We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ibis budget Luzern City

Booking.comUS$125*
View Deal
#35 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
ibis budget Luzern City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ibis budget Luzern City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 841: English reviews
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Luzern can be an expensive city and Ibis budget is a cheaper option. Located 15 minutes walking away from the train station in a quiet location. This is matching Ibis budget standard. A basic room with the bare minimum. Clean with just enough space. There is no real bathroom but a shower cabin, a sink in the bedroom and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sebastien b
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our place. As you already mentioned it correctly, we are a low-budget hotel and all our rooms are specially designed for travelers who dont want to spend much money for a big and spacious room or other luxury items. Therefore, the modern but compact design is maybe...

Bogotá, Colombia
Reviewed 12 May 2013

About the hotel I just can say that is what you expect from an Ibis hotel when you're are used to go to this kind of hotels (which is my case, I'm a "le club" member). Nothing to complain and nothing to add but saying that everything there works perfectly... Of course... It's Switzerland! The location is perfect when you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Hello Edwin, Thank you very much for your comments regarding your visit in lucerne. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could welcome you for the 2nd time here at our place. Its always a great pleasure for us to see that we can meet our guests expectations. We therefore wish you all the...

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I am rating this hotel taking into consideration the low cost as compared to other hotels in Lucerne. You get a no frills place to sleep, relax with a bit of TV, shower and have breakfast. Although the property is certainly not a destination itself it serves that purpose. The management was efficient and friendly, the place was clean, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg W
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Dear Meg, Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at our place. We are happy that you chose the right hotel for your needs. As you mentioned it correctly, we are a low-budget hotel and all our rooms are specially designed for travelers who dont want to spend much money for luxury rooms and additional equipment, but...

Genoa, Italy
Reviewed 3 May 2013

very clean budget hotel, rooms are small but well organized, toilet is minimal but perfectly working. we got what we paid for and all was as expected including no shelves, tiny locals etc. This is a very good hotel for a short stay (1/2 nights maximum), location is quite central, a nice 10 mins walking to pedestrian area. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fangiolini
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your stay at our place and also for the comments you posted. We are really glad that we could meet your expectations, and that you liked the modern and basic design of our rooms. We wish you all the best for your future travels and hope to welcome you again someday...

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Location is great. Room is small. So small they had to omit the bathroom doorknob. There is only one power socket in our room. We had to unplug the tv in order to get a second socket. Their outside parking costs less than its indoor space. Your space is not guaranteed even thought you've paid for your outside space.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrisnas
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Hello Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. The modern and surely compact design of all the ibis budget hotel rooms, belongs to our strategy, and allows us to stay on a low lewel with the room rates. Probably you did not see the second power socket which is installed in the entrance area of each...

Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my fiancee. Given the high accommodation prices in Lucerne, Hotel Ibis was a steal. Located very close to both the train station & city. Room was clean & tidy with double-deckered beds. Water from tap was good enough for drinking. The only blot we had was on the second night, where we heard two repetitions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Incredible_Hock
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments about your stay in lucerne at our place. We are sorry for this trouble you faced durig your second night. I assume this were other guests, coming back from a party, who accidently chose the wrong room. Sorry for that! We still hope you will come back to lucerne one day,...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed with my family (wife and daughter) for 4 nights. We were aware the room, including bathroom, would be relatively small. We did manage to store our 3 pieces of luggage fairly comfortably though. However for the price it is an excellent deal. Plus when in Switzerland who plans to spend their time indoors anyway? That too in late...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gajanan_W_13
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Hello Dear Guests, it is a really pleasure for us to read that you and your family had a great stay in lucerne and with us. Therefore we really thank you for your honest and detailed feedback. We are glad that you chose the right place to stay for your needs and hope you will visit us again once in...

Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Great location, near the center and train Station. Great Parking, but not free. You can visit the whole city on foot. The only weird thing is that we book the triple room, and the bathroom.. there isn't any! Has a little prive room with a toilet, but the shower its in the middle of the room, just with a frosted...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMB
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Dear Julia, thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay in lucerne. We like to hear that you enjoyed exploring our city. All the ibis budget hotels have a modern and compact design, and offer clean and secured rooms for up to three people for a reasonable price even in high season. On our website and on other...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2013

What a great find - fairly basic but clean and tidy, which is all you really want! No kettle in the room but that wasn't the end of the earth. Centrally located and at a great price - which in a country that is soooo expensive, is a real boon!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoulFerretts
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you so much for your comments regarding your visit in lucerne. We like to hear that you enjoyed staying here, even if we offer no cooking & coffee making facilities in theroom itselfs, but therefore we offer hot water & Microwave for free use in the lobby area. Thanks a lot and all...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Even taking into account the inflated prices of the city, this was poor value. While you can accept a room being sparse and basic in a budget hotel, there were too many details overlooked which should be standard. The shower door did not reach the floor, leading to constant flooding of the room. The "bed" was a slab of chipboard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottW346
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our house. We are really sorry to read that we obviously could not meet your expectations in terms of comfort. The modern and compact design of all the Ibis budget hotel rooms, are for sure not made for everybody. Therefore I highly recommend you to try our sister- hotels...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.4 km away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
536 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
334 reviews
1.5 km away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#32 of 68 in Lucerne
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
1.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range: RM515 - RM642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Green Hotel in Lucerne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ibis budget Luzern City staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from ibis budget Luzern City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid the rooms facing the railway tracks”
Toni-as-critic, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Triple rooms offer the best space.”
xJanice, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a higher floor”
SanjivMisra, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for upper level room, quiet and views”
whippyicecream, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“smooth checkin/checkout, quiet and calm”
148arjunr, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$125
Expedia.comUS$125
Hotels.comUS$125
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates