We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NH Amsterdam Caransa

NH HotelsUS$189*
View Deal
#120 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

926 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 528: English reviews
Start your review of NH Amsterdam Caransa
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights here, spending our vacation and to listen to "Chris De Burgh" concert. It was the King's day 27th April we arrived the hotel. I would not recommend anyone to travel on the "koningsdag". There are no public transport or taxi available to the hotel except the "metro and train" services. Thank God for that. However...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madamveggie
Bristol, England
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have just returned from Amsterdam. We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Hotel staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Hairdryer and kettle were available in the room. There was a mini bar with drinks and snacks should you want to purchase any. Room was hot, I don't think there was any air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacob1901
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Jacob1901, Wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your short stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is indeed located in a central area with many activities right around the corner. The rooms are equipped with a cooling system maybe you missed this indeed enjoying the city in the meanwhile. We do hope to be able to welcome you again when...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at the hotel in the first week of May and had an ok stay there. Nice and clean room, but without an aircondition. Excellent location with lots of restaurants, bars and shops just outside of the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajdin R
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Ajdin R, Thank you for your time and effort to share your experience with us. we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and found our rooms nice and clean. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused if the rooms were a bit warmer due to the weather conditions. Hope to welcome you back in the near...

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before I start my review of this hotel, I would like to pinpoint that I have stayed at the NH Caransa at least 3 times before in the the past 7 years prior to being a expat in the Netherlands for 3 years (until 2015). We have recently stayed at the NH Caransa for 6 nights between April 14 &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rabih193
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Rabih193, First of all I would like to thank you for your time and effort to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay in NH Caransa. Your feedback is truly appreciated as it helps us to continuously improve ourselfs. It is disappointing to read that as a regular customer with trust in our service and product we...

Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 7 days and was impossible sleeping with noisy. No good guest service in hotel. But staff is very helpful when we asked to change the room. The cleaning wasn't the most thorough in terms of dust. Bad pillows. Over priced for quality of room.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 549jekaterinas
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear 549jekaterinas, Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at NH Caransa. We are sorry we were not able to arrange a fully carefree stay. Your comments concerning the cleanliness are shared with the departments involved. Our apologies for this inconvenience. We hope you will give us a second change and a room far from the noise can...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay here awhile ago and we were retiuring to Amsterdam and had wonderful memories of this hotel. So why not book again We were greated by a friendly young, clerk to be told the type of room we requested was not available and the elevator was broken, and would not be fixed for a week)my husband can't use stairs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stacp18
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Stacp18, Thank you for your time in sharing your experience. We are very sorry to be informed that your stay was not as expected from us. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding the elevator. We can imagine this makes it less comfortable. We do hope maybe you can give us a an other change to be able...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is quite small but lovely and clean . The reception staff are all very helpful and friendly. We were a bit unlucky with our stay - the lift wasnt working for the 4 days we were there, we had to use the service lift! Then the water went off due to a burst pipe in the cellars but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patp0well
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear PatpOwell, Thank you for your time to share your comments with us. Indeed a couple of inconveniences during your stay. Our sincere apologies for this. We are happy to read though that our staff was very helpful and friendly and ofcourse the fact that you enjoyed our city and your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately, I cannot give this hotel more than three stars. When we arrived earlier than check in the front desk staff said we could have a room that was available but that the room did not have a view. We told her we would be happy to wait. She then said that the hotel was full anyway and we should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilliegammy
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Lilliegammy, First of all, we would like to thank you for your review about your recent stay at NH Caransa. It is disappointing to read that during your visit we did not manage to meet all your expectations, our sincere apologies for this. Your feedback is truly appreciated as it helps us to continuously improve the service we strive...

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O3228KFchrisw
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

This staff is very pleasant and responsive. I stayed in this hotel with my 4 year old. The room was small (if you pay more you can probably get something slightly larger) and the bathroom is even smaller. I had a stroller and it was tough to get it out through the space leading to our front door. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessa S
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Tessa S, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in NH Caransa. We apologise for any inconvenience regarding the elevator being out of order. Indeed we do have rooms that a slightly larger, hopefully we can offer you these when you would return to our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best...

402 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (132)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Room with Terrace (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#66 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,883 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#243 of 365 in Amsterdam
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 365 in Amsterdam
782 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: RM751 - RM1,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Amsterdam Caransa staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from NH Amsterdam Caransa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room with the balcony is fantastic, the balcony is probably the best part about the hotel.”
Rabih193, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Not sure ours was suppose to be a "good room"”
stacp18, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 6th floor (top) which was quiet but view was sideways onto roof not pretty”
Sarah12342013, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior Room with a View!”
-cpb1x, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you're a light sleeper, although you're then close to the lifts (damned either way)”
Bostin1967, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
NH Hotels
US$189* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$366
Orbitz.comUS$189
Expedia.comUS$189
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates