We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avenue Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,007: English reviews
Start your review of Avenue Hotel
 Click to rate
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only good thing is location of this hotel and that's all. It doesn't looks like 3-stars hotel. The front desk staff wasn't professional, the service was very poor. If I arrived to the hotel the administrator didn't find my reservation. I understand that sometimes happens things but attitude of the staff was totally wrong (they don't smile, they were not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank marx877
County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located beside central station and has links all over the city. Beautiful breakfast and large room. Great price. The trams are available just down from teh hotel adn tehre is plenty of restaurants locally.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _miriamck
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miriamck, Thank you for taking your time to write such a excellent review. Great to hear that the location was suitable for you, we hope you were able to visit different places in Amsterdam city. Our breakfast team prepares everything by heart in the morning, they are overjoyed to hear that you had a great time during breakfast. We...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the 4th time my husband has stayed at this hotel - we have stayed previously together but this he stayed alone. We contemplated prior to booking trying somewhere else but thought we would go with them as we knew it was easy to find etc when jet lagged. Unfortunately this was the worst visit of them all. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bdmv
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very surprised to read about your experience. It saddens us that we cannot make your stay more enjoyable at the moment we are writing this reply. Do contact us for any complaints or preferences, as we will always look for the most suitable solution. Our sincere apologies that we cannot...

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Did a couple days in Amsterdam as a layover from Middle East. Avenue Hotel was clean, quiet and had great breakfast. The hotel staff was great and the location was good. There was noise in hallway at night and outside due to party people. Room was very very small and some folks forgot about the smoking prohibition....Hall was full of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rungreencoyote
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the great review! We are overjoyed to read that you had a great stay in Avenue Hotel. Especially the mention of our helpful staff was very motivating! Do contact us for any issues regarding noise or smoke and we will make sure to resolve it within ten minutes! We hope we may welcome you again...

Chania Town, Greece
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had for second time in few months , accomodation for 2 days . Yes , rooms looks good , very close to center and good enough breakfast , but .....but the workers need vacation immediately !!! A hotel is not just the room , the bathroom and the breakfast ....The owners need to understant that mostly its the people...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stavros P
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Stavros, Thank you for sharing your experience. Your frustation is very understandable, our sincere apologies that you were not recognized during your second stay at Avenue Hotel. It saddens us that we cannot make your stay more enjoyable at the moment we are writing this reply. We do work with a very strict credit card policy which on...

Israel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location!!!! 2 minutes to red light district! Very nice staff. The room we got was clean and comfortable with street view. Breakfast is good but not varied- Anyway it was !!!beyond expectation. Thank you Hotel Avenue for a great vacation

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ina G
AvenueHotelAMS, Reception at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ina g, Thank you for the fantastic review. We are really happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel. Next time when you visit Amsterdam again feel free to contact us. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. Once again Thank you!! With kind regards, The Avenue Team

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Since I had never been to Amsterdam and wasn't familiar with the city, I decided to book a central hotel and let myself explore. The hotel is centrally located and going about the city is never a problem. It is within walking distance from the Central Station, tram lines right outside the door, shops and restaurant easily accessible via a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oceansky27
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience! We are extremely happy to hear that everything met your expectations ! As always, send us an email whenever you want to visit us again. We will always hold our door open for you. Looking forward for your next trip! With kind regards, Team Avenue

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't rate this hotel high enough. The rooms were very clean, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely and thw location is great for central Amsterdam. If ur looking for a budget hotel near all the central spots of Amsterdam look no further, if we were retuning to Amsterdam we would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl H
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl, Thank you for sharing your experience by writing an amazing and honest review. We are glad to hear that our service met your expectations and especially the mention of our helpful staffs ! Once again, thank you for the kind and motivational review. We are looking forward for your return as we have enjoyed your company very much!...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. Free WiFi, breakfast is above average , clean rooms. It is conveniently located near Central Station and across the street from the tram. You can rent a bicycle at desk and get tickets for attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BBQPhil
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thank you for staying with us once again, we enjoyed your company very much ! The review is very kind and honest, thank you for the lovely ratings. Looking forward to welcome you in the future ! Kind regards, Team Avenue

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the second time and were dissapointed a little this time. The hotel is under going a renovation of rooms, which is fine and understandable but we were not informed prior, this meant that two days out of our 4 day stay the water was turned of between 12 and 4pm. Also the work was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank l g
AvenueHotelAMS, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your honest review. It saddens us to hear that your second stay was not as great as the first one. We are really sorry that the room was not good enough for you. The problem with rooms are that we can't change it because the building is monumental. And on behalf of the Avenue team...

623 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (425)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Twin and Double Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,138 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#153 of 362 in Amsterdam
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
854 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: RM626 - RM1,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avenue Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room looked onto the main street and noise was not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles _miriamck, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room was on the street so traffic could be heard”
 of 5 bubbles Richard698, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room off the main street”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a window!”
 of 5 bubbles shannica, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room away from the lift well at the end of a corridor to minimise the noise of people coming and going.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelcL3985ZD, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5