We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam

Save
Share
Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam The Netherlands
7 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!GET EXTRA BENEFITS!
Expedia.com
US$275
View deal
Hotels.com
US$275
View deal
Vio.com
US$255
View deal
travelup.comUS$271
AnantaraUS$305
TravelocityUS$275
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2248)
360
Panoramas (33)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

#41 of 418 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Set in a historic building that dates back to 1855, Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam, formerly known as NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, is a landmark in Amsterdam. It is situated right on the main square and enjoys a privileged location overlooking the Royal Palace. Reach many of the city’s attractions on foot, such as the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and the Rijksmuseum. Amsterdam Central Station is only seven minutes away. Recently renovated, Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam has 402 spacious contemporary rooms. There are 8 family rooms, 35 apartments with canal views and 10 premium triple rooms. Each has individually controlled air-conditioning, Nespresso machines, rain-effect showers and ultra-comfortable mattresses. The height of luxury is the Royal Suite, spread over two floors. A delectable breakfast is served daily in the grand 19th century Winter Garden. A perfect setting for a wedding, the hotel has 16 meeting rooms for up to 1500 people. Opened in April 2016, Michelin starred The White Room is a true gastronomic delight where Jacob Jan Boerma heads the kitchen. Grand Café Krasnapolsky is ideal for business lunches, enjoying views of the Dam Square. To unwind, head to Bar The Tailor and enjoy a cocktail
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:GET EXTRA BENEFITS!

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
605Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
307Attractionswithin 0.5 km
4136Reviews257Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,657
  • 875
  • 351
  • 137
  • 118
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dina G wrote a review Yesterday
Israel5 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you great hotel team for making every effort for a great weekend . Centeralnlocatiom close to everything in city center. Cleaning of the room was great, breakfast was amazing. Thank you Donna Belnis for amazing service during breakfast. This was our 4th timw in Krasnapolsky and for sure we will come again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Fo0dLover wrote a review Aug 2021
Hong Kong, China6 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I had a High Tea with a friend and Leilor was super friendly. She gave us a wonderful experience from the moment we enter the restaurant. We enjoyed it very much. Thank you for the amazing day you gave us!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Dear Madam/Sir, Thank you for sharing your experience on this website. What an incredible compliment about our team from Grand Café Krasnapolsky and especially Leilor! I will make sure to share your kind words with the team. We always aim to create a special experience and your review attests to our efforts. The next time you will be in Amsterdam, we truly hope that you will stay with us again! With kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shop_boston wrote a review Yesterday
Boston, MA19 contributions45 helpful votes
It is not easy to find a hotel room for a family of 4 (2 teens) in Amsterdam. Normally we'd try to find an apartment to rent but wanted a place with AC with the heat wave this summer. We were in the Family Room Quadruple which was unexpectedly huge by European standards. The family room does face an alley but it was worth it to have all the extra space and not feel like we were living on top of our suitcases. Our teens appreciated having separate twin beds. Wifi was strong. The location is perfect, right in Dam Square. We walked to most sites and were minutes to the tram and closest subway. It was great being walking distance (even with our luggage) from Central Station (train to airport, regional trains for daytrips, Eurorail). There are many cafes, bars, restaurants nearby so we opted out of the breakfast buffet. There is a small grocery store a few steps away (Dirk van den Broek). We enjoyed lunch at the Grand Café Krasnapolsky and did end up going once to the buffet breakfast at the Winter Garden which is fantastic. The hostess was very friendly and didn't charge us for our youngest. Customer service is top notch. The hotel has an app for you to request more amenities (shampoo, tea, coffee etc). We can't wait to return and would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
maamoun m wrote a review Jan 2023
Cairo, Egypt375 contributions109 helpful votes
Well, my review to this hotel is a little late as I haven’t been active on TripAdvisor, I stayed there when it was still NH but I see the hotel hasn’t changed much since besides the running company which I’m sure is gonna do an even better job, anantra. This hotel is one of a kind the location is the best, going out everyday to face the dam and the royal palace. Walking distance to all the landmarks and shopping streets. The room are spacious with modern design and well equipped. Best thing about this hotel is their reception and public areas it has a very cool vibe!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Maamounm, First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on this website. What a delightful review! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and that we have been able to assist in making it special. Thank you for your kind words about the spacious room and We are really happy that you also enjoyed the neighborhood. Your enthusiasm is truly visible in them and I will be sure to share them with the team. The next time you will be in Amsterdam, we sincerely hope you will stay with us again. With kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah s wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Hotel is ideally located in central Amsterdam close to attractions etc. the hotel itself is large and beautiful fully decorated to a high standard. The guest rooms are small and not much area to move about. Also the bed was one of the worst beds me and my partner had slept on. We woke up throughout the night with body aches and pains. Also the pillows where extremely poor quality. Overall sleep is paramount and I think this really negatively impacted on our experience with little sleep and body aches it put a negative on our holiday. I don’t recommend this hotel if you like to get a quality nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ms. Sarah, We are grateful to receive the rating for your stay on this website. It is wonderful to read that you liked the hotel’s high standard decorations. However, we realize that we did not meet your expectations. We understand from your review that you did not feel comfortable with the bed and the beddings. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience with the sleeping in your room. We are sorry that your stay with us has left a negative impression on you. We do understand that this apology cannot change the experience you have had in our hotel anymore. However, we hope to hear from you and should you be willing to give us another chance, we will personally look after your reservation. With kind regards, Fatima Medina Agis – Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaurenAllery wrote a review Jan 2023
Strood, United Kingdom155 contributions38 helpful votes
We stayed here over New Year, returning after a previous stay in 2018. The hotel has since been revamped and it looks amazing, the rooms have a really high quality feel with beautiful bathrooms and lots of space. The location is unbeatable, right on Dam Square so everything is easy to access but very quiet for sleeping. A couple of notes: - the floors are hard and not carpeted. This means that you can hear EVERYTHING in the room above from someone pulling out the desk chair to people having a party until 3am (true story) - don’t expect a bath - the website says bath or shower and we emailed ahead to request a bath and asked at check in as we were staying for 9 nights which is a reasonably long stay for a city visit but were told it wasn’t possible - related to the point above, the customer service in advance was pretty poor. We emailed the address on the website and got a brief reply asking us to forward on our reply to a different department (why can the internal colleagues not forward on to each other!) and so we sent it on and got a reply back halfway through our stay. On check in they had no record of our request and were unable to accommodate whcih was disappointing. We often stay for 1-2 weeks in Amsterdam in other hotels and have found them to be much more accommodating with guests who have longer bookings, this wasn’t our experience here We’d definitely stay again, the location is amazing and the hotel was clean and good quality. If the above notes were addressed it would get that extra star from me.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check in early isn’t possible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Dear Ms. Allery, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. Our guests’ feedback and impressions are very important to us because we see it as means to improve our services every day. It is great to see that you were happy with your spacious and renovated room. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the noises you experienced in your room, and the lack of bath tub. Unfortunately, it is always due to availability. With regards to the message and emails, sometimes the request must be done via the related department in the system, therefore, it might take a bit of time. However, I hope you accept our sincerest apologies about the delay. Nevertheless, we are also grateful for the improvement points and I will be certain to share this with the right departments. To read that you would want to visit us again is a fantastic complement to our efforts. It is wonderful that you were happy with the cleanliness and the service quality. Furthermore, on behalf of the entire team, I would like to say that we would be honoured to welcome you back again in the near future. With kind regards, Fatima Medina Agis – Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerald H wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom38 contributions14 helpful votes
Lovely Hotel , great location for the various bars restaurant’s , night life and museums. Staff very efficient we had a problem with the room but this was resolved quickly and satisfactorily. It was one of our parties birthday and we ordered champagne which was delivered with a lovely personalised cake . Rooms were large , sadly no bath and shower pressure was ok but not amazing .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We went first week of January and many restaurants and museums were closed . The hotel concierge...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. GeraldH859, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam. We are grateful for your kind words about the staff. I am glad that we were able to resolve the issue quickly. Moreover, it is wonderful that you were happy with your spacious room. It would be an honor to welcome you back again the future. With kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne G wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky at the beginning of December and I must say everything was perfect. The staff were brilliant, the breakfast was outstanding. I can't fault this hotel at all. It is central to everything......fantastic. We have stayed here many times and will do so again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear U243ZRIynneg, What a delightful review to read! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about staying at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam. The team and I are pleased to read that you appreciated your time in our hotel and in Amsterdam. I see that you enjoyed the sightseeing and I wanted to recommend stopping by our Concierge Team during your next stay. How wonderful that you enjoyed the breakfast as well. To read that you would want to visit us again is a fantastic compliment to our efforts. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SolskjaerZA wrote a review Jan 2023
Durban230 contributions148 helpful votes
I recently spent 3 nights at the Anantara Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam with my family. The hotel is situated adjacent to Dam square, which provides you easy access to all the main attractions of Amsterdam. Upon arrival at the hotel, i was surprised to see no bell boys outside. We had to carry our own luggage to our rooms. The Family Room i booked was comfortable for my family, however, there were a few minor problems. Throughout our stay, our toilet kept on getting clogged. There seems to be a design flaw with the toilets as this problem recurred on a daily basis. The Family Rooms face a side alley with a view of a warehouse, so if you get a Regular room, be sure to ask for one that’s facing Dam Square. The Breakfast Room is breathtaking and the service provided there was excellent. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. I would definitely recommend the Anantara for anyone looking for a well located hotel in Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get a room facing Dam square.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arne Heuwekemeijer, General Manager at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear SolskjaerZA, Thank you for sharing your experience at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam with us on this website. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed the breakfast and its service. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the luggage service. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the nearby future. Kind regards, Arne Heuwekemeijer – Hotel Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tinto2015 wrote a review Dec 2022
Almada, Portugal1 contribution1 helpful vote
This afternoon after shopping for a tea and coffee to the grand cafe, waiter took our order, one cafe latte and one black English tea with some cold milk on the side. Not so difficult i should say, waitress brought the order and instead of a cafe latte she brought a latte machiato, no problem i thought by myself a will not complain. The tea was brought without the requested cold milk on the side and when my wife started to make the tea it was not black but rooibos tea. Called the waiter to inform him about the mistake and he took the tea with him and brought a new one, tea bag was now inside the pot and after she waited a few minutes she poured it in the cup and it did not look like black English tea at all, weak laike water. Decided to leaf and ask for the bill and yes it said, one latte machiato and one rooibos tea, both things we did not order, euro 10.50 please, never again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$323 - US$525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nh hotels amsterdam, nh hotel amsterdam, nh grand hotel krasnapolsky
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOld Center / Dam Square & Damstraat / Red Light District (De Wallen) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
402
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ANANTARA GRAND HOTEL KRASNAPOLSKY AMSTERDAM: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,647 Photos (The Netherlands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include House of Rituals (0.5 km), Brews & Tales Amsterdam Craft Beer Tour (0.5 km), and Museumphoto (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Martine of Martine's Table, and Gartine.
Does Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam have airport transportation?
Yes, Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Anantara Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.