We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel The Exchange

Expedia.comUS$240*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$240*
US$242*
US$240*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 777: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel The Exchange
 Click to rate
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights. very cosy bed, well lit bathroom which was very clean. Very very Quirky ambience. I loved every bit of it. However I was disappointed with just one thing which prevents me from giving an excellent rating, the room was very dull and dark. The only lighting we got were from the 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becky28645
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear becky28645, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We wish you would have mentioned the missing light in your room, we are always happy to provide some extra lamps in the rooms. We hope we may welcome you again in one of our brighter rooms. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

highly recommend anybody who wants to enjoy the buzz of the Amsterdam city and stay at a conveniently located place - easy accessibility to key points like Red Light districts, 9 streets and the centrumm station! the folks looking after this place is friendly and extremely helpful! room is fantastically well kept and while i stayed at the room directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freckleslee
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear freckleslee, thank you for your nice review. We are very happy to read you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel and your you had a good rest. We hope to see you again, for best rates, please book via our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

london, england
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely weekend here with my wife pleasant stay rooms small but nice bathroom was nice room was clean.pleasant staff and helpful staff at reception.Value for money nice small shop next to hotel nice food for breakfast and cakes tea and coffee.Defintely would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justcurious6
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear justcurious6, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read that you had a lovely weekend in our hotel. We hope to see you again. To get the best rates, please book on our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is absolutely amazing! Very close to central station and very central to everything else! Staff were very friendly, room was very clean and new towels were provided everyday. Great value for money. The room was quite small but that didn't bother us as we spent most of our time outside adventuring. My only gripe is there was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D_08_K
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear D_08_K, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read your compliments on our cleanliness and that our staff was very friendly. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Please book trough our own website for the best prices. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean. Great location. I was slightly disappointed with the lack of creativity and fashion forward decor as described on website. First room was a 3 star and I was not impressed, completely white walls, no art or decor and not what I was expecting. The staff was very friendly and gladly switched the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heger32
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Heger32, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful and We are glad to read that you were happy in the second room. We hope we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is absolutely brilliant! Stayed here over a weekend. Very querky with its own individual style. Room was amazing, and as for the bed...best nights sleep ever! The location is central - perfect location to Central Station, the trams, red light district and bars. Staff were ever so friendly and room, which had a tv and phone was cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherWBear
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear CherWBear, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our comfortable beds. We hope we may welcome you again. Please book on our own website to get the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Mauritius
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is just amazing, and quite special with its decoration as you all have noticed on the pictures! We were in a 4 star room, small but perfectly functional. Only drawback is that there is no closet, and the space to keep luggages is in the opposite of the very small bathroom. However, the staff at the reception is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurent F
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Laurent F, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our special decorated hotel. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. PLease book on our own website to get the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from 3 night in Amsterdam at The Hotel Exchange over Easter weekend. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough the location 5 mins from station and 2 mins from shops, bars and restaurants, the staff on reception are so helpful and amenable for organising sugar, kettle and umbrella for us. The hotel itself is beatific and quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aggiebash2014
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Aggiebash2014, thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to read you had a great Easter weekend in our hotel. We love your kind words about our staff, comfortable beds and cleanliness. We hope to see you again, to get the best rates, please book via our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Usually, I choose big luxurious hotels or small but cozy boutique ones. Several weeks ago I found The Exchange hotel on Instagram and was attracted by their king size bed in a 5-stars room. I’ve called them immediately and booked that beige room with the coziest bed ever. Onе of thе bеѕt іѕ thе Hоtеl Thе Exchange which іѕ ѕіtuаtеd...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darya Y
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Darya Y, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 5 Star room with the two great balconies. Please note that we do not have room service, but you can have your favorite coffee and panini's at Café Stock of bring them to your room. Hairdryers are to be...

Paranaque, Philippines
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Great location if you would be using the train a lot. Rooms are clean, reception was very nice and helpful at all times. I suggest though, to get a higher floor, as my room was at the 2nd floor with street view. At dawn, there would be the street cleaners emptying trash ins, drunk people outside the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KEFM1123
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear KEFM1123, thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to read our staff was very friendly and helpfull. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Please book via our own website for the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

838 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (533)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (244)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 366 in Amsterdam
1,003 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 366 in Amsterdam
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
520 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: RM591 - RM1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
3 months ago
Woking
10 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts
1 month ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend a 4 star and above.”
Heger32, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quiet and clean room! Room 302”
6reee, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“there are rooms that have black walls and ceiling, so if you are not into that, make sure to request a non-black room at the check-in”
332katerynak, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the economic rooms are on the smaller size.”
180wallyw, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“quirky little hotel, comfortable beds :)”
420leighannc, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$240* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$242
Hotels.comUS$240
CancelonUS$244
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates