We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Luigi Alamanni 9, 50123, Florence Italy
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
FindHotel
US$128
View deal
Expedia.comUS$141
Booking.comUS$139
HurbUS$170
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (150)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#91 of 426 hotels in Florence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Created for your dreams and relax. We are here in Florence to provide for emotions. Our hotel is a mixture of discretion and classical minimalism. We are ready to welcome you in the heart of Florence for a very special Renaissance experience. You will always find here a particularly elegant setting, the best location to match your needs for a business or a leisure trip.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
207Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
60Attractionswithin 0.5 km
460Reviews28Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 125
  • 16
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
teenyweenycarol... v wrote a review Nov 2021
Riccione, Italy2 contributions
I usually only review experiences that are either very positive (to ensure that everyone can enjoy what I have tried, the good and the good) or very negative (to avoid other unpleasant inconveniences). This is the worst service I have ever received in a hotel (I visit several hotels for work). 2 check-ins (one at 2pm and one at 6pm) without requiring documents. At 6pm, immediately after paying for the entire stay in advance, we were assigned a double room instead of a triple room (as per booking). Waiting time to make the third bed: 1 hour and a half. Arriving in the room, the 3rd bed was made (with little grace) and the towel kit for the 3rd guest was missing (and via another round in reception). When asked to speak to the resident manager we were told he wasn't there but that we could do it the following day. The next day, the new receptionist told us that on Sundays no one handles the "customer care". An advice? Choose a different structure, pay at the end of your stay and find out if customer care responds 7/7 (including Sundays), or rather ... if they respond in general, because 3 days have passed and they have not even deigned to reply to the e -mail we wrote for a complaint. Let's see if they respond in the next few days ...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
This review refers to the same one made for the same reason by the same customer to which we have already replied on this site and directly. .
Read more
talven wrote a review Oct 2021
Sydney, Australia178 contributions69 helpful votes
Location is what really sells this place - it was so nice to check in after a long train ride from the Amalfi Coast at a hotel right next to the train station - it literally is two minutes walk (across the road!). The room itself was okay - not perfect. There was no kettle in the room and one had to be asked for (however, they were nice enough to provide one as they had one available). Bed was comfortable and pillows were good. However - TV remote wasn't working (didn't bother getting it fixed as I use Netflix anyway); Air conditioning was not functioning properly which was a big let down as I am a warm sleeper. For some reason, when I put the temperature "down" the air con completely switched off. When I put the temperature "up", the fan works with no air conditioning - at least the fan operated. I wouldn't mind leaving the window open, however, as the window has no fly screens this provides opportunities for mosquitoes (of which we had one in the room which I ended up killing). Didn't order breakfast, HOWEVER hotel allowed us to have free coffees in the morning which was great. Also had a business ce enter so I can do some free printing of documents which was pleasing. Overall, great location but rooms are on the older side. Great for a budget stay. Overall I'd rate this a very good for the price. I would have rated it excellent if the air conditioning worked properly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear Customer, first of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review your experience. We are pleased that the majority of our services have been to your liking, but we are sorry for some negative aspects that you pointed out to us and which will be, for us, a reason to intervene and improve. Hoping to have her again in the future and let her know our progress, we greet you warmly. Lapo Bonciani - Customers relations manager.
Read more
Michele K wrote a review Oct 2021
31 contributions5 helpful votes
Room is old, things would need renovation urgently. Everything cracked. People not wearing mask at breakfast buffet. Staff don't care. Would have given 1 start but the price is good. Don't understand the other people's rating, they must be on another floor or something. We got the worst room I had in a long time. Don't recommend this hotel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dont book this hotel. Awful room (see photos). Parking in the garage next door costs 25 euro per...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 16 Oct 2021
dear customer, we read with surprise and regret your comments and unfortunately from your nickname we are unable to identify your identity to trace your date of stay and the room assigned to you. This does not allow us to give a precise answer, but honestly we cannot understand how you can say that our rooms are old and shabby, because they have been completely renovated recently, as well as the rest of the hotel. Regarding the anti covid provisions, we are very strict, all our staff are vaccinated and use masks. If you refer to some rude or disrespectful customers, we can scold them, but not force them. Obviously, if the majority of our guests rate us positively, it may be that your evaluation is only subjective, so we are sorry we were unable to satisfy you. We hope to have a second chance. Yours sincerely. Lapo Bonciani - Guests relations manager
Read more
Andrei I wrote a review Oct 2021
32 contributions2 helpful votes
From an unfriendly reception host to a small, cracked ceiling and dust in the corners room, this hotel is exactly what you pay for: cheap. Not good value, just cheap. The bed was fairly comfortable and the bath seemed clean enough. Overall = 6/10, if low price is the only thing you want, it’s an option
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2021
Dear Andrei, we are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations and that you only appreciated the cheap price paid. We guess from your comment that our staff took a wrong approach to you and this must have ruined your experience. For this we apologize, but we assure you that our standard of service is very different from what you have experienced. We therefore hope to be able to welcome you again in the future to prove it to you. Yours sincerely Lapo Bonciani - guests relations manager
Read more
E. S. wrote a review Sep 2021
Switzerland3 contributions1 helpful vote
Through ebookers I managed to get an amazing deal which seemed too good to be true, but it really was, you can literally see the hotel when you step outside of the train station, it's in walking distance to all the major attractions, even from the first floor you get an amazing view, but although it's on a very busy road, the windows are soundproof so you hear nothing and get amazing sleep. It's clean, fancy, neat, big room and big bathroom with a big shower, very comfortable bed, chairs, desk, tv, minifridge, kettle, AC, everything you need! Staff is kind and efficient. Only advice would be to make sure what their times are, as I read on the website the bar was open till midnight but that changed in covid times, and it wasn't updated, although it created no problem for me whatsoever. The optional breakfast is 12 euro per person, and since I skipped that I don't know if it's worth it, but with all the bars and cafes around I think you'll be fine eating out somewhere else. Highly recommended, if I'll go back to the town I'll definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 25 Sep 2021
Dearest customer, we are very pleased to find that we have managed to make your stay pleasant and that all our services have been to your liking. This is our greatest satisfaction and gives us new energy to continue with enthusiasm. Thanking you for choosing us, we hope to have you again as our customers for your next trip to Florence. Yours sincerely. Lapo Bonciani - Guests relations manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diplomat hotel florence
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceFlorence Historic Center / Santa Maria Novella
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Diplomat Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Diplomat Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Chiesa di San Salvatore in Ognissanti (0.4 km), Church of Santa Maria Novella (0.5 km), and Officina Profumo-Farmaceutica di Santa Maria Novella (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Diplomat Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Diplomat Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Diplomat Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Diplomat Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diplomat Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Restaurant Crown of India Florence, Ristorante Taj Palace, and Pizzeria Livio.
Are any cleaning services offered at Diplomat Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diplomat Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Diplomat Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore (0.9 km), Florence American Cemetery (8.0 km), and Basilica of Santa Croce (1.5 km).
Is Diplomat Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.