We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Granada, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyntia B
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived the staff could hardly speak English, they was rude considering I was staying all weekend I am not a person to write reviews like this but this was my 21st birthday weekend which I am not happy about it has put me off going to Amsterdam for ever there was used soap in the bathroom used towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anton B
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear Anton, Firstly we would like to thank you for your stay with us, we offer you our sincerest apologies for the fact that we haven't been able to meet your expectations. We would like to get in direct contact with you to hear your complaints about the hotel! Can you please contact us? Thank you very much. Warm regards,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Bastion Hotel for a weekend with my boyfriend. It took us a while to find at first, however we soon figured out we were reading the directions wrong! You literally turn left out of Overamstel train station, keep walking straight, cross the main road, go under the bridge then it's on your right. Look for the Big white...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Kathryn, how nice to see that you have visited Amsterdam together, do you like Amsterdam? We are pleased to read that the staff has made your stay even better, they are lovely! :-) We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, Bastion Hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located in Amstel a 15 mins train ride from Centraal. I stayed only for a night and found the hotel a value for money. The bathroom could have been designed better, you have to really wedge yourself to sit on the pot. Apart from that everything was great, nice comfortable beds, hot water, et al.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel for your stay in Amsterdam. We are very happy to see that you have loved your stay with us and looking forward welcoming you again! Warm regards, Bastion Hotels

Warszawa, Poland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A fair deal with this hotel, not too expensive, not too fancy for the money you're paying for. Advantages: clean rooms, good wi-fi working in all hotel area, good breakfast. Disadvantages: bathroom require refurbishing and investment, elevators are old and odd, one day we get stuck in one, good that nothing worse happened and in the last no side walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zorex
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Bastion Hotels for your stay in Amsterdam. We are so sorry for you being stuck in the elevator, we are so happy to see that you where okay!

Ludenscheid, Germany
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It's a little bit loud because of the train tracks.The shower should be a little more thoroughly cleaned. As a plus was the water kettle, the free parkying and the safe deposit box in room (in our case it did't worked). With the nearbuy metro station ,in 5 minutes you're in Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adelnina
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you Adelnina for your stay with us and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that you give us comments on what we can improve. We are looking forward welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, Bastion Hotels

London
Reviewed 1 November 2016

After reading some reviews, we were a bit sceptical about staying here. it's not local to dam square but there's a train station about 10mins walk from the hotel. we paid 12 euros for a train ticket which lasted 3 days, We used that to get to and from central station and back to where out hotel was. Central station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanne E
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Thank you Deanne for taking your time to write us such a great review! We are very pleased to see that we have met your expectations and we are looking forward welcoming you again! Warm regards, Bastion Hotels

Haarlem
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Good hotel, decent rates and free parking. They managed to get me booked in early in the morning, which was very convenient. Very professional staff, clean room and breakfast was good for the price. No issues whatsoever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank torev87
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

That is great to hear torev87, thank you very much for choosing Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel for your stay in Amsterdam. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that they have managed to provide you an early check-in, this is very convenient indeed! Hope to welcome you again in the future! Warm regards,...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The hotel is located above a train station and all the rooms on that side are noisy. This is a tourist trap - we were asked to pay for upgrade in order to move to quietter rooms. The whole affair was unpleasant and disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larissa E
Winchester
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I have stayed several times at this hotel. They have good sized, well maintained rooms. Their public areas are a good size and clutter free. The hotel has a nice feel to it. The hotel never feels over crowded. The hotel is well served by public transport and they have a good size car park. The staff are excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K632BHandrewp

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
6.9 km away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#199 of 362 in Amsterdam
356 reviews
6.3 km away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
9.6 km away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#206 of 362 in Amsterdam
288 reviews
6.0 km away
West Side Inn Hotel
West Side Inn Hotel
#284 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,729 reviews
5.2 km away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#205 of 362 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, air conditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. It's close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and on weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Address: Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: RM327 - RM952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms were perfect and very clean. The beds were super comfortable especially after walking all day it was very nice to relax. ”
 of 5 bubbles 768cyntiab, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“standard double room,twins beds”
 of 5 bubbles Adelnina, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensure prior to booking that the rooms will be on the quiet side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No hair dryer.Sleep quality average due to banging security door defect.Otherwise excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles hfmbell, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Never accept room in the older part of hotel (on the righthand side of reception).”
 of 5 bubbles d329021, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay