We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Hotels.comUS$120*
View Deal
#117 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$123*
US$120*
US$123*
US$123*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 839: English reviews
Charlotte
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very low key style, the rooms are small but clean. I have taken students here three years and they all loved the place. Breakfast can be included and is Dutch style. You have to pay extra for towels. We felt safe here and it's near the Amsterdam sloterdijk train station just outside the city center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan_FCharlotte
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Regular Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's always nice to recieve positive feedback so we know what our guests enjoy. We are happy that you have taken advantage of both our facilities and location. Hopefully we we see you again for another visit next time you're in Amsterdam. All the best -Hotel Meininger, Amsterdam

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very pleasent , comfortable and woerthwhile. (rooms are clean , and welocoming. location are greate (just 2 min. from the train station breakfast is greate (adding 7.90 euro) gtrate for families. the stuff is 24/7 ans gives greate service. very reccommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asafr_11
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave such nice comments, its always nice to hear we did a good job! We hope to see you at Meininger again soon, -Team Meininger Amsterdam

Kent
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Really good hostel, booked last minute for a trip to Amsterdam, its a little out of the way but only 2 stops/10 minutes on the train to central Amsterdam, the rooms are bright/clean/cheap which is just want you want from a hostel, the staff are friend, the onsite bar is very good with great staff again, Would stay next time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank territt_uk
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for taking a moment to leave us your feedback and for your great review! It certainly sounds like you made the most of your stay with us and in the city as well. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future, here or in another of our meininger Hotels around europe. Meininger Team

Kayseri, Turkey
Reviewed 19 March 2017

It's not at the hearth of Amsterdam but near to the Sloterdijk Station, which is very easy to reach from Schiphol and Amsterdam Central. Hotel seems like a students place. There are lots of young people around. Rooms are not large enough but, has enough comfort. Staff are friendly. It's a nice place to a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asiliskender
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for sharing the experience of your stay. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly, and that you found the room comfortable. We hope that you had a great time in Amsterdam and hope you enjoyed the youthful amosphere. It would be lovely...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Good points ; Location to train price clean. Bad points , two of our group had money stolen from different rooms one was £70 !! No safes so keep your money with you.The money was even hidden deep inside his case. When staff were informed they were very dismissive, it did leave a sour taste !! The rooms are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markrogersr
MEININGERHotels, Senior Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very sorry that such an incident happened during your stay with us and would like to offer our sincere apologies. Guest’s security and safety is of utmost importance at our hotel and is therefore also being monitored via our extensive CCTV network throughout the hotel. We’d like to assure you that matters like this are taken...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night and picked it because it was the right price. Pros: Clean, right next to Sloterdijk Station, just a 10 min ride into city center Cons: Very tiny room, full of college kids/ teens. It was OK for a young couple like us, but I wouldn't recommend for families or mature travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberly A
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to read that you were pleased with our prime location and our level of cleanliness. Our staff are disappointed that you were unable to enjoy our friendly atmosphere with so many young guests running about. We certainly understand that when you choose MEININGER –...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Place was really good! The breakfast area was also a really pleasant place to eat and relax. The staff were friendly and happy to help. Travel cards were available from the hotel which was very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Close to all the public transports too making the location good too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amina o
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We strive every day to give the best service, so feedback such as this is ever so rewarding for us! We hope you had a great time in Amsterdam and it would be our pleasure to...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we did have a problem with one of the room as it had a vile drains smell however going to back to reception they changed it straight away. Our next room was spotless, clean and comfortable. Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the train station which is then a 5 minute journey into Amsterdam itself. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah M
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and for leaving such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read how much your enjoyed your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to share your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon. Meinnger Team

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 11 March 2017

it´s not in the center, but all hotel in the center are expensive to me. This one was 10 minutes from the center using the train, and another 10 minutes to the airport. The hotel is made for young people, good wifi, cleand rooms, (don´t pay for their breakfast, no hot items) Overall we were quite pleased, is right next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tarigax
MEININGERHotels, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to see you soon! All the best, Meininger staff Amsterdam.

Jakarta
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I was here with my other 2 friends. Just for a quick 2 nights stay before we continued our travel to other countries So, the hotel's location is near with the station, which is a very good point if you plan to go to other places or countryside as well. one thing, is that we had to took some flight...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eva T
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you took advantage of our facilities and location. We hope to see you again sometime for your next trip across Europe. All the best, -Hotel Meininger, Amsterdam

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (479)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
881 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,148 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,642 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: RM323 - RM1,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room on the first few floors so that you can just take the stairs. The elevators are very slow.”
Mezugorou, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go to -- Urban Lodge -- 2 minutes walking distance !”
Toto1462, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would say that if you book a room on a low floor you will have better luck with the WiFi.”
catferland, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose rooms from the 3rd floor and above. very quiet and peaceful”
linican, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Single room is very very small bed would say is only 2.6ft”
lisamills31, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$123
Hotwire.comUS$120
TripAdvisorUS$120
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates