We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Il Guelfo Bianco

Show Prices
#26 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Il Guelfo Bianco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Il Guelfo Bianco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,586: English reviews
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Do you know the difference between the Black and White Guelfs? Well, you dont really need to know to enjoy your stay at Via Cavour with Via Guelfo, where the hotel is. In the mid way between the Duomo and the Galleria dell Academia. What else?. Arty decoration, quiet rooms, good breakfast, helpful staff. One small minus. Bad internet connection.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto N
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I have to agree that the location was awesome and that the rooms were clean. But to be rated the #4 in Florence I was disappointed. There was no air conditioning so I had to leave the windows open and there was noise all night. Secondly I thought the beds were umcomfortable. It was a good value for the $... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank suenac
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Suenac, thanks for your review but I have I don’t’ know if it’s a mistake or if you really came during the month of November. If so, I just wish to remind you that from November 1st (even earlier because it started to be cooler around middle of October) we switched on the heating in all the hotel and... More 

Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed at the il guelfo for 3 nights in Novmber. We had a charming room on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard. The hotel is like staying at some ones Italian grandmothers. Every room has different antique furniture. Out room had high ceilings and a sofa, and a large bathroom with a windfall shower. Breakfast is a cold buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank PamieP
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We are planning a trip to Florence in mid-December and have reserved four nights at the Il Guelfo. Daniele,who I can only assume responds to every email request, has been exceptionally helpful in assisting us in planning our holiday. While she certainly answered my questions during the booking process, she went above and beyond to call a friend in Cinque... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank E H
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. I stayed in two rooms (first with my daughter, then a smaller room just for me) and both were clean, comfortable with nice bathrooms. I asked for the quieter courtyard side. The breakfast was a wonderful send off each day.- lots of options I could not ask for a nicer staff. They helped with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank badgercat18
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My brother and I recently stayed on Il Gelfo Bianco for three nights and couldn't have asked for anything else. We received free drinks upon arrival, a great breakfast every morning and a large spacious room with free wifi. It was centrally located and is only two blocks from where David stands. Price is right and the hotel is great!

Helpful?
Thank travelingcouple
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Three of us gals came and stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco while in Florence. It was an absolute treat! The staff was so helpful and made great recommendations for dinners. They helped us book tickets at the different sites. If we had a need, they helped us figure it out immediately. The room was just what we were looking for.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KATIEofATL
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is lovely! The best part is the location. It's within easy walking distance of the most popular sites, great restaurants and shopping. If you need to maximize a short stay in the city, a great location helps! I stayed with my sister for 3 nights in room 202 (which has 2 single beds). I choose the hotel after... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ckayj
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Ckayj, firts of all I wish to thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. I am happy you like your room. You see we have several rooms overlooking the main street called Via Cavour (which is the street to get to the Piazza Duomo) and they are bright and very nice. If you look from... More 

Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hotel il Guelfo Bianco is an incredible hotel . It is in a great downtown location (walking distance to everything, including the Ponte Vecchio). The staff will welcome you and assist w/inquiries. You will experience a friendly and efficient breakfast/lunch staff along with a delicious selection of organic and homegrown foods. The lovely, quiet rooms are attended by a wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank roxann K
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Visiting Florence....make reservations at the premier hotel -- Hotel il Guelfo Bianco. A great downtown location (walking distance to everything, including the Ponte Vecchio). The affable staff will welcome you, assist w/inquiries, directions and fine dining suggestions. You will experience a friendly breakfast/lunch staff and a delicious selection of foods. The lovely, quiet rooms are attended by a wonderful hospitality... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoanneSophia

948 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (589)
Viewed
Room/Suite (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Other (217)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (334)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #108 (67)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #336 (48)
Viewed
Executive Room (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,689 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#30 of 422 in Florence
2,490 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,332 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#43 of 422 in Florence
739 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 422 in Florence
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: RM460 - RM853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Il Guelfo Bianco staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Il Guelfo Bianco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“junior suite is a great value!”
 of 5 bubbles 831dawnh, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles fangkitty, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each room has it's own personality.”
 of 5 bubbles Blu777, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think any room would be fine!”
 of 5 bubbles Callaway14, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had 203 which we thought lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyKoukla, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay