We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City-Hotel Ochsen Zug

Show Prices
#5 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
 Click to rate
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel. Located right in the center of Zuger Altstadt (old town of Zug). Walking distance to everything. Very helpful and friendly staff. We really like our room. It was a corner room face the little square in front the hotel's main entrance. The hotel's restaurant is also very recommendable. Next time we're in Zug we'll be staying at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23basse
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you very much for your review and your valuable time! I and my team are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes and kind regards from the old town of Zug Matthias...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rooms have old school style e.g. door handle are stones furthermore these are modern also, I recommend it. My room was clean and I was close to the conference room and it was a bit noisy unfortunately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Márk S
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Márk Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy that you had a good stay in our hotel but I am really sorry that you were disturbed by the noise from our conference room. We will try to give you a room far away from any noise next time. We are looking forward to welcoming you...

Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's tough to argue with the location of this hotel, right downtown, in the city center, with a short walk to local restaurants, right? This is Zug... everything is a short walk though, I mean it... A 10 minute walk will literally be you walking across the city... I wanted to give this hotel a higher ranking, but in good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent63
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear guest I am extremely sorry to read about the bad experience you had in our hotel. I honestly have to admit that, in addition to my regret, I am very astonished to hear that you spent 5 nights coughing non-stop in the room and 5 mornings waisting your time with trying to close your room door but never complained...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This hotel was located in the center of Zug. Everything is nearby on walking distance. I got a room on the 2nd floor and has 2 elevators one beside the restaurant and the other for rooms reception employees are very helpful . The room was rather small, but it contained everything I needed for my long stay. Breakfast was good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hesham_abdelfattah
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear guest I thank you very much for your review and your time. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your long business stay in our hotel and thank you very much for your recommendation. Hopefully, I and my team have the pleasure of welcoming you again sometimes in the near future. With best wishes and kind regards from...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

This hotel was located in the center of Zug. Everything is nearby on walking distance. I got a room on the 5th floor and the elevator only goes to the 4th floor. For me this wasn't an issue however i can imagine that other people might have a problem with it. The room was rather small, but it contained everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Rob Thank you very much for your review and your time. I and my team are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Kind regards and best wishes from Zug Matthias Hegglin, Managing owner

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We highly recommend this hotel perfectly located in Zug. Request room 304 which is spacious and features a spectacular view of the clock tower. Breakfast daily was delicious and included a varied assortment of treats. The staff was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Andrew Thank you very much for your appreciated review and your time. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. With best wishes and kind regards from Zug Matthias Hegglin, Managing owner

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We decided not to stay at this hotel after making an inspection with a staff member prior to Xmas The problems were : _ Small rooms with no view _ Very basic furnishings - timber bed like from Ikea on timber floor _ No atmosphere The hotel is badly in need of a renovation Their high prices they are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard g
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear guest As you wrote-you NEVER actually stayed in our hotel so we are really wondering how you can write a review on our house. Just to comment some of your points: - We have rooms that have lake view or views to the beautiful old town of Zug - Our furnishing is of very high quality with natural materials...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Cute little hotel with historic flair, modernized rooms with rustic alpine touch. Room 103 had a lovely sitting corner in one of the little towers on the side of the hotel with a marvellous view onto the market place (as I was there 2 weeks before Christmas, I perfectly enjoyed my little princess tower savouring the decorative lights in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny B
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Jonny First of all: Happy New Year! Thank you very much for your review and your time. Highly appreciated! I and my team are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a great pleasure to have you back soon. With best wishes and kind regards from Zug Matthias Hegglin, Managing owner

Reviewed 4 November 2016

We were travelling Switzerland for the first time and the staff was quite friendly and helped us discover the new place and also gave us quite useful tips for commuting and selecting various cuisines, the hotel is located at a really great location, with mountains in the backdrop and some great monument structures around it. The double bed was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aditya M
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Aditya Thank you very much for your review and your valuable time. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife soon again. With best wishes and kind regards from Zug Matthias Hegglin and the whole Ochsen-team

Reviewed 28 October 2016

I satayed overnighht and found it wonderfully quiet and very accomodating as I arrived late and they still made me dinner at the restaurant with it due to shut in 10 minutes. The room was small but since I was there to sleep it was perfectly adequate for my needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you very much for your review and your time. I am very pleased to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Matthias Hegglin, Managing owner

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
0.2 km away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
1.4 km away
Hotel Zugertor
Hotel Zugertor
#1 of 8 in Zug
145 reviews
0.8 km away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#4 of 8 in Zug
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
City Garden Hotel
3.1 km away
Quality Swisshotel Zug
3.3 km away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1543, this hotel in the centre of Zug accommodated famous guests like Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, yet it offers modern amenities like free internet and air-conditioning. The City-Hotel Ochsen is situated in the middle of the beautiful historic centre, 200 m from the lake of Zug and a 10 minutes walk from the train station. All rooms are air-conditioned and have an en-suite bathroom, a cable TV and a water kettle. Fine Swiss and international cuisine is served in the Hotel Ochsen's restaurant "au premier" and in our bar you can enjoy aromatic coffee or a cool glass of beer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City-Hotel Ochsen Zug

Address: Kolinplatz 11, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Price Range: RM1,061 - RM1,513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City-Hotel Ochsen Zug 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your City-Hotel Ochsen Zug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City-Hotel Ochsen Zug staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from City-Hotel Ochsen Zug staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 304”
 of 5 bubbles 23basse, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Smoky hotel in a historic area that will make you feel like you've been a smoker for years”
 of 5 bubbles Brent63, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 3rd floor and have view on KolinPlatz watch”
 of 5 bubbles hesham_abdelfattah, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“103 - sitting corner with great view”
 of 5 bubbles 66jonnyb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The view of the mountains from the double bed is really great!”
 of 5 bubbles 618adityam, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5