We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A hotel I want to forget about. Had a traumatic experience staying at this hotel. The management and staff were extremely impolite and most unprofessional. Never in my life have I had such a bad experience particularly in Switzerland, the centre of hospitality. Cleanliness was very poor and most unhygienic. The bed sheets were dirty and I also found the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 857pavlos
efassbind, Owner at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for sending your report. I regret sincerely that you were not happy about your stay. In the room there is a card with my direct email address. If a bad service happens again during your stay please contact me immediately to solve the problem. Sorry that we were not satisfying you this time. Yours truly Eric Fassbind

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night earlier this month. I enjoyed the quirkiness of the rooms features and the bath was exceptional. Couple of minor housekeeping issues, bin had not been emptied and there was a pair of underpants inside as well as a hole behind the room door where someone had clearly opened the door too aggressively. I paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

This was the 2nd time I stayed at this Hotel I paid a premium rate to stay at the back of the Hotel with nice views. The room was excellent as was the reception service. The Hotel is very well located for the old town and Metro for convenient shopping, the station and the lake. Why not 5 Star? They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CalmEarth
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing again to spend your time in our hotel. We are happy to grow our link of loyal customers each and every day. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards,

Sydney
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed in mid October for 4 days. What a delightful hotel. Clean, modern rooms with excellent service staff. The Reception staff were very helpful, and assisted with repatriating items we unfortunately left when we checked out. Morning breakfast range was excellent. No noise despite the closeness of the rooms to the main street. All facilities worked as expected, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graemelf
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Graemelf, Thank you for your kind message concerning your stay with us. We are happy your forgoten belongings arrived to you safely. Your Fassbind Team.

canberra
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at this modern hotel. The location is incredibly convenient to the metro and indeed for good restaurants and shopping in Lausanne. The room was clean, spacious and modern. The staff were friendly and attentive. We did have a problem with the heating in our room which was not resolved, but the staff member on duty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cee99
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are very glad you had a good time. The issue with the heater has been properly repaired and we hope to have you back anytime soon. Your Fassbind Team.

Le Vaud, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Great location by metro and cathedral, shops and restaurants. Clean and modern, comfortable rooms (choose the cathedral view rooms). A million per cent improvement from the grotty former City Hotel. However, service was rather odd. On arrival there was a rather surly young man who did little to make one feel welcome. Later the same evening, a young post-office crowd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley Philippa S
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels. Regarding your message, we regret to see that your stay did not unfold as you had hoped, and we really do apologize for that. Thank you for your feedback, we guarantee that we will do our best to make changes and to...

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Best thing is the location,right in old Lausanne and also near metro. Also gave us a free ticket for the metro. Rooms very clean and modern. Breakfast is good, except the scrambled eggs tasted bland, think they were powdered egg. There is a wine bar but we didn't see anyone in it! The hotel has no atmosphere to support a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We take care of your remarks: your advices are very important for us. Our bar is open from Tuesday to Saturday and we have a downstairs "cave" too, maybe that could be...

Reviewed 4 October 2016

This hotel is probably located in the best place in Lausanne if someone is interested in checking out the old city in Lausanne. It is one minute away from the metro and right around the corner from several cafes and bars. The staff is young and friendly and they do a good job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shabab H
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Swiss Wine Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon! Your Fassbindhotels staff

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Design is great - the hotel was recently renovated. Rooms do not have wardrobe (only small hanger), which is ok if you travel for 1-2 days, but might be an issue if you stay longer. Breakfast ok. Receptionists are great and helpful, however it feels more training is needed, especially for the night receptionist - we was exceptionally rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabsini
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hôtels. We take care of your remarks: your advices are very important for us. Unfortunately, we had a lot of staff change recently but we are now trainning a motivated and well prepared staff. We hope your next stay in our Fassbind hotels...

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel has a great location, just outside is the metro station which brings you in 15minutes to the lake. As well in few minutes you are already in the oldtown of Lausanne and so many shops, restaurants and things to see and do. We had a family room, was clean, enough space. Unfortunalty was the view not interesting but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laila B
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We thank you for having taken the time to send us your feedback, your comment is very important to us. Waiting to welcome you again, please accept our best wishes. Your Fassbindhotels team

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.9 km away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.4 km away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#4 of 45 in Lausanne
115 reviews
1.0 km away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 45 in Lausanne
465 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#21 of 45 in Lausanne
244 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#29 of 45 in Lausanne
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar

Address: rue Caroline 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel City)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Price Range: RM510 - RM861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Lausanne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swiss Wine Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 857pavlos, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are modern.”
 of 5 bubbles Graemelf, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from main road facing the rear and towards the cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyphilippas, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Better ask for the room with cathedral view”
 of 5 bubbles Gabsini, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we had room with street view but windows are perfectly able to eliminate street noise, no worries.”
 of 5 bubbles JurajJ108, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay