We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$163
View deal
Hotels.com
Destinia.com
US$152
View deal
Expedia.comUS$174
Priceline
Lol.travelUS$175
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (359)
360
Panoramas (2)
Room & Suite (202)

About

#174 of 418 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Nova Hotel Amsterdam is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Amsterdam, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

While staying at Nova Hotel Amsterdam, visitors can check out Hagelswag (0.2 mi) and Dam Square (0.2 mi), some of Amsterdam's top attractions.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Nova Hotel Amsterdam features 24 hour front desk, 24 hour check-in, and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts breakfast.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the wine bars, including SkyLounge, Cafe De Klepel, and Bubbles & Wines Winebar and Champagne Bar, all of which are a short distance from Nova Hotel Amsterdam.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular architectural buildings, such as Centraal Station, Portuguese Synagogue, and Royal Palace Amsterdam.

Enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
451Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
289Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1339Reviews49Q+A99Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 351
  • 642
  • 230
  • 65
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lee wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom637 contributions109 helpful votes
+1
Recently stayed at a hotel in the city center of Amsterdam and it was a complete disaster. While the location was convenient, the rest of the experience was far from enjoyable. To start, the floor was not clean and when I entered my room, there were wet patches on the carpet. The fridge made a constant noise and the walls were so thin that I could easily hear conversations from my neighbors. The bedsheets had a bad smell and did not seem clean. In addition, the hotel required me to leave my room key at the reception desk whenever I left the hotel, citing safety reasons. However, the room keys are actually cards and it was hard to understand how leaving them at the desk could possibly enhance safety. There have also been reports from other guests that their belongings went missing during their stay, see old reviews. When I arrived at the hotel at 1pm to drop off my luggage, I was told that I would have to wait until 2pm to check in. I returned at 3:40pm and was told that my room was not yet ready and that I would have to wait another 25 minutes. The hotel offered me a free breakfast as compensation, but after everything that had happened, I had no desire to eat there. Furthermore, the overall condition of the hotel was poor and did not live up to the standards of a 3-star hotel. I could have found a similar level of accommodation for a lower price or spent a little more to stay at a globally recognized hotel chain with included breakfast. To top it all off, when I checked in, the receptionist insisted that I pay an extra city tax, despite the fact that I had already paid for my stay in advance through a well-known travel website. When I showed her the price summary that included the tax, she claimed that I had not paid and it was unclear what had happened between the hotel's booking system and the website. In conclusion, I would highly suggest avoiding this hotel. The reception service was unprofessional and the environment was dirty and noisy. It was not worth the time or energy to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: choose the option that the fee can totally refund
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Dawn L wrote a review Dec 2022
Alberta, Canada55 contributions34 helpful votes
Great location! Right off the tram line. Parents and 2 adult kids had enough space in our room. Lots of hot water. Nothing fancy, clean and quiet, pleasant helpful staff. Could use a refresh, stairs are steep and it has a tiny elevator. Lots of nearby restaurants and shops. Would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barbara C wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We were so pleased with this hotel. It is walking distance from the Central Train Station. The front desk staff were so friendly, and immediately got us more towels and pillows when we asked. Breakfast was included, and it was delicious and a fabulous variety - I had 2 cups of cappuccino one day, and 3 the next! Our room was spacious - I was traveling with 2 of my daughters and one of their friends, and we had a "quad" room with 4 very comfortable twin beds. The bathroom was large by European standards and the room was immaculately clean and smelled fresh. We didn't even take the tram -- we just walked to our hotel from wherever we were, but the tram stop was right out front. Walking distance from the Anne Frank House, too. We felt very safe and loved the convenience. Would definitely stay here again next time we are fortunate enough to visit Amsterdam!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
angelina u wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Came to Amsterdam with a friend that never visited the city before This hotel is in a fantastic location . A bit outdated sure but considering where it is , the price and the lack of noise you get when staying in the red light district, makes it perfect. Breakfast is good value for money with plenty of choice Staff is extremely friendly and I big thank you to Louise , one of the receptionist, she made our stay extra special Keep smiling 😀
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Dear Zialelli, thank you for your kind words and very positive review. I have forwarded it to Louise! P.S. The red light district is located in another part of town. The lack of noise outside is due to the nice park that has been installed just recently. We are really happy with that. Hope to see you again some time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
familygirl681 wrote a review Oct 2022
Standish, United Kingdom7 contributions8 helpful votes
Just got back from a 4 night stay at Nova Hotel. Room was spacious for myself and my 16 year old daughter. TV with a few English channels and a full size fridge were a bonus. Yes, the corridors and the furnishings looked a little tired but the room was perfectly clean. We booked breakfast on arrival and found plenty of choice in a pleasantly decorated breakfast room. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location really couldn't be better. Being situated just off the main streets meant it was quiet but it's minutes away from the shopping areas and the attractive canal district. We bought a 3 day public transport ticket which is worthwhile. The tram stops almost right outside the hotel and even though Centraal Station is only a 15 minute walk away, catching the tram saves battling through crowds of people and bikes. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Some review! Thank you so much and it is great to read our hotel offered a good location for your trip to Amsterdam. Please share with others and come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne T wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom17 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights in late September . The staff were pleasant and helpful , it was in a good location eg 2 tram stops from Central Station and quiet at night . The room had a modern bathroom , good towels , a big bed - no wardrobe just a rack with hangers , which gave more room , an efficient fridge . We were on the 2nd floor , up steep stairs if you didn't fancy the small lift . Would stay again .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear Beryl, thank you for your nice review. The tram stops nearly in front of the hotel making it very convenient from Central Station but also going to the Museum District f.i. Since we are located in authentic Amsterdam buildings you will indeed encounter some steep stairs if you do not use the elevator. It is keeping us fit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
137nigel1965 wrote a review Oct 2022
Horsham, United Kingdom66 contributions66 helpful votes
We stayed here for a long weekend exploring the city. The hotel is in a great location just minutes from Dam square but just far enough away to be quieter at night. I believe the hotel has around 60 rooms and was originally 4 properties which have been knocked through to create the space, it certainly doesn’t look that big from outside which makes it feel quite intimate. The reception staff that we encountered throughout our weekend were all lovely and very helpful and friendly, we did not book breakfast, preferring to get this out and about in the city. Our room was a comfort room but was big enough for our needs and had a comfy bed and clean spacious bathroom area. My only gripe is that there was no tea/ coffee making facility in the room, but this was available on the ground floor, although carrying this up the steep staircases to the third floor was interesting. I also felt that the carpeted areas on the floors between the rooms could benefit from a good clean as they looked well lived in and stained. All in all a great place to stay in the city and we would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to this great city.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, request a room on a low floor as the lift only carries 3 people...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your nice review and it is good to see you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rupinder Kaur wrote a review Sep 2022
Edmonton, Canada156 contributions39 helpful votes
It’s a great location, walking distance to many restaurants and historic sites (ex. Anne Frank house), also close proximity to metro station. However, it is not a very stroller friendly hotel for babies. The room on main floor are small and not well ventilated. For the price we paid, we didn’t pay for a comfortable stay but just good location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid if stairs would be an issue (baby strollers/disability) Not well ventilated
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are indeed not wheelchair nor stroller friendly since our hotel consists of historic buildings. With keeping the authentic atmosphere of Amsterdam canal houses we are also keeping many small flights of stairs throughout the building. We are sorry you did not enjoy a comfortable stay but we do hope you had a nice time in Amsterdam.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark G wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions
Thank you for a fabulous stay hotel superb location and all staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Angel for your singing too it cheered our day up. We will definitely stay again thank you for your kindness and making our holiday such a lovely one
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 7 Oct 2022
THank you for this lovely review. We will inform Angel about your nice words! Hope to see you again some day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
debo wrote a review Sep 2022
Lagos, Nigeria2 contributions
great location, simple rooms, friendly staff, breakfast was nice, staff were always ready to assist. great location to experience the shops and other night activities. would definitely recommend for short stays.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: located in a busy area, but close to the shops. No ac in the rooms if it is a requirement for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Dear Deboaa, thank you for your kind review and I will notify our staff of their friendly assistance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amsterdam nova hotel, nova hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVA HOTEL AMSTERDAM (R̶M̶ ̶6̶3̶9̶) RM 541: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 470 Photos (The Netherlands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include House of Rituals (0.3 km), Museumphoto (0.3 km), and Dam Square (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Gartine, and Bar The Tailor.
Does Nova Hotel Amsterdam have airport transportation?
Yes, Nova Hotel Amsterdam offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Nova Hotel Amsterdam located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (1.9 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.1 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (0.8 km).
Is Nova Hotel Amsterdam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.