We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Show Prices
#4 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 429: English reviews
carlisle
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our fifth visit to the Sunstar but this visit was spoilt by the poor restaurant service. At breakfast we repeatedly had to search for staff to serve us with coffee and the evening meal service was exceptionally slow, often more than 40 minutes wait between courses. Simply not enough staff. Emphasis on serving tour groups to the detriment of other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cumbrian55
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your opinion as a loyal guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations this time. We always try to give our guests the best possible service and truly belief this situation was an exception to the rule. Since your visit was a while ago, it’s...

Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of Travelsphere's enjoyable ”Deluxe Swiss Railways" tour. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the valley. After arriving later than planned (the glacier express arrived late in Brig and messed up our subsequent connections on four more trains to Wengen), we were welcomed with a drink and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 68UK
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your great response. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit so much and will forward your review to our team who is working very hard and to make our guests feel homely. For the "Buddha bath" we keep our Wellness area open until 10.30 pm. Guests can enjoy a very relaxed...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I stayed at the Sunstar Wengen once again this September, something I have done for many years. I come to Wengen mainly for the hiking which ranges from the spectacular waterfall-blessed Lauterbrunnen Valley below Wengen to the otherworldly Jungfraujoch glacier high above. In between, there are alpine meadows galore. Last year I gave Sunstar Wengen a 5 star review, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SwissMarmot
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Thank you so much for another great review. It is always such a pleasure having you around ;-) and we appreciate your loyality to the Sunstar Wengen very much! We are glad that you enjoyed the Craft beer this time and we have some good news: Oliver will order more for having an even bigger choice. Thanks again for taking...

North London
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Hotel in stunning location, lovely clean room and staff polite and friendly. Entertainment on some of the evenings which we enjoyed. We had breakfast and evening meals; all were delicious and nicely presented. A very nice stay. Will be returning. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeniseandHarold
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking your time to write your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back at another time. Warm regards from Wengen! Katja & Oliver Kienzler

CA
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed at the Sunstar Wengen for 8 days/7 nights and included the half-board option. ROOM: The room was a good size, immaculately clean and had a balcony with a lovely view. All beverages in the mini fridge were included. Nice bonus! There was still space in the fridge to keep fruit or a stash of chocolate. There was turn...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Felixx9995
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the everything from sleeping to eating at our Sunstar Wengen. The craft beer tasting in the Sunstar grill cabin was a great success. Next time please join us for the raclette dinner in our cozy hut. Hope to welcome you again soon. Warm...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week and loved it. Pool and steambath are great, food is delicious and staff are wonderful. Every night general manager came by our table and asked about our day, dont see that in the USA. Views around Wengen are great. And...you can get a massage in house!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anntwilighter
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Many many thanks for taking your time to write a review. I am glad to hear that the evening round and conversation with my guests are appreciated ;-) Thanks for staying with us!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Great views from balcony. Single room was smallish but good, had everything I needed. Balcony was quite big and had a table and chairs for enjoying the view. Very clean. Lovely atmosphere. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. You can buy tickets for Jungfraujoch Railway from reception. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent. Restaurant was good too! Everything from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NoQuarter55
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay. By the way, the minibar is complimentary at all Sunstar Hotels :-) Hope to welcome you again at another time.

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Our family of four just enjoyed 4 days at Sunstar Hotel in Wengen, hiking around the mountains. I waited to write this review until we had experienced other hotels in Switzerland to make an informed comparison. Without doubt Sunstar is the friendliest hotel with the best food, facilities and overall ambience. It started with Andy and Mryna at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ian k
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Many many thanks for taking your time and write a review. We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your holidays so much. We will forward your compliments to Myrna and Andy :-) We would be very happy to welcome you at another time. Warm regards from Wengen, Oliver

St Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August and cannot fault it. From the very friendly welcome to the beautifully presented dinners, you are in for a lovely stay, not to mention the very big swimming pool and the free drinks in your room ( beer, coke, water, fruit juice). We would certainly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marylene-jersey
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for your great review. We are looking forward to welcome you another time. Warm regards from Wengen!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The best thing about the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen is the staff. They are unusually helpful and pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located, near the train station. The area around the hotel contains restaurants, bars and shops. Our room was clean, comfortable, modern and had a great view. The included breakfast was excellent. WIFI was also included. Shockingly, items in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie1105
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking your time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. You are right, we are very lucky to have such a great team. They always give their best so that our guests feel at home. The drinks from the minibar is complimentary at all Sunstar Hotels. We...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
347 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
679 reviews
0.4 km away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
401 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 21 in Wengen
329 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 21 in Wengen
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Price Range: RM728 - RM1,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pick a valley view room if possible”
 of 5 bubbles cumbrian55, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I like the valley side rooms better. Better view and quieter, though Wengen itself is a quiet place so the quieter part is minor”
 of 5 bubbles SwissMarmot, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Recommend room 422 for large circular bath.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseandHarold, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“pay a little extra for a room with mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles KAZzzPAZzz, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 134 on 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Bob19477, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay