5 star hotel but a budget alternative and everything is good. Small but adequate rooms are clean and tidy with excellent maid service each day, sheets and towels changed regular. Breakfast was more than enough to get you going each day. Coffee, cakes, bread with toaster, croissants, meat tomato's, etc. you can ask for special coffees and gluten free food is available from the staff. We had an issue with the shower doors coming off the rails (hitting my wife in the head once), told staff on reception 3 times but nothing was done, so gave up asking and put towels on the floor to catch the water. obviously been in this condition a while and will be for a while longer. apart from that all was good
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
V.L wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom335 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a good location, close to the main tourist area of the city. I stayed for one night. My room was spotless, no issues at all, but I think the A/C was faulty. I found it extremely annoying that the TV was placed almost to the ceiling, which made it very uncomfortable. Breakfast was a complete disappointment, instant coffee and some croissants with ham & cheese, some raw tomatoes. No eggs at all. Overall my experience there was ok, but I personally wouldn’t stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bobbyzj2 wrote a review Jun 2022
Seattle Washington16 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful accommodation......mold in bathroom, shower drain is so slow that it overflows onto the floor. Air conditioner is terrible, bed uncomfortable. And the door, well......if we arrived before 11pm we would have found another place. The only good thing is that it was 1 night....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erica V, Proprietario at Hotel Columbia
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Besides your rude behavior, pulling the keys at the reception, you have placed a false and distorted review. All because in a suite that has been offered free of charge, with a lounge, a room in the other part, a whirlpool tub, you wanted another air conditioner, in addition to the one already present, even if the room was very fresh. Why didn't you post photos of the interior of the apartment? Why didn't you put photos of the mold you say is present? as if that weren't enough for free, put two equal comments just out of pure Besides your rude behavior, pulling the keys at the reception, you have placed a false and distorted review. All because in a suite that has been offered free of charge, with a lounge, a room in the other part, a whirlpool tub, you wanted another air conditioner, in addition to the one already present, even if the room was very fresh. Why didn't you post photos of the interior of the apartment? Why didn't you put photos of the mold you say is present? as if that weren't enough for free, put two equal comments just out of pure badness, in destroying the work of others. Congratulations, very mature., in destroying the work of others. Congratulations, very mature.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grahunts2016 wrote a review 19 May
Ballarat, Australia8,024 contributions171 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible. I had a single room, floor 1. It had a ramp and catered for disability. (I don't have one). Bed was ok and comfortable. I had a shower, did not have the pressure high. A wooden grate in the shower base. The lip on the shower was tiny. The floor tilted down to the bedroom, not to the shower. Flooded the bedroom. I contacted reception and housekeeping came up. Said l had to much water pressure. My fault apparently. After closer inspection the noticed the wardrobe foot was rotted out from the exact same problem.. I changed room to the 2nd floor which the room had a normal bathroom. Walls thin, heard toilet noises, flushing and shower from next door. Breakfast was just ok. Some staff were friendly
Friends room, bathroom had black mould all over the roof
Location is good, but certainly not quiet at night. Walking distance to most sights
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steph O wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely stay in Oct/Nov 2022, the hotel was clean, well kept and close to all local amenities and attractions. The staff were incredibly helpful and the hotel was very handy for exploring the area by foot. Breakfast was really good also. I had a hotel at the back of the building and when I was staying it was Halloween which meant a very loud nightclub - this genuinely didn't bother me in the slightest but if you are the kind of person who struggles to sleep with noise you might want to request a room at the front of the building, and I'm sure the staff will be happy to oblige if possible.

Overall, absolutely delighted with my stay and if I return to Palermo, this is where I'll stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janegartside wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom222 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in April 2022 for 3 nights . Great location , quiet and comfortable rooms . Plenty of hot water , clean towels given daily . Breakfast was ok - just continental type but alright , they’d make cappuccino if asked which was nice . Our son had twin room next to ours .
Would recommend . Staff were friendly .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RebeccaDeco16 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved my stay here! Me and a friend came for 3 nights and it would be difficult to find anywhere else so central and such good value.
Nice clean, quiet rooms with everything you need. Friendly, welcoming staff at reception with excellent English.
Easy access to the old historic centre, close to bars and restaurants. Great bar at the end of the street (Via del Celso).
This is my second stay here and I'll definitely be back for another visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi R wrote a review Jul 2023
36 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cool and calm hotel. Fresh and cool even in July. High ceilings. Good location just in the center. Nice breakfast in the morning and mostly italians. Friendly staff.
Just in the weekend a bit noisy street.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
indolawson wrote a review Nov 2021
Colorado Springs, Colorado64 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon entering the hotel we were pleasently surprised by the visuals. Looking at the outside we were a bit worried, however after entering, very pleased. The staff was very helpful. The location great. The room comfortable and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SirNigelC asked a question May 2023
184 contributions80 helpful votes
Is there an iron and ironing board available please?
Gabriel L asked a question Jul 2019
Madrid, Spain14 contributions
Small dog allowed?
Answer from Erica V
Palermo, Italy
Dear Guest unfortunately no pets are accepted in our hotel. kind regards
emmaN8318LT asked a question Aug 2017
Greater London, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
Is the double bed 1 mattress or two singles put together?
Answer from Erica V
Palermo, Italy
Dear guest The our double bed are all with one mattress. Thank you please contact us for information. Greetings
Helen G asked a question May 2017
London12 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, We are staying in June - how did you get to the hotel from the airport Helen
Answer from Erica V
Palermo, Italy
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing us, you have two possibilities for reach the hotel, reserve a transfer with us for € 50,00, or take the shuttle bus from the airport, you can find them outside the exit of the airport and the price is € 6,90 per person. For some other information please contact us. Greetings
grahunts2016 wrote a tip 19 May
Ballarat, Australia8,024 contributions171 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel. "
Read full review
LegallyBlonde1978 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have an issue speak to the staff as they are extremely accommodating and helpful."
Read full review
TullyChester wrote a tip Oct 2018
Chester170 contributions93 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floor at the rear - spacious and quiet."
Read full review
Boboo48 wrote a tip Sept 2018
Liverpool, United Kingdom31 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No idea our room was on first floor"
Read full review
Helen G wrote a tip Jul 2017
London12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quiet room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palermo area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 305 - RM 432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL COLUMBIA: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 578 Photos (Palermo, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Columbia
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Columbia?
Nearby attractions include Palazzo Conte Federico (0.5 km), Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.2 km), and Chiesa Del Gesu (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Columbia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Columbia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Columbia?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Columbia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Biga Genio e Farina, Cinematocasa Bistrot, and Dolce Capo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Columbia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Columbia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.2 km), Oratorio di Santa Cita (0.6 km), and Palazzo Steri - Chiaromonte - Carcere dei penitenziati (0.9 km).
All Palermo HotelsPalermo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palermo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire