We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Mariano Stabile 126, 90139, Palermo, Sicily Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Booking.com
US$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Priceline
US$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Hotels.comUS$53
TravelocityUS$53
HurbUS$57
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (36)

About

#24 of 118 hotels in Palermo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Palermo does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel Tonic, a nice option for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Palermo, Hotel Tonic is located a short distance from Santa Maria dell'Ammiraglio (La Martorana) (0.6 mi) and Chiesa del Gesu (0.7 mi).

Rooms at Tonic Hotel offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour front desk, a concierge, and express check-in and check-out are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Tonic Hotel, there is paid private parking available nearby.

While in Palermo be sure to experience local lobster favourites at Osteria Mercede.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular history museums, such as Museo archeologico regionale "Antonino Salinas" Polo regionale di Palermo per i Parchi e i Musei Archeologici, Oratorio dei Bianchi, and Museo Storico dei Motori e dei Meccanismi.

Hotel Tonic looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Palermo.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
924Reviews11Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 276
  • 417
  • 158
  • 49
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Guatebill wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I arrived at midnight with a reservation for a double room and was told that I had to pay $25 more for the second person in the room. The receptionist was rude, spoke minimal English and offered no help with our luggage climbing the stairs to the elevator.Great location very small room with a view of a wall. Cracked floor tiles and a torn curtain by the window
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Tonic, Direttore generale at Hotel Tonic
Responded 8 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are really sorry to read your bad review, we thought we had already clarified everything on the day of your departure but obviously this is not the case. At your arrival there was a misunderstanding with my colleague and I personally apologized to your wife and you the day after. I also gave you back the extra money and your wife apologized too because of your behaviour not really polite. I would like you to remember that ours is a three star hotel and the luggage service is not available. However, we are always pleased to help our guests, as you may read in the other reviews. We are also sorry to know that you didn't like the room, you didn't mention that. Your words really sadden us... Best Regards, Jessica Customer Care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy R wrote a review Oct 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom3 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a fab weeks holiday in beautiful Palermo at Hotel Tonic. Rooms are very clean and have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very good, with scrambled egg and bacon every morning. Breakfast staff are lovely! A lovely gesture by the hotel on my partners birthday to leave a bottle of wine, wine glasses and corkscrew in our room with their best wishes! Such a lovely touch. This hotel is just a 5 minute walk to the main part, left out the hotel, up and turn left on to via Maqueda. There you will find the Teatro Massimo. Walk on to the Quattro Canti and take a right and you will find the beautiful Palermo Cathedral. The fab markets are all a walk away and well worth a visit too. We would highly recommend a bus ride (806) to the stunning Mondello Beach. Also a train ride to Cefalu is recommended, where the beach bar Lido Poseidon sells amazing food! For a filling good value meal in Palermo you have to try Galloways chicken! Just to the right of Teatro. 11 euros for a full chicken with chips and corn....delish! And Ke Palle on via Maqueda for an Arancini 2.50 euros, chicken curry or bbq ribs were our fave. Airport shuttle is just 6 euros each to/from Piazza Politeama, which is a ten minute walk away. We highly recommend Hotel Tonic for a fabulous holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Tonic, Direttore generale at Hotel Tonic
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, many thanks for staying with us on the occasion of your visit to Palermo and for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to read such an amazing review and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel so much. We do our best to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable and we always take the opportunity to suprise them with some kind gestures. Small things like that often make a difference, giving the trip an added value. We really want our guests to have a good memory of their stay with us and we are very glad and proud to know that that we have achieved this goal. We are also very happy to know that you loved our beautiful city and that you have the possibility to discover some of its treasures and points of interest. There's so much to see in Palermo and surroundigs and we are really pleased that you had such a great time here. Thanks again for your lovely words and for recommending our hotel to other travelers, we do appreciate it! We truly hope to see you again in the next future! Best Regards, Jessica Customer Care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peridor wrote a review Oct 2019
Market Drayton, United Kingdom121 contributions142 helpful votes
This modest hotel is centally located and very good value. Our room, despite facing the road at ground floor level, was quiet and spacious. Everything worked (except the safe), and it was a bit difficult to stop flooding the bathroom from the shower. Those relatively minor issues apart, bed was comfortable, kettle for tea and coffee, aircon, (we slept very well), excellent wifi, plenty of electric points (lighting a bit dim), good shower, large thick towels, plenty of warm water. Breakfast fine, but some things ran out and wern't replaced although there was plenty of choice. Very sweet otange juice OK when diluted with water. Good toaster, but takes ages! Evening cocktail bar a must - good value before going out for dinner, especially since penty of nibbles included.(Payment in cash even if put on the bill.) Hotel staff all very friendly , helpful and efficient. Good local eating recommendations. Taxi from hotel to railway station in light traffic was a rip off at €20. We happened upon a freelance local driver who took us to to Greek temple site at Selinunte - a whole day for €135 - excellent experience. If you want a central hotel which is modestly priced and ticks almost all the boxes this one is great: warmly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Even our road facing ground floor room was quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Tonic
Responded 14 Oct 2019
Dear Guest, thank you so much for staying with us on the occasion of your visit to Palermo and for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to know that you really enjoyed our hotel and services and that you had a great time with us: we are pleased to hear that you liked our comfortable executive room and that you enjoyed our rich and tasty breakfast buffet. We are also very happy to know that you enjoyed our new cocktail bar, recently inaugurated. We decided to open it to offer an extra service to our guests and it is gratifying to know that people enjoy it so much. Thanks for recognizing the kindness of our staff. We are happy to take care of our guests and to give them some good advices on what to do and what to see in Palermo and in the nearby. Thnaks again for sharing this nice feedback and for recommending our hotel to other travelers, we truly appreciate it. We hope you to come back very soon for another lovely stay together! Best Regards, Jessica Customer Care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukeymom wrote a review Oct 2019
40 contributions60 helpful votes
We have just had 4 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a good location, walking distance to sights and shopping. Good restaurants nearby. Our room was comfortable and clean with a good shower and the usual toiletries. Also tea and coffee making facilities and fridge. We had breakfast each morning which was plentiful with a good choice. They have just opened a cocktail bar which has a great selection of reasonably priced drinks. Reception are friendly and very helpful as are all the staff including the breakfast room, bar and housekeeping. Thank you to all at Hotel Tonic for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Tonic
Responded 2 Oct 2019
Dear Guest, that you so much for choosing the Hotel Tonic on the occasion of your visit to Palermo and for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to know that you had such a great time with us and that you really enjoyed the hotel services. We love our job and we do our best to guarantee a lovely experience to all our guests. For this reason we always face new challenges and increase our services, as the new cocktail bar. We are very happy to hear that you had the opportunity to try it and of that you enjoyed it. This is our biggest success. Thank you so much for sharing this amazing review and for spending some nice words for all the staff, we truly appreciate it. We hope you to come back in the near future! Best Regards, Jessica Customer Care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fanoula F wrote a review Jul 2019
Melbourne, Australia30 contributions6 helpful votes
We loved staying at the hotel. All amenities were taken care of, great breakfast and location was fantastic! Staff were very helpful and friendly. We are a family of four, two adults and two children - 8 years old and 5 years old.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Tonic
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Dear Guest, what a pleasure to read you lovely review! We are thrilled to know that you loved your stay at the Hotel Tonic and that you had a great time with us. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel location, as well as our delicious breakfast and that you found the staff very helpful and friendly. Thank you very much for staying with us! It has been a pleasure to host your family and you and we hope to welcome you back again very soon! Best Regards, Jessica Customer Care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CFMCKR wrote a review Nov 2018
Sedona, Arizona51 contributions9 helpful votes
Front desk people very accommodating. Breakfast great. Location great. Priced just right. Absolutely no complaints. What more could you ask for? They say I have to write at least 200 words:) So I say keep it simple and stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Direttore at Hotel Tonic
Responded 21 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, many thanks for staying with us on the occasion of your visit to Palermo and for taking the time to share your experience. Your review is just lovely! Short but intense! In a few words you managed to express all your enthusiasm and satisfaction and we could not be happier or prouder. We would like to thank you for your nice words and recommendations, we do appreciate them! We truly hope to welcome you back very soon. Best Regards, The Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
krisztavarga wrote a review Nov 2018
Budapest, Hungary6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in one of the basic rooms on the 3rd floor for three nights. The room was simple but okay, with a few things to maintain since they were a bit outdated or a little broken. No coffee/teamaking facilities in our room, but we had a small fridge, a really small tv and a nice balcony overlooking a quiet courtyard. The personnel was extremely friendly and helpful at the reception desk. The room was cleaned daily just impeccably. Very friendly staff at the restaurant. We had a good breakfast, which was included in the price. The location of the hotel is just perfect: walking distance from everything, close to sights and airport bus. 20 minutes walk from Palermo Central station. Overall, we had a very nice stay and would gladly return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Direttore at Hotel Tonic
Responded 19 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, many thanks for staying with us on the occasion of your visit to Palermo and for taking the time to post your precious feedback. We are pleased to know that you loved the hotel location in the heart of Palermo, close to sights, restaurants, shops and the airport bus stop. We are also pleased to read that you found the classic room quiet and comfortable, although with something to improve. We would like you to know that coffee and tea making facilities are no expected in the classic rooms, but only in the Executive and Superior rooms. We also want you to know that we are going to renovate the whole third floor to ameliorate our services. That's a pleasure to know that the staff was very kind and helpful, we do our best to meet our guests expectations and to guarantee a lovely stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a very nice stay and that you would gladly return to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, The Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alexBerkshire wrote a review Oct 2018
Berkshire23 contributions13 helpful votes
It's OK but not very good value at 100 euros a night at the end of September. Room was a good size but very old fashioned although with a modern bathroom. Two man (old) lift with steps up to it and steps down to breakfast room. Average breakfast with the weird undrinkable gloop for juice. Reception staff very good but others indifferent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Direttore at Hotel Tonic
Responded 20 Oct 2018
Dear Guest, thanks for staying with us in September and for taking the time to share your feedback. It saddens us to read this negative review and we would like to reply in details. We are sorry to know that you found our hotel over priced and we would like to explain that September is high season in Palermo as well as August and October. You paid € 100,00 per night, with continental breakfast buffet included and you had a spacious and comfortable room, renovated in 2017. Our breakfast buffet is rich and tasty and we are very sorry to know that you did not like our fruit juices. In respect of the building, we would like you to know that it was built in 1906 and for this reason there are many steps that cannot be removed. However, there is an elevator and our reception staff is always glad to help our guests with their luggage everytime they need it. We are pleased to hear that you found our reception staff very good. However, we are sorry to hear that you consiered the others indifferent and we would like to understand the reason why you say that. All our staff members are very professional, friendly and helpful, as evidenced by the compliments they always receive from our guests. We are saddened that you did not have a good experience with us and that you do not have a positive memory about your stay. We always do our best to guarantee comfort, relax and quality and to make our guests feel a bit like home. We hope that in the future you may come back here, we will be pleased to make you change your mind about us. Best Regards, The Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scraig280474 wrote a review Oct 2018
1 contribution
Fantastic and friendly staff, room was cleaned beautifully every day. Location was excellent and near all the tour meet ups we had booked. Lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Only negative comment was the pillows were uncomfortable and need replacing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Direttore at Hotel Tonic
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Dear Guest, many thanks for staying with us and for posting such a lovely review about your recent vacation. We are thrilled to know that you had a great time here and that you enjoyed our amazing location in the heart of Palermo. We are glad to hear that you found the staff fantastic and friendly and that you recognized the cleaness of your room. We would like you to know that we will take your advice into account and we will replace the pillows as soon as possible. We hope you to come back again very soon. Best Regards, The Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maddi McG wrote a review Oct 2018
14 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at Hotel Tonic for 2 nights and found it very good. Our room was very clean and good size with very high ceilings. Bathroom was also very clean, shower worked very well. We had a room on the main street so it was a little noisy at times, Italians love to use their car horns! But it wasn’t really a problem for us and it is expected when staying in a busy city like Palermo. Breakfast was very good, great selection of continental style produce and Sicilian pastries. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it’s takes about 10 minutes to get to the Teatro Massimo and the main tourist streets. Highly recommend this hotel if you want to be able to walk to restaurants and tourist sites. Amazing value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteltonic, Direttore at Hotel Tonic
Responded 6 Oct 2018
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share this amazing review about your recent vacation. We are thrilled to know that you had a lovely time here and that you really enjoyed our hotel. We are delighted to read that you loved all our services, from our the delicious continental breakfast to our nice and confortable room and above all our wonderful location in the city center of Palermo. Thanks again for spending so kind words about our hotel, we are very grateful! We truly hope you to visit Hotel Tonic really soon again. Best Regards, The Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tonic hotel palermo
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermoPoliteama / Castellammare
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL TONIC: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 359 Photos (Palermo, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Tonic
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Tonic?
Nearby attractions include Teatro Massimo (0.3 km), Museo Archeologico Regionale "Antonino Salinas" (0.3 km), and Teatro Politeama Garibaldi (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Tonic?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Tonic?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Tonic?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Tonic?
Conveniently located restaurants include Finch Sushi, Sapori Perduti, and La Brace Food Experience.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Tonic?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Tonic?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Tonic?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Conte Federico (1.2 km), Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.9 km), and Oratorio di Santa Cita (0.5 km).