We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is inside the Red Light Disctrict itself, but it seems a world apart. It is a Christian hostel (when checking-in people let you know they are Christian Volunteers and you realise that afterbeing in the hostel for a while) but if you have no problems with that, it is ideal! Walking dinstance to everywhere in the city center,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ritamelo26
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived around 10 p.m. and hostel was full of people. Every body was talking to eachother even though they knew eachother just a few days. Stuff is very nice and helpfull. You can ask them about the city; what to do and what to see. If you have some kind of problem they will help you in a second.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nina V
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Nina, Thank you for your review. It is so great to read your impression about the hostel. We are most encouraged by your insights. THANK YOU! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This religious hostel has the best localization in Amsterdam in my opinion. The Red Light District is just on the corner. The breakfast is good, and they serve really cheap and good lunch and dinner every day. The bathrooms are clean, but has little space on the shower. The rooms are clean and spaceful, but the lockersare outside the room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felipe F
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Felipe, It was great to have you stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Shelter City was the prime, inexpensive choice for my quick visit to Amsterdam. It is located in a beautiful safe central area, steps away from the canals, great restaurants and tourist attractions. My friend and I stayed on the attic floor in a private room, which was a bit of a steep climb up narrow staircases with suitcases in tow,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julianna W
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Julianna, Thanks for the review. So true what you say about steep and narrow staircases. Dutch are so much known for their unique (and most inconvenient) staircases! We feel you! Please, come back soon! More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

It's a very comfortable hostel. I'm not religious and they didn't try to push any sort of papers or ideals. Ya, alcohol and drugs aren't allowed but who cares. In fact in made for a really good place to get a good night's rest. The breakfast was okay, the showers were nice and warm, the staff are friendly, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marikka B
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Marikka, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We thought that our breakfast is superb... Anyways, we will do our best to move from 'okay' to 'superb'! Let us know when you will be coming back. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Firstly, I didn't know it was a Christian hostel so read descriptions people! I had such a wonderful time here. Their 16-bedrom dorms were cleaned daily as well as all the facilities. The hostel is run by volunteers who are super friendly and helpful. There's cafe where you can have free brekky and a lovely courtyard where you can relax.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piper H
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience. We trust that you had an equally great experience of A'dam! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for five days, in a 15 person womens only room which was clean and quite spacious. The only problem with the room was there were no curtains on the top half of the windows so sunlight woke us up (maybe bring sleeping masks), although this did mean we never missed the free breakfast! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank pr0fessi0nal_0pini0n
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We were a bit surprised to find the words 'Christian Hostel' when we arrived, but apart from a few prayer readings and Bible study sessions that can be avoided really, it was just a normal hostel. Which I found slightly funny considering the fact it shares a street with some of the red light district. The location is fantastic, about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie K
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, Thank you for your kind and very thorough review. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This hostel is very different to any other hostel, I booked here because that's where my friends had booked, not knowing it was a Christian hostel. In that sense it was okay, we were offered bibles and the opportunity to join prayer circles but it isn't compulsory or forced. Is actually quite a good get away from the smell of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Considering the amount of drugs and alcohol their strict policy gave it a very safe feel. The staff were extremely friendly and up for s chat. Free wifi! Great location, and it's actually a Christian hostel so you can go to bible class if you really needed to repent for your sins.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your review. This is indeed what we aspire to be - a small island of tranquility in a very busy city. Glad you experienced it. More 

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 221 in Amsterdam
1,152 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#9 of 221 in Amsterdam
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 221 in Amsterdam
316 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#38 of 221 in Amsterdam
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: RM137 - RM360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You have to bring towels and keys for the locker...”
 of 5 bubbles lucerop22, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT choose a dorm, instead go for a private ensuite. Maybe then you'll enjoy your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 897allisonk, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors many stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 671dianne, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“the room that I was really good and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 618fabianab, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't exaggerate, take a smaller dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles T6742OPalexm, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay