We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Leon Bianco

Booking.comUS$137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$137*
US$137*
US$137*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Leon Bianco
 Click to rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Couldn't recommend the position of this hotel in order to see San Gimignano. The rooms and decor is very authentic and comfortable. If you are happy to look out on very busy square the windows are very soundproof. Otherwise I would say the rooms which look over the countryside at the side, like room 23, have beautiful and a quieter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory883
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Leon Bianco was not good. It is right in the main piazza. A cheap three star hotel just for the location. The room was old and cheesy. Nothing special at all, service not friendly, terrible breakfast and non-functioning wi-fi but the location was worth it. Don't forget to go to the ice cream shop across the street - Gelateria...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poliana23
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Poliana, we are really surprised, you don't like anything...not good the hotel, nor the room, not good the service, not friendly staff, terrible breakfast, not good wi-fi...you have really difficult tastes, enjoy... relax your self, don't worry... be happy.....uhuuuuuhhhuuuuuuhhuuh...uhuuhuhhhhh....uhuhuhhhhh don't worry be happy!!!! Kind regards from our family and staff

Madrid
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location in main square. Car must be parked in municipal lots outside town (10 min walk, 15 euro per day). Spacious rooms in second floor overlooking square. Basic gym equipment and ping-pong table. Nice buffet breakfast in open terrace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garcini
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, this is a lovely review and we are happy to receive it! Thank you for your compliments regarding the location (this is luck...), the room, our gym and ping pong service nice particular to underline, and also about breakfast. :-) We hope to see you again to the hotel Leon Bianco Kind regards from our family and staff

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is located in the main square of the walled city of San Gimignano. Our suite had a view of the square and a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside. Breakfast was delicious and seating was available in an outdoor courtyard. The hotel provided a complimentary shuttle to pick up our car after checkout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsy K
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Betsy, we are so grateful reading your review, thank you! Beautiful reviews help us in our work as they encourage us to continue in the best ways. We really hope to welcome you again, kind regards from our family and our staff

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel. Clean, wonderful views, fantastic location. Wonderful breakfast and wonderful service. We would stay there again. Beautiful city square. We stayed in room 36. Wonderful view of Tuscany from small sitting room and view of city square from bedroom. This hotel way exceeded our expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UNCDAVE
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for this wonderful review, you have been so kind! Room 36 is unique for the 2 different views, really particular, if you come back you can request it! We really hope to see you again the Hotel Leon Bianco! Kind regards from our family and all our staff

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

This hotel is in the heart of the town and our room had a wonderful view of the main square. We could not have wished for a better location. It was very easy to locate and use the public car parks. The room was very comfortable and quiet at night. Breakfast was OK - but not memorable. We stayed for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark S
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you for your lovely review, we are happy that you enjoyed the view on the square and that you liked you room. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards from our family and all our guests

Ofallon, mo
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

The staff were ok. We asked for a restaurant recommendation but after walking there we discovered they were closed. The location was fabulous. We loved the town. I wish I had taken a picture of the room however. It felt like a monastery. Twin beds, very plain bedspreads, no art on the walls. It did not compare to the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kjgage
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Lady, we expect and hope to welcome guests that would like to deal with the problem so that we can overcome it, especially if the problem is so easy to solve, like to change a room....but you have preferred to write a bad review after the check out, no complaint came from you during the stay.....this has been your...

Reviewed 18 March 2017

We spent a couple nights here in early March 2017. We were a family of 5 and stayed in a double with a view of the countryside and a triple with a view overlooking the Piazza Cisterna. The rooms and beds and bathrooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast room is charming and there was a nice variety of fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RPMtravels
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Guests, this is a great review, a full description of our hotel, our helpful staff and all the nice aspects you have underline, thank you! to wander around the deserted squares during winter evening is so charming as you have described, also during spring and summer, the town become quiet, relaxing and romantic With a big car is not...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Neat, clean accommodation. Problems with wifi in rooms upstairs. Wifi only accessible downstairs on ground level. Breakfast was substantial and typically Italian but also catering for "westerners" . No parking in city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fay W
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Fay, thank you very much for this good review and to have underlined the cleaness of the ambients and the plenty of our breakfast. We would like to inform you that this winter we have had many problems with the wi-fi system that we have finally solved and presently it runs very well and fast. We hope to welcome...

Narrabeen, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly positioned right on the piazza and has that special ambience of a boutique hotel. To walk back into the hotel at the end of the day was like walking into home with the decor and sitting areas on all floors creating that warm feeling. We stayed in one of the large rooms overlooking the piazza that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickkjb
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Thank you Mick, what a beautiful review!! You have done a wonderful portrait of our hothel and its romantic and warm atmosphere, we are really happy and grateful! We really hope to welcome you again, kind regards from all our family and staff

606 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (386)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Comfort Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (Country View) (23)
Viewed
Standard Room (No View) (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (No View - Bricks In Sight) (22)
Viewed
Standard Room (Piazza View) (21)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
722 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
603 reviews
0.0 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,160 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
644 reviews
3.3 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Price Range: RM432 - RM749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Leon Bianco staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Leon Bianco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in high floors overlooking square have excellent views.”
garcini, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a view of the square!”
marksM4596FE, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get the front view. Zero noise at any time!”
Deepshop, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed at the appartment of the hotel at the backside. Was very nice”
Wilmazz, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“leave before 9:30 AM and its an easy drive out!”
Pauld886, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$137* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$137
Hotwire.comUS$137
Hotels.comUS$137
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates