Hotel Garibaldi

Hotel Garibaldi

Via Montepellegrino 62, 90142, Palermo, Sicily Italy
Traveller (493)
Room & Suite (285)
Bar at the Hotel Garibaldi
Dining (50)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#43 of 115 hotels in Palermo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
In the heart of Palermo, within a beautiful building, founded the Hotel Garibaldi Politeama. The hotel takes its name from the magnificent theatre that stands in front. The hotel is situated in the city centre a few meters from the port. Opened in 2009, in contrast to the historic structure, the Garibaldi hotel hides a high tech centre with advanced equipment that meets the most varied customer needs: for business guests, with its congress rooms, with Wi-Fi Internet Access and all kinds of audio video equipment, or for leisure, for its formidable position is easy to reach any destination, from the important monuments located in the area close to shopping area and to the nearby beach of Mondello; is easy to move from the hotel, just to park your car in our private parking and to walk in the historic centre of town or catch various public buses that pass close to any points in Palermo and even to the airport. The hotel offers a reception service opened 24 hours, bar, laundry service and a restaurant where a rich breakfast is served. The rooms offer any comfort where you feel at any time at home: TV led, free Wi-Fi Internet Access, safe, air conditioning, heating, mini-bar, hairdryer, two telephones with voice mail.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Via Montepellegrino 62, 90142, Palermo, Sicily Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Punta Raisi Airport
Birgi Airport
1,560Review10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 408
  • 651
  • 338
  • 105
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Monty458 wrote a review Sept 2023
Noosaville, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
According to our Tour Director, selecting a hotel in Palermo requires compromise. Compromise on price is obvious, as they say “you generally get what you pay for.” The real compromise is between quality and location, with better quality hotels further away from the tourist epicentre than those closer in (for the same price.)

So with the Garibaldi, you win on location but lose on quality. It is close to the alfresco street restaurants, pedestrian malls and central plazas so lots to see and do within an easy walk.

If you arrive early, there is a not too comfortable lounge areas to sit and while away the wait time. The aircon is substandard in both the rooms and public areas, a significant issue with the global warming heatwaves over the last few years. The dining area is adequate but like the rest of the hotel lacks any atmosphere. We only had the breakfast which was a mix of continental and hot (scrambled egg and sausage pieces) items but very acceptable.

The rooms are large with the usual over-sized bed (reasonably comfortable), safe, tea and coffee making facilities (a bonus), dodgy aircon. The bathroom is large with a perilously leaning glass vanity basin but the water is hot.

So decision time for the compromise. If your stay is short, location will probably be the winner. There are alternatives to Garibaldi so can’t recommend it but it was acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David S wrote a review Apr 2022
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located in the middle of the city-central, so it is convenient for tourists. Also, the public bus from the airport has a stop 1 block from the hotel, on the opposite side of the Politeama Theatre, which is inexpensive and convenient.

The rooms are fair sized. Americans (others?) may find the shower stall a bit narrow. Only 1/2 the tub has a show door - so be careful washing/splashing. The beds were too firm and pillows too flat for me. You may need to ask for an extra pillow. There is no shelf or draw space for clothing - only a wardrobe with hangers.

The TVs have a large channel selection, some of which can be set for English. The hotel has a large dining room with a buffet breakfast and ala carte dinner.

Dinner was alright, but nothing to rave about . You will have a better local experience dining at local restaurant.

All of the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear David, thank you for choosing Hotel Garibaldi for your stay in Palermo and for the time spent writing this review. We are glad to read that your experience with us was good and that some of our services, such as our central location and the work of our staff, were appreciated and up to you expecations! We are sorry knowing that the room were not fully appreciated; we reminf you that our staff is available 24/7 for any need/doubt, in fact, they would have been more than happy to give you extra pillows or showing you another room. We hope to receive you as our kind guest once again in the future; meanwhile, Best regards, Martina Mancuso
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele V wrote a review Jan 2020
Brasilia, DF
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located at the City Centre and is very close to the main attractions. Room is very clean, comfortable bed and there is some tea and a kettle in the room which is very nice after a long day walk. Staff is very helpful and nice, wonderful breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel. Noemia, a girl at the reception is a very nice person who made us feel very welcome. Staff speak a good English.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GHS_HOTELS, Responsabile reception at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Mr. Michele, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing us for your stay here in Palermo. We are happy to read this positive feedback, which is vary important for us in order to keep improving ourselves, and to know that you appreciated our services , such as the location, breakfast, room and our staff! Waiting to receive again as our kind guests, Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melaniej78 wrote a review Aug 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights during which we had the worst nights sleep I can remember. The air conditioning was poor and our room was ground floor so every morning at 6am we were subjected to the noise of trolleys passing our window!
We complained about the air con on the first night and they offered to move us the next day. However when we checked out the aircon in our friends room it was no better so we didn't see the point. Strange given the corridors were a nice temperature.
Breakfast was poor. We only went on the first morning then decided to give it a miss. The boiled eggs were grey in the middle and when my friend cut into hers grey juice ran out of it and that was enough to put me off eating any.
The room was small and dark and the only good feature about the hotel generally was the central location. We even contemplating leaving early and checking in elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vincenzo Polizzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Dear Melanie, we are really sorry to read that your experience with us wasn't up to your expectations! We did our best to solve the probelms you had by offering you to change the room if you had given us the opportunity! We also apologize for the inconvenience happened during breakfast; such a thing had never happened to us and it shouldn't have happened. We hope to receive you as our kind guest once again in the future in order to regain your trust; meanwhile, best regards, Martina M.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adamsmt76 wrote a review Sept 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying for 3 nights as part of a longer visit to Sicily. Let's start with the positives; The location was very good as a base to get around Palermo and the staff were friendly enough. The rooms were also kept clean. The room itself however was pretty bad. The decor was relatively modern but their was was an old, broken air conditioning unit which permanently displayed an error code and was completely insufficient to cool the room. This was raised with reception on night 1 and they told me that they would get back to me and potentially change our room. To compound the issue we couldn't even open the window at night as we were on the ground floor and the catch on the security shutter was broken meaning that it was in no way secure. We were travelling with friends who confirmed that their room and air conditioning was no better so we had little faith that moving would improve the situation but as it happened reception never bothered to come back to us anyway. Essentially we had 3 nights of very poor sleep as the room wasn't cool enough and couldn't even retreat there during the day when we needed to escape the heat. Disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vincenzo Polizzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Dear Adam, thank you for choosing Hotel Garibaldi for your stay in Palermo and for the time spent writing this review. We are happy to know that some of our strengths, such as location and cleaning, were to your liking. We are really sorry intead for the inconvenience you had during your stay with the air conditioning; this one is centralized so it can be controlled from the room as well as from the reception. After your feedback we had the whole system checked so that it doesn't happen again. Hoping to receive you as our kind guests once again in the future in order to regain your trust back, Best regards, Martina M.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maguern wrote a review Sept 2022
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is perfect, opposite the Hop-on-hop-off sightseeing bus terminus and easy walking distance to the heart of the city. Apart from that, the room was pretty grim in grey/black/cream decor. Breakfast was awful and full of sweet cakes and tarts. The cereal and fruit juice were well hidden in a corridor and we only discovered them the second morning quite by chance. Most of the fruit was tinned! Not a great introduction to Sicily. Not sure why this is classed as a four star hotel. It was hard to sleep with such a small pillow.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 2 Oct 2022
Dear Maguern, thank you for choosing Hotel Garibaldi for your stay in Palermo and for the time spent to share your experience. We are glad to know that our central location was to your liking, this is, in fact, one of our strengths! We are sorry to read instead that your stay wasn't up to your expectations and to your liking; breakfast another of our strengths for the freshness and variety of choises; we do really apologize for the inconvenience. The cereal and juices are not hidden, they are placed in the corridor, next to the coffee machine; however, our staff is always available and would be happy to bring them to you. We also apologize if you didn't enojoy our modern style, also in this case our staff is always available and would have been more than happy to find a solution best suited to your needs. We hope to be able to receive you again in the future in order to regain your trust; meanwhile, Best regards Martina Mancuso
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fletch W wrote a review May 2022
Seattle, Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There is no pretense to the Garibaldi. It works for crews and tour groups. Location just off Ruggiero Settimo gives easy access to old town and the pedestrian thoroughfares. Room was not large; bed was comfortable. Bath a tub shower with no grab rail, small with little room for a couple's toiletries. Clean. Breakfast not included except for tour groups. No views.

An urban base for those focused on business or visiting the city outside.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 22 May 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Garibaldi for your stay in Palermo and for the time spent writing this review. We would like to clarify for our readers that breakfast is included for all customers (not only those belonging to organized groups), simply, when you book online, you can choose beth rate with or without breakfast. But that's not a problem, you can also add it on the spot. You could have asked, even if reported online, and our staff would have been happy to give you all the necessary information. We apologize instead for the other inconveniences happened, also here you could have told us at reception and we would have provided all the help needed! We do our best in order to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible and we are sorry to know that this time something went wrong. We hope to receive you again as our kind guest in order to regain your trust; meanwhile, Best regrards, Martina Mancuso
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JLM382 wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was at the Hotel Garibaldi in early June 2022 and want to echo the comments made by many people already. (Wish I had read them in advance) Room was stifling hot - ac is controlled by the front desk and the thermostat always reads 22 degrees C even when the room is much hotter and even after they assured us they would lower the temperature. Couldn't open windows to get some air due to noisy parking lot on other side. Water got warm-ish but never hot. WiFi didn't work in our room; to get reliable WiFi you need to be close to the office area of the hotel. We changed rooms once; the people we traveled with stayed in a different room each night.
Breakfast was nice but poor air flow - bad in the days of covid. Coffee machine in breakfast room made good coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Check WiFi, temperature, and water before you unpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, we are really sorry to read your review and to know that your experience at the Hotel wasn't good or up to your expetcations. We always do our best to satisfy each request and need and we apologize if this time it wasn't enough. After you feedback we've checked all the air conditionig system and know everything is solved! We apologize for the inconvenience happened. We hope to receive you as our kind guest in the future in order to regain your trust; meanwhile, Best regards, Martina Mancuso
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelhunter2017 wrote a review May 2022
Stuart, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On edge of dirty side of city, rude service at front desk, room was spacious but very dirty, filthy walls, light burned out, shower leaked, finish worn off the fixtures in bath. Felt very unsafe. 1 very small window for ventilation that opened to loud alley, ac not in May however fan would not function either. Stifling and loud noise all night of dogs barking, people arguing, babies crying if you opened the one window. Breakfast was empty containers, terrible coffee and poorest quality possible.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi
Responded 22 May 2022
Dear, from your review it seems like you're describing other Hotel, not ours. We are in fact located in the heart of the city, one of the best areas of Palermo to stay, full city center in a pedestrian area, 2 steps from the 2 shopping streets and 5 minutes walk from the historic center. We don't understand how it could have felt unsafe and also, there are other things that you describe that simpy do not represent the truth, so we are a little bit confused about your review; we apologize anyway if we weren't able to satisfy your expectations. Hoping to receive you as our kind guest in the future, Best regards, Martina Mancuso
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MSTwo wrote a review Feb 2023
Warwick, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was centrally located and you could walk everywhere. We had a room on a high floor which was a large outside area which was great for afternoon drinks or for drying a few clothes. Breakfast in the hotel was also worth having.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Vivian L
Germantown, Maryland126 contributions41 helpful votes
There is a contact address on the website, but I don't know if it goes to the consierge desk directly. However, I found the hotel staff very responsive, so would try that route first.
laurensaunt asked a question May 2017
Tampa, Florida170 contributions62 helpful votes
do The rooms have hairdryers
Answer from SandS1978
Rugby, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
I bought the tickets on line before I travelled - prestiaecomande website - Airport to Piazza Ruggero Settimo (politeama) return ticket cost 9 euros. You can pay on the bus, I think the single fare when bought on bus was 6 euros . It takes about 45 min, the driver called out all the stops but it was easy to know because of the Teatro Garibaldi building.
mikelangphoto asked a question Jan 2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution
Is there an accessible room - i.e., shower with grab bars for support? Thanks
Answer from Gwilym F
Norwich, United Kingdom52 contributions38 helpful votes
Not sure but worth checking on the hotel website. sorry cI cannot be of further help.
Vivian L wrote a tip Aug 2023
Germantown, Maryland126 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"a block away was a self-service area that included snacks, as well as laundro-mat. PERFECT!"
Read full review
EmmanJames wrote a tip May 2023
Singapore, Singapore184 contributions60 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid floor zero."
Read full review
Sharryn N wrote a tip Apr 2023
33 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book room without breakfast..."
Read full review
K C wrote a tip Apr 2023
25 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE. ATAY ANYWHERE BUT HERE."
Read full review
Adele C wrote a tip Feb 2023
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom5 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want clean and safe in a good location, then this is ok."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palermo area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 374 - RM 664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
garibaldi hotel palermo
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermoPoliteama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GARIBALDI: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 727 Photos (Palermo, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Garibaldi
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Garibaldi?
Nearby attractions include Teatro Politeama Garibaldi (0.08 km), Kiddika - Officine del Gusto (0.3 km), and Escape Room Intrappola.TO (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Garibaldi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Garibaldi?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Garibaldi?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Garibaldi?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Garibaldi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scjavuru, Sapori Perduti, and Enosteria Sicula.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Garibaldi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Garibaldi?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Garibaldi offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Garibaldi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Garibaldi?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (1.1 km), Oratorio di Santa Cita (0.7 km), and Palazzo Chiaromonte Steri (1.4 km).
All Palermo HotelsPalermo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palermo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire