We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Plaza Opera

Via Nicolo' Gallo 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily Italy
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (170)
Room & Suite (199)
Dining (34)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#25 of 114 hotels in Palermo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Solarium
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
628Reviews15Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 215
  • 258
  • 114
  • 28
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dragana B wrote a review Mar 2024
Stari Grad, Serbia3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Plaza Opera hotel on March, it was a business trip, and our business partners from Sicily booked this hotel for us. When we checked out of the hotel and headed for the airport, my husband realized that he had left his watch on the table in the room, watch is very valuable. We immediately called the hotel, explained that the watch was left in room 203, however, the watch was not returned to us. We are 1000% sure that the watch was left on the table in our room 203. Our business partners from Sicily also contacted the hotel several times. Unfortunately, the watch was not found. We travel a lot, this situation happened to us for the first time in our life. I do not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 14 Mar 2024
Dear Ms Markovic, I trust this message finds you well. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention regarding your recent stay at Plaza Opera Hotel. We take all guest feedback seriously and have thoroughly investigated the reported incident involving your lost watch . Our team followed strict procedures and conducted a comprehensive search on two separate shifts, but unfortunately, the watch was not located on our premises. We understand the value and sentiment attached to the lost item, and we sincerely regret any inconvenience this has caused you. However, we must address the mention of slander in your review Accusations of this nature are serious, and we want to emphasize that our hotel staff acted with professionalism and integrity throughout the process. We maintained at all times open and transparent communication with you and your local business partners, keeping everyone informed of the ongoing investigation. Our commitment to guest satisfaction is unwavering, and we have not, in any way, neglected our responsibilities. While we empathize with your frustration over the situation, we would like to highlight the importance of accurate information when expressing dissatisfaction. Unsubstantiated claims can have serious consequences. It is important to note that slander is a legal offense, and false accusations can lead to legal repercussions. We value your feedback and appreciate your understanding. Sincerely, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bronwynne E wrote a review Mar 2024
8 contributions
Welcoming, warm staff and a wonderful wide-ranging breakfast- everything you could possibly want. Comfortable bed, great shower, delightful stay! Help at the desk was outstanding. Will stay again soon, on my way back through Palermo to Roma!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 1 week ago
Dear br0nwynnee, Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're delighted that our welcoming and warm staff contributed to making your stay so enjoyable. It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the wide-ranging and delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, and great shower. Your compliments for the front desk service fill us with joy! We can't wait to welcome you back when you return to Palermo! With our kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EastCoastMomNY wrote a review Aug 2023
New York City, New York269 contributions172 helpful votes
Super location and really nice boutique hotel, The room we had was on the small side but that is fairly typical for the area. It was, however, clean, well appointed, and super quiet. The hotel is in a perfect location - right in the center of Palermo but on a quiet corner near a main street. Easy check-in and out and definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Dear Guest we are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay experience with us and decided to share this excellent review to recommend to other travellers! Thank you for highlighting the comfort of rooms, the perfect location and the great service! We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to our property on the occasion of you rnxt stay in Palermo! With my very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager Hotel Plaza Opéra
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HHH wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions
I would like to preface this by saying this is a good hotel. The rooms are very clean, the bathroom is amazing (great shower), beds are comfortable and the location is good. The rooms are definitely small and they don’t have any sort of special view. The only reason I didn’t give this a 4/5 is because of the service and the breakfast. Everyone at the reception was wonderful, but I can’t say the same for the staff at the restaurant. They were just generally kind of rude. At breakfast (which I don’t recommend, but more on that later) there were only two servers (a women and a man) and the man was always just mad. He had a rude look on his face, never greeted us, when we asked for something he would pretty much roll his eyes, you get the point. We also went to dinner at that same restaurant and again the staff was really rude, it was just like a general god complex they all had, don’t know but we definitely didn’t feel welcome. Now, the breakfast. While they did have a spread of breads, three different kinds of fruit, two juices, and two kinds of ham, that was pretty much it. Little to no options for gluten and lactose free diets, the eggs (which no one offers but is you ask you can get) were okay at best. You’re better off going to get breakfast at a cafe nearby where you can really get your moneys worth.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Cristina F, thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us and sharing your own personal experience. We are very sorry that our breakfast service did not match your expectations - it has in fact a much broader choice including a very vast variety of cakes and pastries, and we are always happy to provide lactose and gluten free alternatives when requested. Considering we always work with fresh produce, it is best to highlight any special dietary requirement at least upon check-in (if not during reservation) so that we can provide such alternatives. With a view to staff, there is only two men working breakfast shifts, and I honestly fail to recognize either one in your description, as they both are two lovely and good natured profesisonals who are very appreciated by our guests. We are also sorry that you dod not appreciate the atmopshere at Osservatorio: our restaurant is on eof the best known in the city for basically three reasons: amazing views, great food and drinks and professional yet casual service. We thank you for sharing your opinon and look forward to welcoming you again to our property! Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager Hotel Plaza Opéra
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vinny D wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
I just spent 18 days at the Plaza Opera hotel. It was an excellent choice on my part. Not knowing what to expect, they've exceeded all expectations. It is a small, quaint boutique hotel. Cleanliness seems to be a top priority for them. All of the staff were extremely, polite, accommodating and helpful when needed. Some might consider the rooms small, but they are very comfortable, and my bathroom was very large with a very large walk-in shower. There is no ostentatious artwork on the walls of the room, only a television which I did not watch. The room was cleaned every day. And the cleaning staff is extremely accommodating and professional. I highly recommend this hotel and I am considering staying there again next year on my trip to Palermo.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Dear vinnyd2018, thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the city of Palermo and sharing this excellent review. We are delighted that you have had such a great experience and tht our standards and service went well beyond all expectations. We are particularly happy that during your long stay you have managed to carefully notice the dedication of all our staff, be it the cleaning staff with their accurate standards or the reception desk staff, who are always keen on sharing tips and assisting our guests in all their needs. We are also happy you have appreciated the room comfort and the property's stylish yet relaxed atmosphere. It will be a pleasure for us all to welcome you back to our property on the occasion of your future stays in Palermo. With my very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia, Sales & Marketing Manager, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martin@Maidenbower wrote a review Jul 2023
Crawley, United Kingdom31 contributions16 helpful votes
The position of the hotel was good, just a short walk into the centre of Palermo. We did not find it a particularly warm welcome on arrival - maybe the receptionist was having a bad day but not a great first impression. All other reception staff we subsequently dealt with were very helpful. We stayed in a Superior Room which we found very small so were pleased we hadn't booked a standard room. We were on a 10-day trip with 3 bags and there was no room for anything. The bathroom was compact but the shower was excellent. Our rate included breakfast but we wish we hadn't bothered. The food selection was basic and the coffee was undrinkable. It was clearly out of an automatic machine and I challenge any Sicilian to drink the cappuccino we were served. We saved coffee for after breakfast when we visited a local café serving proper Sicilian Coffee. The waitress at breakfast was particularly abrupt in the way we were greeted i.e. no "Good Morning" just "Room Number?"! Also, she had clearly had no training in table service which was demonstrated in the way she constantly leant across us to collect plates etc. It was an unfortunate start as the two hotels we stayed in after this were the polar opposite in terms of service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't bother with Breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 3 Aug 2023
Dear Guests, thank you very much for sharing your personal experience with this review. We are sorry if you had a first bad impression upn check-in: our staff is always very cheerful and helpful according to guest feedback, and your experience really comes as a surprise! We are also quite sorry that you were not comfortable with our Superior Room size, especially as it is clearly shared on all booking platforms and on our webiste - and generally considered quite spacious for a city hotel with its 26 sm. We apologize also for any glitch in service you may have experienced at breakfsat and highlight that we taken all measures to improve that, with very good results - with a view to coffee though, I must clearly state that our coffees and cappuccinos are not prepared via automatic machines, but real Italian bar-style coffee machines! We hope that we will have a new opportunity to welcome you at our property and that you will have an improved stay experience! With my very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager Hotel Plaza Opéra
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matthew W wrote a review Jun 2023
Orpington, United Kingdom55 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here for a few nights. Hotel is modern and clean and the staff were all very helpful. Breakfast on the rooftop is a nice way to start the day. The location is very central for main streets and some great eateries nearby if you avoid the busy tourist areas. Hotel does have reserved space in a car park nearby but ask for very clear instructions on arrival as we were directed to the street on arrival which is very difficult and plagued with “fake parking attendants”. We even got a ticket before discovering the parking garage. Furthermore driving in Palermo is like driving in New York city if they took away all the rules and traffic lights - in short chaos! Would suggest not driving in Palermo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid driving - lots if good bars and restaurants within blocks of hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 3 Jul 2023
Dear Matthew W thank you so much for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Plaza Opéra with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community! We are delighted that you have enjoyed the comfort and location of the hotel, its amazing rooftop and the helpful attitude of our staff. We thank you for highlighting always to make reference to our front desk staff for advice on where to park, we have a small internal parking and some external parking spaces we recommed, and will be delighted to share these information upon check-in! As you mention, hotel is very centrally located so there is no need to use your car in the city, and our staff is happy to share useful indications on how to best reach every site of interest. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile would like to share our very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager Hotel Plaza Opéra
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jean-Jacques14x wrote a review May 2023
Douglas, United Kingdom30 contributions6 helpful votes
I had a very upmarket modern room on 6th floor, not large but perfectly adequte with super bathroom. Only moan "arranging deckchairs on the Titanic syndrome" could be heard a lot of the time, I guess coming from the bar/restaurant on roof terrace. Maybe avoid that floor. The staff were just fine, polite, helpful and efficient, though charged twice for City Taxes, still waiting for a reimbursemen!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 29 May 2023
Dear Jean-Jacques14x, we appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo and are delighted by this very good review. We are happy you have enjoyed the comfort of your room and the friendly and professional attitude of our staff. We are sorry for the inconvenience pertaining to the City Tax and can ensure our administration is taking care of all due action! We also would like to ensure that we make sure the activity of our restaurant and bar does not hamper the quiet atmosphere of the hotel, at all floors, so we apologize if at some stage this was not the case! With my very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager Hotel Plaza Opéra
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah D wrote a review Mar 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom6 contributions
Just back from a stay in the plaza opera hotel this is my second visit this year, The hotel is fantastic went with my teenage sons, The room was spotless the beds were very comfortable the shower in the bathroom was outstanding, the staff is what makes the hotel especially Marco M from reception he was what made our stay extra special he went above and beyond to help us during our stay, He helped us book football game tickets, Nothing was too much trouble he made us feel so welcome he was always happy also Syliva was outstanding they both remembered us from our last stay, the rooftop bar was stunning the drinks are amazing like no other cocktails I've had before. We will definitely be back again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Fantastic location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Avi2011 wrote a review Jan 2023
Ramat Hasharon33 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed for a vacation of 2 days in Palermo. The hotel is very well situated, with a pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. You can find plenty of restaurants nearby and access to the city center is a 5 min walk.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Dear Avi2011, thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Palermo. We are delighted your stay experience exceeded your expectations and you have shared this amazing 5 star review! We are happy you have enjoyed the hotel location, friendly atmosphere and excellent service! We will be looking forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of a new stay in Palermo! With my very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palermo area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 718 - RM 1,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
plaza opera hotel, plaza opera palermo
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermoPoliteama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PLAZA OPERA: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 436 Photos (Palermo, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Plaza Opera
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Plaza Opera?
Nearby attractions include Teatro Politeama Garibaldi (0.07 km), Teatro dell'Opera dei Pupi (0.5 km), and Kiddika - Officine del Gusto (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Plaza Opera?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Plaza Opera?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Plaza Opera?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Plaza Opera?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Plaza Opera?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scjavuru, Sapori Perduti, and Lo Scrigno Di Donna Rosa.
Does Hotel Plaza Opera have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Plaza Opera offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Plaza Opera?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Plaza Opera offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Plaza Opera?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Plaza Opera?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (1.3 km), Oratorio di Santa Cita (0.8 km), and Palazzo Steri - Chiaromonte - Carcere dei penitenziati (1.5 km).