We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz

Hotels.comUS$178*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 128: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the second time I stayed here, and everything was as expected. The room was clean and the service staff was very friendly. The breakfast was simple, but you get what you need and it is very healthy. The location is good, and the price is reasonable and it is probably the lowest in the area considering this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGCPH
carla462, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write us this great feedback. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with with the cleanliness the healthy breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. I will pass the compliment on to them. We would be pleased to welcome you again to our Hotel. Kind regards Carla Tichelli, Vice...

Nancy, France
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Nice hôtel Not too many rooms Small bed , hard matress and awfull pillow Nice breakfast but no window in the room Close to Town center and train station Bundesplatz and its restaurants at 100 meters Personnel really sympathic and professional

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FredW54
London
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Pre-Christmas break with partner. Chose as price was good and location perfect. Breakfast included and just as well as Switzerland is so expensive. I was last in Berne in 1986... Prices have exploded! Room was modern and big. No fridge but we kept things on the ledge outside window... Some birds pecked our chocolate stash 😀. Convenient for railway station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cue-em
Helsinki
Reviewed 7 February 2017

As a single male traveller I probably got the tiniest room in the hotel, windows facing backyard. The interior was quite modest, not what you would expect from a four star hotel. In the morning I was waken by construction work. The breakfast was good but check out time quite early, by 10 o'clock.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 82pekkah
carla462, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and this feedback. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the breakfast. We regret that you were not satisfied with your room and the check out time. We apologize for the the noise caused by the construction work in the neighbouring building. The normal check out time is at 10...

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Owner operated places distinguish themself most of the time. That' s the point also with this hotel, which the last couple of years was an anonymous " Best Western". Now ownership has changed and it makes a difference. Most rooms are now renovated and in particular the service has become friendly and very good. The breakfast buffet is not enourmous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joerg1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Stayed 2 nights over Christmas period. - Pleasant mid-ranged hotel - Good sized rooms, on the larger end for Western European cities. Water bottles included. - Good location, walking distance from main sights and train station - Staff were polite and all spoke fluent English - Included breakfast was tasty and a good spread for the small size of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
Treyfayes, Fribourg, Switzerland
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Situated down town Bern - spacious room, but just one chair for two people....a common hotel mistake? The table with complementary water and tea/coffee makes a big +. Less than 5 minutes walk gets you to the centre of Bern with all the eating facilities you can think of. Breakfast served in small restaurant - wide variaty of breads, cheeses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CFloor
Paris, France
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I have stayed in several hotels in Bern and this is one of the better ones. Very central, next to the tram and buses, restaurants, shops etc. The reception is friendly enough but very few people… We had a large room for three people, the beds were fine, the bathroom a fair size, TV screen small and hanging from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PallasParis
Nyon, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Very "correct" hotel with great location in the center of Bern. Pleasant friendly staff, decent sized room and breakfast included - though no fresh fruit until a nice waitress searched and found a small Apple!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Nyon
carla462, Manager at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this review

Dear Mr Michael Thank you for your Feedback. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the Location and the friendliness of our staff. Usually we have fresh fruit salad and a basket of fruits on the breakfast buffet. We are sorry that this was not the case during your stay. We hope to see you again in...

Prague
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The room with a high ceiling is plain but clean, the whole feel of the facility is dated. No way how to at least try to change the temperature in the room, the only way would be to open the little window, but then you get an earful of noise. The bed is OK, the bathroom as well, the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomOpo

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.2 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#6 of 30 in Bern
44 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
991 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
495 reviews
0.3 km away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4* Hotel Bären am Bundesplatz is situated in the heart of Berne -an Unesco World Culture Heritage city. It is ideally situated next to the main railway station and close to The House of Parliament. The main shopping area and other attractions, such as the Bernese Munster, the Zytglogge and the Bear Park are all within walking distance. The hotel has 67 non-smoking rooms. All rooms provide comfortable accommodation whether on a business or leisure trip. All are equipped with a work place, free Wi Fi and TV (multilingual),Coffee machine, bath or shower, hairdryer, water heater and a safe. The rooms facing the street are air conditioned. A Bernese buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. And other free facilities are the residents' lounge, fitness room and the use of bicycles-some of which are electric. The welcoming Baren Bar is popular with both residents and locals. Here you can enjoy a coffee or a wide selection of alcoholic drinks and it provides an excellent venue for a Apero meeting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz

Address: Schauplatzgasse 4, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Baeren)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Price Range: RM773 - RM1,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baeren
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#9 Business Hotel in Bern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check pillow before going to bed!”
FredW54, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a larger room not communicating with next door”
PallasParis, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try to see the room in advance, very diverse size and quality”
TomOpo, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Replace the carpet; provide proper soap and shampoo; install air conditioning.”
frankb575, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“5th floor has NO windows!”
WiggyOz, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$178* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$210
TravelocityUS$178
PricelineUS$178
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates