We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cracker Bay B&B

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Shepstone
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Cracker Bay B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Start your review of Cracker Bay B&B
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Had the most mind blowing experience ever rented out the entire house the hospitality was great it felt like home . The host and owner were incredible ..Can't complain about a single we were well accommodated foe the 7 days we stayed there own access to the beach everything at our disposal.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ponya2015
Pretoria
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We got Cracker Bay B&B reccommended by friends who stayed there half a year earlier, so we booked it for our christmas holiday. We found the price was fair, however being reccommended and rated as a 4Star Guesthouse we had some expectations. Unfortunatelly we were quite disapointed. The service was poor: No friendly welcome, rooms spacious but not clean (toilet!)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birgit O
Cracker B, Owner at Cracker Bay B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your opinion . However I feel it is only fair to point out we are a B&B .We have no communal kitchen . You expressly asked for a room with one , and even when told we do not usually let out this "one" particular room - insisted that this is where your friends stayed .Only on...

Reviewed 12 January 2016

The hospitality was amazing ,most of our needs were catered for ..we never encountered any problems ,,,the rooms downstairs were slightly disappointing as the wasn't much of A Sea view as mentioned but for kids that room is great cause we're travelling as couples some people felt it was a bit unfair that they don't get the sea view but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 602zack
Cracker B, Owner at Cracker Bay B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful response and words for Crackerbay B&B . We will in future be providing a description of each room and charge accordingly . Thanking you Lawrence

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We rented out the whole house earlier this year for a large group of friends and family. The size of the house and variety of spaces (inside, outside, upstairs, downstairs) meant that whether you felt like socialising or doing something on your own there was always a space to do that. The sizes of the rooms do vary so just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tonia J
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Don't be fooled by the glamorous pictures on the website it's all False Advertising. Contrary to their listings there is NO Internet Access, there is NO Jacuzzi on site, there is NO Sauna/Steam room. The furniture, the curtains, the floors are all filthy. There are broken windows, countless lights that don't work, everything is rusted and dilapidated. Shockingly bad management...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrendaWild
Cracker B, Owner at Cracker Bay B&B, responded to this review

Unfortunately it is impossible to please everyone all the time . We do have wi fi - unfortunately we have no control over Telkom and the time frame for them to fix the lines . I am still trying to trace the reference to a public Jacuzzi or sauna - Definitely not listed here or on our website site ,...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We stayed for just 4 nights in a large family group from all over the world to celebrate our son's wedding a few miles away in Hibberdene. What a fabulous house - just perfect for us. The staff were fantastic and so helpful. We organised a local caterer to provide a special meal the night before the wedding and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan E
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We stayed for 6 nights with a large group of friends and family - it was really a wonderful house to be together or be alone because there are so many areas to congregate or isolate. Owner and staff where friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Beach is close and fantastic long walk. Tidal pool not far away for calm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Rented entire house for large family holiday, was great. Direct access to beach, great pool, rooms excellent, main lounge area & dining area fantastic. Multiple patio's for entertaining yourselves. Great view. Staff pleasant & helpful. There were some maintenance issues that got sorted out quickly with no fuss. Well worth the stay. A few Km out of Port Shepstone, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2014

What a beautiful place . Stunning house in awesome relaxing environment . The staff was so welcoming and the whole house had a relaxed upmarket feel .We loved the beach and breakfasts .Will definitely be back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taryn21701
Cracker B, Owner at Cracker Bay B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic comments . We , as always, remain committed to provide the best for our guests. Thank you

Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A magnificent establishment that aspires to all the needs of a discerning traveller, whether on business or leisure. We had the pleasure of experiencing this home last week situated on a magnificent garden estate on the edge of the beach! A dead quiet retreat or a home big enough to cater for a function.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmanzimtotiBeachRest

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Shepstone
39.9 km away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
8.7 km away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
124 reviews
7.6 km away
Lombok Lodge
Lombok Lodge
#2 of 16 in Port Shepstone
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Honeywood
Honeywood
#4 of 16 in Port Shepstone
27 reviews
5.4 km away
Dieu-Donnee River Lodge
Dieu-Donnee River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Port Shepstone
7 reviews
10.7 km away
Royston Hall Guesthouse
Royston Hall Guesthouse
#1 of 16 in Port Shepstone
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crackerbay is a large modern house with lush tropical gardens leading directly onto the beach .Almost all rooms have spectacular sea views and come equipped with air conditioning , bar fridge and full DSTv . There is a swimming pool and braai facilities and we have a games room with pool table , dartboard and table tennis . Situated on Pumula beach we are half way between Hiberdean and Port Shepstone ,(approximately 12 min drive) and with in close proximity to a number of golf courses and other south coast attractions . We cater mainly to upmarket client . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cracker Bay B&B

Address: 293/3 Cracker Bay Road | Pumula, Port Shepstone 4210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Shepstone
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cracker Bay B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms upstairs have sea view,Rooms downstairs have no sea view..”
602zack, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The rooms vary in size and bathroom facilities. The 'main bedroom' was considered the best room by everyone in our group.”
toniaj514, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“3, 4 and 5 had joint balconies looking towards the beach. Room 1 has 2 balconies. Room 2 has a lovely balcony but it looks inland.”
jane963, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms definitely best”
adamc962, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask to be upgraded to room 1 , the executive suit .”
taryn21701, 14 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5