We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Haliburton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We had a basic room ( there is some kind of upgraded room that has slightly more amenties such as the Nespresso machine some other reviewers mention). The room was clean and functional but small with two single beds, a built in closet, fridge, 2 desk chairs and a kettle. The room and halls made us think of a new... More 

Helpful?
Thank LokiFreya
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Apaliving Hotel is a budget hotel in Basel suited for the thrifty traveler or the weekly commuting business traveler. They have rooms with the Nespresso machine, mini-fridge and hot water pot which allows you to prepare your own meal or snack which is heaven if you've been eating hotel breakfasts for too long. It's a good alternative, staff are friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tgancayco
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tgancayco! Thanks for that great review! We hope to see you soon again! Kind regards, your Apaliving More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I loved this hotel with the neat, spacious, comfortable rooms. The staff was very helpful with all the information and they are so efficient with informing well in advance about self check ins and check outs. I will highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

Helpful?
Thank Richa S
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richa S! Thank you very much for your great review and for having chosen us! We hope to see you very soon again! Kindest regards, your Apaliving More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

I like the rooms, nice furnishing And equipped of fridge, nespresso coffee machine, boiler And a choice of tea bags. The problem is that if you arrive after they close the reception And theres a problem you are left to your own. Once the code to get the Key did not work. Rooms are too hot during summer, no air... More 

Helpful?
Thank LivingDeadMeow
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LivingDeadMeow. Thank you for your review! We have removed the wasp's nest immediatly after your notification - thank you! We check our rooms very carefully and we are very sorry that you had this inconvenient. Please also note, that we have a helpline you can call outside our reception opening hours in case you have any trouble. We hope... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The room was very basic, but spotless. It had an Ikea feel about it. I thought it was large enough to hold an aerobics class! Well, not quite, but it was spacious. Nice bathroom with nice towels. When you book, make sure you get your confirmation. It'll have the information you need to get into the hotel and to get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Wordtech
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wordtech. Thanks for your great review and for having chosen us! :-) We hope to see you soon again! Kindest regards, your Apaliving More 

Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2015

I book a room today via booking.com and when I click submit. I've just realise that this booking is non-refundable. I immediately try to contact the hotel and ask if they could cancel this booking. btw- I book the hotel 3 months in advance. The receptionist is listen to my request and she said that she will talk to her... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pongpatra P
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pongpatra! Thank you for your statement. I am sorry for this unpleasant and awkward situation, but we will find a solution. Please just give consideration that the situation was very confusing due to your several bookings, cancellations and phone calls. I will get in touch with you by e-mail. Thank you for your understanding and kind regards More 

Travellers are raving about these Basel hotels

Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Just stayed in this hotel to visit the Basel Christmas Market.Room was very clean with excellent bathroom,BUT,the hotel reception does not tell you there is no room service at the weekend.After Friday room cleaning there is no fresh towels or bed making for 2 days and the price is still the same.I did not like the fact that reception closed... More 

Helpful?
Thank iangray13
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian! Thank your for having stayed at our hotel. I very much appreciate your straight forward review and will instantly try to improve our way of informing our guests, so that the expectations meet the reality. Regarding your safety concerns, I wish to point out that the hotel is absolutely safe and that we have more than the minimum... More 

London-Brighton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Stayed here for the Art Basel (June), price went up in whole Basel including this one, £100 / night for a budget hotel is a lot but that's the way it is and it's Switzerland! Location is good only few minutes walk to the closest tram stop which go all the way to the main exhibition centre. To the main... More 

Helpful?
Thank luv2ravel
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear luv2ravel! Thank you very much for this great review! Merry Christmas and hopefully we can again welcoming you in 2015! Best regards, your Apaliving More 

Basel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We spent three nights here in October and were very happy with the price, the location and the facilities, particularly the great set of washers and driers in the basement free to use - perfect when away for an extended period to get all the clothes clean. Cheap under cover parking which in Basel is brilliant especially with their great... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, John, for this great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again! Merry Christmas and best regards, your Apaliving More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

I booked a room for three nights whilst my apartment was getting ready to be moved in to. An hour after I booked I called the hotel to cancel my reservation as I had received a call from my landlord that I could now move in. The hotel wrote down my message and said that I would have to call... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Claudine R
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claudine! I am very sorry that you had that a negative experience in our hotel. I wish to explain that you booked a cheap non refundable rate. Unfortunately this rate has restrictions and therefore can't neither be cancelled nor refunded. If you need total flexibility, I recommend to book the regular daily rate. I am sorry again and wish... More 

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
281 reviews
Hotel Balegra
#39 of 51 in Basel
39 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#14 of 51 in Basel
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Stadthof
Hotel Stadthof
#48 of 51 in Basel
22 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel Rochat
Hotel Rochat
#17 of 51 in Basel
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
APALIVING offers near the center of Basel a pleasant, quiet living for the best value for money. In a few minutes by bus or tram you are at the train station SBB (2 minutes), in the city center (6 minutes), at the fair (9 minutes) or at the St. Jakob stadium (7 minutes). The stations are two minutes’ walk away from the hotel.180 rooms in two categories are available. Laundry facilities and WIFI access are free of charge. An ironing station can be used during reception opening hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

Address: J. J. Balmer-Strasse 1 | 4053 Basel, Basel 4053, Switzerland (Formerly Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: RM402 - RM549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park Hotel Basel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles fiftysomething100, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The room I had was an even number with a nice view of a residential, leafy street,”
 of 5 bubbles justalways, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“The room we had was too warm so ask for a cooler room in warm weather”
 of 5 bubbles Syngentian, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Stay on the 6th floor for an awesome view.”
 of 5 bubbles vsomerset, 25 May 2014 | Read review
“The double rooms do not feel quite as basic as the singles”
 of 5 bubbles Timmo_66, 5 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay