We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City

Save
Share
Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
US$61
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$61
Priceline
TravelocityUS$62
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (721)
Room & Suite (192)
Dining (56)

About

#183 of 417 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Booking is subject to availability. Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. Additional rules applying for minors traveling without parent/guardian. Please check terms and conditions of the hotel when traveling with underage person or on your own when under 18 years old.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Shared kitchen
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Billiards
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more

Location

Full view
61Somewhat walkable
Grade: 61 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2572Reviews166Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 875
  • 1,087
  • 380
  • 104
  • 126
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
hollietess wrote a review Apr 2021
liverpool11 contributions29 helpful votes
Booked to go last year at start of the pandemic of course had to be cancelled and told at the time we could rebook. We have just gone to rebook this year only to be told that we've lost the money and no scope to rebook ...I attempted to get our money back last year as I'm disabled and the trip was carefully planned but took some comfort that we could re book ...sent several emails and tried to call with no joy absolutely discussing customer service from a major hotel chain they don't care ..I will not leave this and will tell anyone who will listen and won't let it lie and intend to seek legal advice... but my advice to anyone wanting to book in this current uncertain times DONT IF ALL GOES WRONG YOU WILL LOOSE YOUR MONEY AND NOONE HAS THE DECENCY TO RESPOND FROM THIS HOTEL ....Absolutely robbed of our money
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER Hotels, Owner at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 8 Apr 2021
Dear Hollietess, First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our service.We would like to reply to you in a more personal manner, considering your individual case. Please contact our colleagues at welcome@meininger-hotels.com using the subject line "feedback" providing your reservation number, and we will be happy to get back to you. We hope to hear from you soon, and best regards, Your MEININGER Team
Read more
Abuchanan89 wrote a review Nov 2020
York, United Kingdom5 contributions9 helpful votes
Unfortunately, I have to leave a poor review after my experience with dealing with this hotel chain. We had booked a 4 night stay in a room of 6 from Thursday 12th November 2020 until Monday 16th November 2020. We have previously stayed at the hotel in October 2019 and were familiar with the chain in general, after staying at the Amstel hotel in January 2019 and the East Side Gallery hotel in Berlin last month (October 2020). We booked this hotel due to the accessible room facilities. One of our party uses a wheelchair. Therefore, it is not possible for us to stay in one of the hotels nearer to the city centre as they often have narrow stairs and are without a lift facility. This limits our choice in terms of hotels. We are travelling from the UK and as of Tuesday 13th October 2020, the Dutch government required that any arrivals from the UK were required to self isolate for 10 days, even when in receipt of a negative coronavirus test. Furthermore, on 31 October 2020, the UK government announced a 4 week national lockdown from 5 November to 2 Decmber 2020, with overseas travel being not permitted. We had made the booking some time ago when no travel restrictions were in place. We contacted the airline who were happy to make provisions for us to rearrange our flights and made the process very simple and easy. However, when contacting the hotel to attempt to rearrange the hotel to a later date next year, we were initially informed that this could be done for a 50 Euro admin fee. Yet the hotel then changed their position and stated that they would not rearrange the booking despite the fact that we had already rearranged our flights. We have contacted the hotel on multiple occasions to say that we were not looking to cancel our booking but to simply rearrange the dates to a later date when coronavirus restrictions for UK travellers were relaxed. However, it could not be explained why the possibility of changing the dates had been withdrawn and we were directed to contact the intermediary with whom we made the booking through (Hotels.com), even though we explained that had (as anticipated) stated we needed to deal with the hotel directly. The Hotels.com terms and conditions specifically state that if the hotel destination is inaccessible then a full refund or voucher will be issued (photo 1). The UK foreign office advice specifically states that travel during the national lockdown is not permitted (photo 2). Therefore, the hotel destination is inaccessible and we are entitled to a full refund or travel voucher. In light of the global pandemic and issues with travel restrictions, we are extremely disappointed with the conduct of the hotel. Having been a previous guest of the hotel, we are very surprised by the lack of co-operation and understanding that travel restrictions can disrupt a stay at short notice. This is particularly surprising given that our initial request was not to cancel the booking or request a refund in anyway, but to simply push back our stay to a later date, of course paying an additional fee for a higher rate and the admin fee. Furthermore, given that we require accessible facilities for a member of our party, it is disappointing that having found a hotel that we knew had said facilities. Unfortunately, now we will have to search for an alternate hotel when returning to Amsterdam in the future which can accommodate us. As the options in the centre are limited this may be further in distance from the centre and there is no guarantee that it will be suitable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER Hotels, Owner at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our service. Your booking could not be canceled free of charge because it was booked as “non-refundable”, when the pandemic was already well known, you have accepted the risk by doing so. To stay fully flexible, we recommend you book the FLEX option next time you plan to stay with us. It provides you with a maximum of flexibility and, in most cases, a free cancellation option until 6:00 p.m. on the day of arrival. We hope to welcoming you soon. Best regards, Your MEININGER team
Read more
Bo_sg wrote a review Nov 2020
Singapore, Singapore36 contributions47 helpful votes
Rooms are small, but perfect for travelers who will only sleep there :) Lobby bar is good and there is another bar just opposite the hotel. Trains and bus station 3 mins walk so perfect transport wise. there is a direct train from the airport as well. Alternatively (if arriving late at night) there is a bus you can take with 1 change at the central interchange station.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER Hotels, Owner at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 21 Nov 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are glad to hear that you felt satisfied during your stay with us, being able to enjoy our lobby bar and taking profit of the good connections to reach Amsterdam City Centre. Looking forward to welcome you on another opportunity, kind regards, your MEININGER Amsterdam City West team
Read more
Jon B wrote a review May 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed on the 13-15 March 2020. Rooms are ok as is location, but whatever you do, DO NOT give your card as security for damages to the room. I was charged 100 Euros and still haven't been refunded, almost 8 weeks later. I've chased head office and the hotel a dozen times and still no where. Disgraceful customer service over what is a simple thing to do.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 3 Feb 2021
Dear guest, we are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our service. We would like to reply to you in a more personal manner, considering your individual case. Please contact our colleagues at welcome@meininger-hotels.com using the subject line “feedback” providing your reservation number, and we will be happy to get back to you. Kind regards, MEININGER team
Read more
Pricillia Winda S wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I planned to stay at the hotel on april 8th-14th. Due to the pandemic I have cancelled my reservation on march 14th. Confirmation regarding the free cancelation has been received from the hotel as well. But on april 2nd i was charged on my credit card. I emailed on april 5th and was replied that refund is requested to related department. But up till april 18th I have not received my refund. I don't have any idea whether the refund is actually being processed or not. The hotel is no way to be contacted either through phone or mail and website. To management please don't simply ignore non cancellation or modification email. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 3 Feb 2021
Dear Guest, we are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our service. We would like to reply to you in a more personal manner, considering your individual case. Please contact our colleagues at welcome@meininger-hotels.com using the subject line “feedback” providing your reservation number, and we will be happy to get back to you. Kind regards, MEININGER team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamTeleport / Amsterdam New West / Bedrijventerrein Sloterdijk / Geuzenveld-Slotermeer / Sloterdijk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
219
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City
Which popular attractions are close to Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Nearby attractions include The VR Room (0.3 km) and Holland Casino Amsterdam West-Sloterdijk (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grandcafé Hermes, Global Dining – Holland Casino, and Wissenkerke.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (3.5 km), Concertgebouw (4.7 km), and Portuguese Synagogue (5.2 km).
Is Meininger Hotel Amsterdam West City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.