We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Posthotel Roessli

Show Prices
#10 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Posthotel  Roessli
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of Posthotel Roessli
 Click to rate
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very farmer-like cosy restaurant situated on the main walking-street in Gstaad. Mixed menue including steaks, soup and various typical Swiss cheese dishes such as raclette and fondue. Mid price level. Polite and correct service. Nothing for gourmets but for those who like the genuine Swiss kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarryBerry11
Kensington, Maryland
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We chose Posthotel Rossli for the location and value, and were delighted with the large, comfortable room, great views of town from our balcony, nice breakfast, and very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Charming historical building, with up-to-date rooms and bathrooms, good wireless, and helpful up-to-the-minute advice on weather, lift opening, bus schedules and more to plan our day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This was supposed to be a nice lunch and ended as a disaster. Unsafe place where jacket was stolen in the cloakroom and rudeness of the owner. When you expect customers to pay the huge bill you present at the end of a meal you should pay attention to their belongings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pascale b
Conroy W, Inhaber at Posthotel Roessli, responded to this review

Dear Pascale B. Sorry for the the loos of your jacket - it is strange to read about it online. Because, just to make this clear; I'm the owner of the Posthotel Rössli, Mr. Conroy Widmer and you have never spoken to me about it. It is not our responsibility to double check every single item in the restaurant and...

Hope Island, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We wanted to stay in Gstaad and this was the most central, cost effective option available. Happy to say it was the best choice we could have made, the room was much better than photos! The service was helpful and caring, nothing was a bother.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 416Helen
London, UK
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here. A beautiful old building in the heart of Gstaad. Delightful and very helpful staff with plenty of suggestions for local activities. Very comfortable room with large balcony. Good breakfast. My only regret was selecting the half board option as there was no choice and the food was rather bland an uninspiring. A great hotel but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickfromLondon
Deerfield, Illinois
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I just spend 3 nights at the Posthotel Roessli for a couple of days skiing on Glacier 3000 and I could not be happier with the choice! The hotel and room was charming and the staff was very helpful and caring - including helping me to get medical attention when I injured myself skiing on the first day. I also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skidad_11
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Best fondue, but there are many other interesting and great choices even fresh trout. Also excellent Rœsti. Reservations a must in the Stubli. The hotel is good value for money, in the center of the village quaint and great food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill w
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 July 2016

This hotel is full of charm, has a fantastic ambiance, wonderful chalet type rooms with all modern facilities, 2 wonderful restaurants and really friendly and courteous staff. It felt so good staying there and we will return on a regular basis - for sure !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nevtaylor
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Always excellent food and friendly service. Very romantic typical mountain style decor. A must when visiting Gstaad. If you like game they do the best! Very yummy! Beautiful terrace during summer, good for people watching

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petery763
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We are a family of four and recently visited this hotel. The room was spacious enough for 6 people!! The hotel doesn't have an elevator but the staff insists on helping with the bags all the way up and down again! How courteous! I have to talk about the breakfast.. They have so many different types of cheese options, yummy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank starstar5

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.4 km away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
350 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#7 of 21 in Gstaad
105 reviews
0.2 km away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
138 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
210 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Posthotel Rossli - the most traditional and oldest Hotel in the middle of town! This building was built approximately in 1823 and bought by Bendicht Steffen in 1844. It first opened in 1845 as a guesthouse. Back then it also was used as as a post office. By the way, the Rossli-Hotel is the oldest hotel in town. Since 1922, our family owns the establishment, and today we are proud to be the fourth generation, managing the Posthotel Rossli. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Posthotel Roessli

Address: Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Price Range: RM701 - RM1,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Roessli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Posthotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Gstaad
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#8 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Posthotel Roessli staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Place to avoid this is a shame for Switzerland”
 of 5 bubbles pascaleb403, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a family room for 5, there was plenty of room.”
 of 5 bubbles 416Helen, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms with a terrace would be recommended”
 of 5 bubbles nevtaylor, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had Double Superior with a small balcony, and it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles hanabenesova, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“View on the Palace hotel”
 of 5 bubbles StefanoR69, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5