We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Show Prices
#68 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sint Nicolaas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 607: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Great location near train station , decent breakfast, laid back coffee shop across the street. We got a bad first impression from the really dirty room at check in. Once cleaned we were ok. Expensive!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fardus A
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We are so sorry we have ruined your first impression regarding the cleanliness of the room, but we were happy to have solved the problem for you on spot. We always encourage our guests to advise us of any issues or complaints during their stay with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Hotel had a great location - close to all the main parts of Amsterdam. The front desk were very helpful, especially regarding putting our luggage in their storeroom on the day of departure. The breakfast was very continental and could have done with some hot food such as scrambled eggs. Stayed in a 3 person room. Beds were fine and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KVNLon
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We are surprised to see you missed scrambled eggs, because that is something we do have every other day, together with small pancakes. But maybe you just missed that during your stay, because we have changed the breakfast last month. Come...

Mount Waverley, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I arrived at Hotel Sint Nicholaas about 9am after disembarking from a river cruise, feeling quite unwell. Explained my situation to Reception and settled down for a 3/4 hour wait until my room was ready. To my surprise-and relief -my room was available within an hour! I last stayed here in 2012 -and nothing much has changed. Rooms clean ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jangeoff
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you very much for your nice review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. How great to read that you have been staying with us regularly. We appreciate your feedback about the minor things during your stay, and we shall take action on that where we can. Untill next time!...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 18 July 2015

All around excellent. The Hop on Hop off bus picked up just across the street. Comfortable lobby. Great breakfast. Comfortable bed. Very close to the train station and canal tours. Staff was helpful and freely offered tourist tips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa B
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Teresa, Thank you so much for your amazing review of the hotel. We are happy to have assisted you wherever we could and that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We do hope to see you again next time! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I fully reccomend Sint Nicolaas Hotel. Its close to the center of the city with all the most important places nearby. They serve nice breakfast in a pleasant atmosphere and if you are searching for rooms with comfy beds this is what you are looking for. We had a really relaxing weekend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4mati
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your 5 star rating and kind review. We are so happy that we made your weekend relaxed and cosy. Please come back any time! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Very nearly gets a 5 star, but lack of air con and the presence of some fairly loud fans brings this down to a 4. That said, the room was large, clean and tastefully decorated- a personal favourite were the faux antique chairs in an onyx colour that perfectly complemented the more modern wall coverings. The TV was large, perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndersJay
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear mr Jay, Thank you so much for your kind and wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you. We realize it can get hot during the summer, and that having air conditioning is a lot more comfortable. However, it is not that easy as it sounds to install air cos in every room, but we are working on...

Memphis
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Great location. Only a 5 minutes walk from Central Station. Cozy bed. 4th floor room had A/C thank goodness, as it was unseasonably warm when we there in July. Hotel also had an elevator which was a plus.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian B
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to see you have enjoyed your stay here, and that you were lucky enough to have one of the few rooms that do have air-conditioning, it must have been very comfortable, during the unusual heatwave we had that week. We hope to see you again next time! Kind...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2015

My single room was small but adequate. You can walk to many cafes, restaurants, and great shopping and other events from this hotel. Breakfast supplied was basic and fresh. I stayed during a heat wave and imy room was warm due to no air conditioning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kim905
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you for writing this kind review about the hotel! We are happy to see that you rated us 4 stars, even though you have mentioned some issues with the room and not having air conditioning, we realize that would be more comfortable, but it is not that easy when it comes to placing air conditioning units in...

Carlsbad, New Mexico
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Located less than five minutes from the station, this hotel was extremely convenient and close to everything. Breakfast was great, only missing hot food to make it perfect. Rooms are small but adequate for two people who are traveling most of the day. We spent little time inside except to sleep. Although their parking is the cheapest I. Amsterdam (...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom welborn T
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We are also glad to inform you that we actually did get hot food options, like scrambled eggs and small pancakes at breakfast this week, unfortunately you have just missed that! But for next time your stay would be perfect! Hope...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We had a great time in Amsterdam thanks to sint nicolas hotel which is right in the center of the city, a walking distance from the central train station and trem's. The room was lovley, clean, with big bed and big shower and also a coffe machine and freeee (!) wifii. The breakfest was good and the staff we're always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerenfay
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs Kerenfay, What a great review, thank you! Good to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and the staff could help you out with your questions. We hope we may welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren

425 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
971 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
3,040 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
3,120 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: RM855 - RM1,324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sint Nicolaas staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sint Nicolaas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on third floor and had no problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Karen44M, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tram lines both sides of hotel, so higher up rooms, top floor can be a bit smaller than others”
 of 5 bubbles 0francist, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Maybe avoid the facade facing the tram lines.”
 of 5 bubbles NickH1956, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Excellent location and value for the money. Small but cute rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AldeaColon, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise”
 of 5 bubbles 210uriw, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5