We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pulitzer Amsterdam

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Pulitzer Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Pulitzer for a weeklong work trip, and could not have been happier. I was visiting from San Francisco, and truly felt like I was in my home away from home. The room felt like a cozy apartment, and the beds were heavenly. I want to order all of the bedding! I hope to go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Taylor P, Wow, what an amazing comment, thank you for sharing! We always try to make our guests feel comfortable and at home, therefore I am pleased to read that we were able to create your home away from home, right in the middle of the historic canal belt. It is definitely possible to order all of the bedding....

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Such a fabulous hotel. Very attentive staff offering excellent service without being stuffy. Great décor - quirky and modern but cosy and welcoming at the same time. It was definitely worth the upgrade to have a canal view room. The boat trip was informative and the captain very charming. My top tip would be to hire bikes (available from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlanden
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear jlanden, Thank you for your fantastic comment! The beautiful compliment about our attentive employees have been shared with the entire Pulitzer team. This is the best motivation for all of us ! Great to learn that you enjoyed the new décor as we recently underwent an extensive renovation. Your recommendation to hire bikes is indeed a top tip. It...

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our first trip together to Amsterdam and The Pultzer did not disappoint. We could not fault it in any way. Perfect location, room, food and staff. Would not hesitate in recommending this beautiful hotel. Just one tip please book Anne Franks house online before you go unless you don't mind waiting in a queue for a couple of hours!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Lesley M, Such a lovely comment, thank you for sharing this online! I am thrilled to read that the hotel did not disappoint. I have shared your compliments with the Pulitzer team and they were all very happy to hear. We look forward making your next booking, whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again. Warm regards, Alex

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were delighted to spend our babymoon at Pulitzer Amsterdam. Everything was perfect- from the welcoming staff, to the ideal location and cozy hotel interior. We were even spoilt by a little babymoon gift from the hotel manager! Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Maria N, Thank you for your lovely words! It was a true pleasure to accommodate you while celebrating your baby moon! Thank you for the praising compliment regarding the staff. I have of course shared this with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Pulitzer again. Warm regards, Alex

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Pulitzer is a lovely, charming & efficient place to stay. Spacious, quiet rooms w/comfortable beds and great walk-in shower. The lobby, reception and lounge areas well designed and maintained; breakfast assortment/menu was excellent The professional staff made our stay a memorable one. Centrally located allowed us to walk everywhere. Would recommend without hesitation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank okvogager
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear okvogager, It is a pleasure to read these kind words on TripAdvisor. Great to learn that you find the lobby, reception and lounge areas well designed and maintained. We are truly happy to hear this since Pulitzer Amsterdam recently underwent an extensive renovation for 18 months. The Pulitzer team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights and found this hotel very good indeed. The staff were warm and welcoming, the room clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and overall environment very good. It was a convenient location and would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norrie D
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Norrie D, Such a lovely comment, thank you for sharing this with us. Please let us know when you are coming again, we will be so happy to welcome you back! Warm regards, Alex

Washington, DC
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a wonderful hotel. From the delightful staff to the amenities to the view from the room (canal front, fourth floor) and the fun bar and restaurants, you cannot go wrong booking this hotel. My husband and I stayed for five nights and we walked everywhere. Oh, and the river cruise! The Pulitzer has its own historic boat that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcmb
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear dcmb, Thank you for sharing these beautiful words on TripAdvisor! Great to learn that the delightful employees, the amenities and the view of the room resulted in a wonderful stay with us. I am thrilled to read that you had an incredible experience on our salon boat “The Tourist”. It is indeed a historic boat as it is one...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. On arrival we were told that breakfast was included and on departure we were charged for 4 breakfasts. It was corrected and then 2 days later the hotel kindly emailed to inform me they had charged me for the first day breakfast because it wasnt included (which it was and i had to argue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie K
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Debbie K, First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Pulitzer Amsterdam and for taking the time to share your experience. I am truly sorry to learn that we were unfortunately not able to exceed your expectations during your 4 night stay with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated in order...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was really impressed with the reviews on this site so I went ahead to book a King deluxe via Agoda. I saw that there was a review saying breakfast was really good so was looking forward to this too. As Agoda promotes that mobile app, I booked it via the app and it was a bit harder to review...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia C
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Julia C, I would like to thank you very much for your sharing this comment with us prior to your arrival at Pulitzer Amsterdam. I am truly sorry to learn that your pre-arrival experience is not what you expected. Nevertheless, it is much appreciated that you took the time to share your feedback with us this Friday, during the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for three nights and would like to have stayed longer. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel has a cosy atmosphere even though it is quite large. The room was very comfortable, and there were several places to eat or drink in the hotel. It would be lovely in the summer as there are some attractive courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill643
Alexander-Van-Gastel, General Manager at Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear jill643, Such a wonderful comment, thank you! Great to learn that you would like to have stayed longer. We always try to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. The beautiful compliments about the helpful and friendly employees have been shared with the entire Pulitzer team. The courtyard gardens are indeed perfect during the summer, however we have...

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,012 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
721 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming downtown hotel comprising 25 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: RM1,052 - RM2,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pulitzer Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Pulitzer Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room on the canal side!”
 of 5 bubbles taylorp266, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the fourth floor was very quiet but I expect all the rooms are, as the hotel is situated between two canals.”
 of 5 bubbles jill643, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room because they are all different”
 of 5 bubbles 587marsham, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend a canal view if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles shar0ne944, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a canal side room for the best view”
 of 5 bubbles samfL7314SM, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay