We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Rembrandt

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Rembrandt
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Rembrandt
 Click to rate
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff and cosy hotel though the rooms are a lot smaller than they look in the photographs. But still OK. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast room is stunning. And at 10 euros extra the breakfast is good but not great. Great choice of coffee and available all day and night. Good location not far from everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

(This review is from 2015) I loved this hotel!! I stayed there for 4 days in 2015 but only getting round to reviewing now! This hotel was in a great location, great walking distance to everything. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and spacious. Our room catered for 3 people and we were in the loft, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
Ireland
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I stayed here with 2 other mates when visiting Amsterdam. Hotel for us was in a good location, about 5-10 min walk to Dam Square. Staff in the hotel were friendly. It's not exactly the most modern hotel and not sure if I would stay here with my fiancee but nevertheless still a nice hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antoine Antoś C
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The hotel is in a great location, not right in the hustle and bustle of the city but well within walking distance (and right on a tram line for anyone who prefers not to walk). The staff were very friendly and gave us some great information about the local area and how to get around. They're also on reception 24...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess S
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

I had a 3 night stay in Hotel Rembrandt which I had deliberately chosen because it's located within easy walking distance to the conference venue that I was attending and the tram stops almost outside the door. The hotel is quite small but cozy and while my room was tiny even by Dutch standards, it was very comfortable and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RJCN8
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I have stayed at this hotel several times. I did stray and stayed in another location twice, never again! This hotel is in the PERFECT location, you are smack dab half way between Damn Square and Leidse Square, that is where all the action is at night. This hotel has clean rooms, great friendly service and all around home feeling,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 37valeriek
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. It's great to read you enjoy your stays with us, I'll be sure to pass your kind words to the rest of our staff. Hoping to welcome you soon again. Kind regards, Lynn Hotel Rembrandt

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My partner and I found this to be a lovely hotel our room was great with lots of space, the decor throughout the hotel is clean and modern with a blend of classic. The lady who owns the hotel is very polite and helpful as where all the staff we met that worked there, nothing was too much trouble for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John S
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your great review. We will be sure to pass your kind words to the rest of the staff and we hope to welcome you both in Amsterdam another time! Kind regards, Lynn

Reviewed 5 September 2016

All started 2 days before our booking. One of our guests had been hit by a car and we wanted to try and cancel and get a more central location. We contacted booking.com who then contacted the property who said that they could cancel for half the amount of the booking which we didn't want to do. But the property...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stuartaaa
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We feel sorry you experienced your stay like this, especially since none of you mentioned anything during your stay with us, only to ask for a refund after you've checked out. Next time when you're staying somewhere and you're not satisfied with anything please let the staff know so they can assist you...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We had a family room for three at € 200,00 a night. It seemed quite convenient compared to the online offers for hotels in Amsterdam. The hotel is very close to the center. It is served by tram, but we always walked. It does not have a garage. There is a public one near the science museum at 10 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Giovanna R
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We hope we can welcome you again some time. Kind regards, Lynn Hotel Rembrandt

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 July 2016

OK I'm going to come out straight away and tell you what sucks about this place... ... there is no elevator. You have to walk up all three levels and if you are on the top floor and have a heavy bag it pretty much sucks. Fairly sure I could have asked the dude at the check in to do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason M
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The stairs can be a bit tricky all the way up:) However we're very glad you've enjoyed your stay! Next time please don't hesitate to let one of us help you with your luggage. We hope to welcome you again! Kind regards, Lynn

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#236 of 361 in Amsterdam
97 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#188 of 361 in Amsterdam
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#268 of 361 in Amsterdam
442 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#235 of 361 in Amsterdam
423 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: RM610 - RM1,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Rembrandt staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Carlsbad, California
4 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rembrandt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room is the roof was great for 3 people! Lots of space and felt like a loft apartment more than a hotel room!”
 of 5 bubbles AmyR742, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the trams. The stairs are very steep.”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Canal side”
 of 5 bubbles 37valeriek, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lifts and narrow stiars which is common in houses of this style.”
 of 5 bubbles 348dickd, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid all not worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles Stuartaaa, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5