Hotel Athena
Beautiful rainbow and view from our room on the 7th floor
Traveller (1661)
Room & Suite (919)
Hotel Athena
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#11 of 39 hotels in Siena
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attrastions of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable by car from San Marco gate getting the exit of Siena Ovest with private and guaranteed parking & garage. The hotel offers a panoramic view over the Tuscan hills from its terrace and from Deluxe & Executive rooms. The restaurant offers a typical Sienese cuisine every day, while in the morning, the rich breakfast American buffet is always included in the room rate until 11am. Our multilanguage staff is always available to give tips, suggestions and book tours and tickets.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Via Paolo Mascagni, 55, 53100, Siena Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Peretola Airport
56.1 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,531 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Athena garners high marks for its elegant ambience, with guests frequently lauding the spacious and well-furnished rooms. The hotel's location is a hit too; it's a stone's throw from the city center and attractions, yet offers a tranquil retreat. While the amenities, including a rooftop terrace and complimentary breakfast, are generally well-received, some visitors suggest there's room for improvement in aspects like Wi-Fi. Although most guests encounter exceptional service, a handful have reported inconsistencies. Cleanliness is another strong suit, despite some outdoor areas needing attention. Overall, many deem Hotel Athena as offering solid value for a comfortable and stylish stay.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
4,531Reviews57Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,712
  • 1,329
  • 332
  • 84
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
L B wrote a review Oct 2023
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room was clean and comfortable and of a good size.

Parking came with the room however be warned that it can get crowded and difficult to get in and out. The parking is outside the controlled zone, ZTL, so that was nice.

It was a short walk to the Duomo and the center of the historic district.

The included buffet breakfast was good. The had lots of meats plus scrambled eggs and various pastries and yogurt.

There is a terrace bar that opens up in the evening that was very nice.

It turns into a so-so restaurant at night.

There is one thing, the bill had a charge for Varie Al 10% that I am not sure about. We left before I noticed it so I am going to assume it was correct.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gordy3000 wrote a review Aug 2020
Brussels, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We (family of three) spent a couple of nights here. Hotel is very pleasant. Rooms and bathrooms are large and immaculately clean. Beds are comfortable. The hotel is just inside the traffic-free zone but if you follow the instructions it is no problem to the car park (which is included in the room price). There was plenty of space to park. From the hotel it is only about a 10 minute walk to the main square (piazza del campo).

There is a very nice terrace on the top floor with wonderful views looking onto the Sienese countryside. The dinner at the hotel on the terrace was very good (the Sicilian chef is obviously skilled) and at a reasonable price. Breakfast is inside (bit of a shame), but the selection is fantastic - including homemade cakes and good coffee. Considering this is not a deluxe hotel, it was well above what would be expected.

The staff were all extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. I am eternally grateful also for their phone call 45 minutes after I had left the hotel telling me that I had forgotten my laptop in the room. A big thank you!!

Absolutely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Athena, Proprietario at Hotel Athena
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Gordy3000, thanks a lot for such beautiful review and to have taken a few minutes of your time to leave it we re really happy and proud your stay has been excellent and you like our spacious family room which are 25mq and could host till 4 people. thanks to have told hotel Athena is in the city centre at few minutes walking from Duomo e PIazza del Campo with parking lot which is included in the price. Thanks to appreciate our brekfast buffet plenty of sweet and fresh variety and to have told about our restaurant on our San Marco terrace on the 7th floor which offer special dish prepared with a mix of tuscany and sicily tradition. Our restaurant average price is not higher than the local restaurants as we'd like to be competitive with a good value for money, thanks to have noted ! thanks at least to have mentioned the staff who work daily with efficiency and professionalism this is our job and we like it and when customers leave good review as yours we are really happy and proud for the work done looking forward to hosting you again don't forget to make your next reservation directly on our web site where are offers and conditions better than the other web portals. a great hug from all of us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Highlight wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely clean and comfortable hotel, everything was spic and span. All staff we met were professional, friendly and polite, and very attentive. They even brought our luggage to the room, the first time in 8 nights staying at different hotels that this had happened Room was very well appointed, tea and coffee making facilities which we rarely found in other hotels we stayed in Tuscany plus a much needed bath and comfy beds. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was very good, nice atmosphere throughout so you can truly relax here without noise. I would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
T17ood wrote a review May 2022
Chorley, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel this a friend on the weekend of the Strada Bianche race 2022 and the hotel seemed to be well occupied.
Our first room was on the lower ground and initially seemed pleasant and spacious. However, after opening the door to the en-suite there was an unpleasant smell of the drains. The smell was pervasive and immediately obvious when entering the room. I asked at reception for someone to attend to it and they informed me that a cleaner would use special chemicals to clean the sink and shower. This made no difference. Reception then offered to move us to another room. This is very inconvenient but we accepted.
The new room was smell free - problem solved. However, the door to the room was at ground floor and opened into the main reception and we were kept awake by constant noise as people returned to the hotel and greeted the reception staff. As I was racing the following day this was of great inconvenience. I complained to reception at checkout but they did absolutely nothing. They didn’t even apologise until I pointed this out.
I would not stay in this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelAthena Siena, Altro at Hotel Athena
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear customer, it is with great regret that we read your comment about your weekend with us. We are used to our guests having an excellent stay and if something goes wrong we are ready and willing to find solutions. As you told us, we offered you a change of room and despite the fact that the hotel was full, as you wrote, we managed to find you an alternative. I would like to reiterate my disappointment to learn that despite our efforts and the work done by the entire concierge crew, you did not go away happy and satisfied. We are happy to count you as one of our guests. In this period, until the end of June, we have activated a super promotional offer: if you book directly on our website, you will receive a 25% discount. with our best regards The Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brighouse55 wrote a review Aug 2022
London
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you ever want to see how clean a hotel is lose your wedding ring! We had stayed at the hotel for four nights and on departure day I mislaid my wedding ring (we discovered later my wife had "tidied it away" by mistake). Until we found it we took the room apart, moved furniture, stripped beds, looked behind sinks - everywhere. After about half an hour Mrs B turned to me and said had I noticed how clean the place was? When she pointed it out I did notice it was spotless and we had been in places you wouldn't usually go. So full marks to the hotel for the clean rooms.
In fact if I could I would give this hotel 41/2 stars because only two things let it down - of which more later. First the good stuff. The hotel is no more than ten minutes walk from the centre of Siena on a quiet street. The rooms are not huge but are certainly sufficient for a couple. Good European air conditioning (which didn't blow out icy blasts at 200 miles an hour like the Brunelleschi), very comfortable bed AND bliss of bliss they serve breakfast until 1100 every day. Other hotels please take note. The view from our balcony was amazing. Reception staff multilingual, knowledgeable and fun. All in all a bit of a find and one we hope to return to.
What let it down? Well, and this the hotel can do nothing about, being so close to the city centre space is at a premium so the only outside space available to sit outside is the terrace, which on the photographs looks very good. While the view is, the terrace is a bit cramped and its where they serve drinks and food so we didn't feel like just sitting there reading a book. A garden would have been great and a pool would have been bliss but that would probably double the prices and I don't see where they could put it. Don't let it put you off but be aware it is what it is. The other thing disappointing was the one evening meal we had at the hotel. The food wasn't bad but it was probably the least favourite meal we had on holiday. The service was more miss than hit and it was expensive for what we had. Which is strange because breakfast food was great.
Again, don't let it put you off, it could have been a bad night and even it was the norm Siena has so many great restaurants you won't starve. And the very many plus points of this hotel far outweigh the few not so good things.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily E wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel worked well for our trip to Siena. It was located a 5-10 minute walk from the heart of Siena on a quiet street. The staff was helpful and was able to help us all a cab anytime we needed it. It was about 15-20 euro to get to and from the train station. We had a great view of the countryside and our room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was included in our stay. It wasn’t the best, but it was convenient. My husband wished that the staff made a traditional cappuccino rather than having to make an imitation from a machine. We did enjoy the complimentary still and sparking water that was left in our room’s mini fridge each day. We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelAthena Siena, Altro at Hotel Athena
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Emily, thank you for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the position of the Hotel, many of our guests with or without the car find it quite convenient. Breakfast is prepared with only local ingredients and we offer a wide selection of home baked pastries, local cold cuts and freshly cooked eggs. For a quick and easy coffee or cappucino we have the automatic machine next to the buffet, however the kitchen has a professional expresso machine and for a perfectly made traditional cappuccino our guests only have to ask 😊 Come back soon! Kindest regards The Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
btsilosani wrote a review Dec 2021
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a terrible experience here. Hot water was not working in the middle of winter which is terrible considering how much this place costs. When we complained they said water is working fine everyone else. After we left they emailed us saying there was a water issue in our room which was fixed right after we left, seems contradicting.
They keep saying it was just our room and just one day, but that doesn’t sound right what a coincidence.
Before we checked out we even asked staff to come see how cold water was but they refused. Their compensation was also a joke. Location is not great either far from the center and a dark walk at night. They also they mini bar is free, which was only coffee and tea and water (not a mini bar)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay closer to the center where hot water is operational
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Athena, Proprietario at Hotel Athena
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Dear Barbare, We are sorry that you are not satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately, there was a technical problem, so hot water did not work, but only in your room and only on the day you were staying. We apologized for the inconvenience and offered to check in your room, but it was denied us since you were using the shower. In any case, the malfunction was repaired immediately after your departure and after offering you a discount for the disservice. Our in-room minibar includes mineral and sparkling water, as well as tea and coffee since our hotel has a well-stocked old-fashioned bar with a splendid view of the ancient city walls and the Tuscan hills. Our central location allows us to be just a stone's throw from the centre of Siena (we are inside the walls) without sacrificing the convenience of having the car close by, as we offer an ample private parking space. We are sure that the inconveniences of your stay were temporary and that if you want to stay at our hotel once again, we will know how to make you change your mind. Cordially, The Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason F wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Elisa from the front desk was so helpful and kind to us over the phone when our rental car broke down on the road up to the hotel. It was a cold rainy night, and we were so close and yet so far. She advised us on what to do and gave us the name and number of a taxi. When we finally burst into the lobby, she expressed genuine relief that we'd finally made it safely there. We made it to the restaurant just before it closed, and the food was terrific, and while we only spent a night and part of the next day there, the hotel's perfect location allowed us to have several easy walks into town. The hotel is on a quiet street, yet within minutes you can be in the bustling heart of the old city. The other staff members were equally lovely, the rooms were clean, and the price is unbeatable. Whenever I'm in Siena, I'll never stay anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
clarksdale wrote a review Sept 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose a more expensive room , as we wanted more space (25sq m). However, much of the extra space appeared to be in the entrance to the room, where it added little. It did, though, have a small sofa and day bed, which we used, and magnificent views of the city and countryside.
We wanted parking, which the hotel offers. I didn’t realise that they crammed the cars into every inch of the parking areas, and needed valets to move cars around; you couldn’t just drive out yourself.
The lobby is comfortable, although there are unfortunate plastic sofas everywhere., as in the room. The hotel is an easy ten minute walk to the centre, in a quiet location. Breakfast is good, although the restrictions of Covid make it difficult for all. The breakfast staff worked like trojans in difficult circumstances.
Reception staff are over stretched, and are wonderfully professional, welcoming and cheerful. The busy front desk should not also be answering phones, there should be a back office for that. It appears understaffed. Cleaning staff, too, were delightful.
WiFi was weak, and, frustratingly, three or four times each day, you had to go through the tedious log in process.
We had excellent sleeping for three nights; the hotel is remarkably quiet internally, which was a pleasant surprise
A solid hotel, which has excellent staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelin_tommy wrote a review Oct 2022
San Francisco, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three nights at the Hotel Athena. Positive attributes include its excellent location, so you can walk to the Duomo in ten minutes and Il Campo in 15-20 minutes. Yet, you can still drive and park free in the hotel’s parking lot. Parking is crowded, as the hotel is quite popular; it is also a little challenging if your vehicle is large. Other positives are the room is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. A small positive is the included breakfast, which is certainly more than the standard Italian breakfast; it wasn’t great, but it was more than adequate. The only real negative would be that the room we had was rather small. Looking at the floor map (for fire exit), it appears that those on the other side of the hall are larger. I don’t know if there is any difference in price or why particular rooms are assigned. I did see three people coming out of one of those rooms, however. In summary, I will probably stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tle1980 asked a question Jul 2023
Orlando, Florida5 contributions6 helpful votes
Are the room safes large enough for a 10" x 7" tablet?
esw757 asked a question Feb 2020
Doral, Florida18 contributions
Are there laundry facilities at your hotel?
Answer from elizabetho480
Pretoria, South Africa642 contributions69 helpful votes
Just a short distance away. Ask hotel staff.
karaysjunk asked a question Jun 2019
Miller Place, New York58 contributions36 helpful votes
Are there safes in the rooms?
Answer from ItalianGirl729
Connecticut127 contributions54 helpful votes
Yes
Alexandre A asked a question Nov 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Can I arrive at hotel by car without issues about ZTL zone?
Answer from HotelAthenaSiena
Siena, Italy36 contributions
Yes! you can arrive by car avoiding the ZTL following the istruction on our website. Take the exit "Siena Ovest" and at the roundabout turn right in Strada Massetana. On the top of the hill, you must go through San Marco gate and turn immediatly on the left. After 300 m you will find our parkings on the right. This is the only way to avoid the ZTL. Please be carefull because sometimes the GPS brings you in the restricted area and there is nothing we can do about it. Best Regards Silvia
Meme2Bristol wrote a tip Jan 2024
Bristol15 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best way to reach the Hotel is via the Saint Marco gate and turn immediately left the hotel is on the right."
Read full review
Dirk H wrote a tip Sept 2023
Ostend, Belgium63 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the friendly services."
Read full review
melissa L wrote a tip Sept 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant is close for rain, as there is no indoor seating"
Read full review
Sparky wrote a tip Jul 2023
Fernandina Beach, Florida75 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's not a lot of parking...so get there around check-out if you want a guaranteed spot right next to hotel."
Read full review
Rafael Silveira wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sao Paulo, SP2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid if you can."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Siena area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 547 - RM 958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
athena hotel siena
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of SienaSiena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ATHENA: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,005 Photos (Siena, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Athena
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Athena?
Nearby attractions include Duomo di Siena (0.4 km), Complesso Museale Santa Maria della Scala (0.4 km), and Cripta del Duomo di Siena (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Athena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Athena?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Athena?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Athena?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Athena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizzeria Gurgu Kebab, La Piccola Ciaccineria, and Blandis Cafè & Wine Bar.
Is Hotel Athena located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Siena.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Athena?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Athena offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Athena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Athena?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Centro Storico di Siena (0.6 km), Battistero di San Giovanni (0.5 km), and Basilica di San Francesco (1.1 km).
All Siena HotelsSiena Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SienaHotels near Hotel Athena
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire