We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sorell Hotel Rex

Show Prices
#38 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sorell Hotel Rex
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sorell Hotel Rex
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Kalamazoo Mi
Reviewed 5 October 2014

The Sorell Rex was outstanding. We needed a hotel that was close to the center of Zurich and had parking, but would fit our budget. This hotel was great. As noted by others it is excellent for staff caliber, parking, wifi, breakfast, elevator, access to the city, comfort and cleanliness. Within the context of prices in Switzerland it's a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear Kazoo22 We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Hotel. We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon. Best wishes Sorell Hotel...

NoCal
Reviewed 28 September 2014

On a short notice, this was the only place we could find that could accommodate our family of four (they do have family rooms) in Zurich. The hotel is very clean, it has "free" (and excellent!) breakfast, "free" WiFi (works great), and "free" parking (at this great location near the center, this is a real treat). Windows were very good,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank germinator
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear germinato Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Hotel. We know what you mean with CHF 250.00 is expensive. But we think that is a really good Price for ZURICH for 4 Person. With included breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, near to the City centre,...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 27 September 2014

I booked this hotel while looking for an affordable yet conveniently located hotel for 2 nights in Zurich and we were not disappointed. It was just few steps away from the tram and 2 stops away from the train station or around 15 minutes by walk but we never tried walking since the tram stops very often. Our stay included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anyabella12
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear anyabella Many thanks for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the booking way. The credit card details you give us will be checked for validity and credit availability some time prior to your arrival. This is a pre-authorisation request for the cost...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I stayed in this hotel already 3 years ago and due to my good experience I came back. Some positive points as before were of course still there. Good location, just a 15 minute walk to the train station and a 20 minute walk to the old town. The tram stop nearby with frequent connections to the city. Decent breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria_F111
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear Maria_F11 Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our Superior room. We have 3 rooms from these category in our Hotel with different size. Our Hotel is a old building and not every room have the exactly same size, sorry for that. But the equipment is in...

US
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Spent one night in this lovely little hotel. It is quaint and immaculate. There were 4 adults sharing the advertised four person room (sofa pulled out to two twin beds). We were comfortable, but a bit cramped. Since we were only there for one night, we were fine.The hotel was very convenient to downtown Zurich and the self guided walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omaumeg12
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear omaumeg 12 We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive and we are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon. Best wishes Sorell Hotel Rex Team

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I booked a self guided bike trip and this hotel was chosen for me, but I couldn't have done any better. I arrived at 9:00 in the morning and they gave me the first room that was cleaned. Rooms are small (it was a single), which is common in Europe, but clean, quiet and had everything I needed. Good wi-fi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy N
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear Randy N We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon. Best wishes Team Sorell Hotel Rex

New York City
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Pros: 1. Convenient location--about 15-minutes walking to the center of the city. 2. Free breakfast--considering the extremely high price in Switzerland, this is a huge plus, 3. Rooms are cozy. 4. Price is reasonable. 5. Parking 6. Free wi-fi Cons: Some rooms' bathrooms are tiny.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank moonNewYorkCity
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear moonNewYo We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Hotel. Please when you reserve next time a room again in our Hotel,make a little notice with a wish for a bigger bathroom and then we will give you a room...

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2014

a good quality hotel in a nice location. Fantastic continental breakfast, friendly staff. Close to the main tram and railway station. Nice bakery and supermarket close by. would definately recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael j
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear Michael j Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our breakfast & with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon. Best wishes Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Pesaro, Italy
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is very colse to the center. The room was pretty quiet located on the fifth floor with a nice view. Inside the room there was a coffee machine espresso, a real plus for an Italian. The staff was very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brunocapo
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear brunocapo We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly. Best wishes Team Sorell Hotel Rex

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a good small hotel, walking distance from the Central Tram Station, if you do not have bulky luggage. Else, Tram 7 stops literally a stone's-throw distance away. Room are well appointed but small. Beware of the ones facing the street: traffic noise is quite distracting if one happen to be in the hotel on a summer night, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APJS
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear Mr APJS Many thanks for your feedback. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. We will do our utmost to improve our service in your interest. It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit and to show...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#21 of 134 in Zurich
713 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 134 in Zurich
486 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#50 of 134 in Zurich
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#12 of 134 in Zurich
540 reviews
Hotel Montana
#45 of 134 in Zurich
819 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#54 of 134 in Zurich
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92 | 8006 Zürich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: RM679 - RM1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Family Hotel in Zurich
#54 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sorell Hotel Rex staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sorell Hotel Rex staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A lovely bakery is just located opposite to the hotel. The bread there was great! The Vent machine was a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles zzzgeegeezzz, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 501 is the best, if you're willing to pay more.”
 of 5 bubbles stumpr, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 204; ask to see your room before taking it.”
 of 5 bubbles davebellmk, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor has good views”
 of 5 bubbles deborah501, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms have sound proof windows, so as long as you keep the window shut, it is noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 62chrisnad, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay