We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Booking.comUS$256*
View Deal
#90 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,550: English reviews
Start your review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I love Marriott! Whenever I travel first I will try to find a Marriott in the area. The hotel has the best beds (pillows and mattresses) the hotel is clean with a great service. The location is excellent, it's a walking distance from all the attractions and it is very close to the central station. This is my second time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liat M
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a room with a view of the street. It is a good hotel with a very good breakfast. The hotel staff was very good. It is close to Anne Frank house. You should ask the concierge about visting the attractions, if you have not made arrangment. Website should be redesigned with email contacts, if you have some questions...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chm57
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location was somewhat disappointing because buried in an area cluttered with tourist traps (restaurants, souvenir shops galore, head shops, flashy retailers, etc.) and tourists. Convenient to the red light district, not so much to the museum and theater district. That said, the hotel itself is fine for business or brief vacation visit. Rooms are pleasant, well furnished (if a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A2Dave
RenaissanceTeam, Front Office Supervisor at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A2Dave, Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to learn that you found our location to be a bit disappointing. We are happy that you liked our rooms, the level of service and our Scossa restaurant! Your compliments will be shared with the teams! We do hope to welcome you again, and should your travels ever bring...

Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed here many times and have never had a poor experience. In the morning, the restaurant and executive lounge can become quite crowded if a tour group or pre-cruise group is staying at the hotel. I am impressed that they manage to keep their lobby area consistently spotless. They do offer e-newspapers for free to guests, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Passwest
Norway
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Already by the entrancedoor we were met by å very frriendly and helpfull staffmember, and so it just went on. Our room was good equipped and clean and the beds were really comfortable. It was an interesting little walk to our room through the building, where several hauses are connected. Unfortunately we did not find the time to see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian250
Boonville, Indiana
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The members of the staff of the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel were wonderful. The facility is nice and clean. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of breakfast options. A short walk gets you to the train station, a wide variety of restaurants, and museums. Our room was nice with the usual amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmetz47
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jmetz47, We appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor and thank you for your compliments which we will share with our teams. We hope to may welcome you back in the near future and we remain, with best regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were staying here during a conference that took place in the hotel's meeting rooms, both downstairs and across the street. We ordered breakfast each day down in the hotel restaurant, and it was just as well that we did, since I looked around at the prices of breakfasts in the city and getting breakfast for about 10 euros per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancyuen
Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

breakfast is very rich. you can also have your breakfast in the bar area which is more quiet and have hidden corners. Gym is well equipped. you get clean towels and you have wet face towels for refreshing. the location is not bad but it is not in the center. it is 10 minutes walk from Dam square. Staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kobi F
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a Marriott property located in the Centrum area within walking distance of the tram & many sights. The staff is courteous and responsive. A lumpy mattress was replaced promptly. The rooms were clean & comfortable. Wireless is free in the lobby area, & in the room if you're a Marriott Rewards member. I would certainly stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray K
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ray K, Thank you for your wonderful rating and comments on this website. We look forward to serving you again whenever you return to Amsterdam. With best regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

USA
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Near the train station (5-6 minute walk). Albert Hein grocery store two streets away (less than 2 minutes). Quiet. Internet free only in lobby. Beds comfortable. For those used to a top, flat sheet they don't provide those. Only a duvet. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheProf06
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheProf06, thank you for your recent stay with us and your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and I remain, with kind regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

866 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (812)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (180)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (358)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 365 in Amsterdam
2,752 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,359 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 365 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: RM925 - RM2,408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question
Buffalo, New York
over a year ago
11 months ago

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good location, close to train station and piers.”
Chm57, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 6th floor rooms with low overheads at one side.”
Passwest, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“The interior rooms are likelier to be quieter, but the exterior rooms have views to the street.”
Nancyuen, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room not on the opposite side. the corridor is long...”
kobif728, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Interior rooms lack street view but are quiet.”
AmericanKot, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$256* /night
View Deal
ElvolineUS$282
Renaissance HotelsUS$256
Hotels.comUS$256
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates