We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel De Koopermoolen

Booking.comUS$161*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$168*
US$161*
US$168*
US$168*
US$161*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 319: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel De Koopermoolen
 Click to rate
Kolkata
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. I traveled Amsterdam from Paris by Thalys train and got down at Amsterdam Central Station. This hotel is very close to Amsterdam Central Station. To reach this hotel from Central Station walk towards the Victoria Hotel, cross the bridge on left hand side, walk into the alley, on the right hand side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArghyaKolkata
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

At first it was a little hard to find because they must have been remodeling the front but I'm glad we did. The room was very homey and inviting. Three mattress did have a uncomfortable lump right in the middle of me and my boyfriend but other than that it was a pleasant stay. The staff is super friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennafaa E
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel located around 5 min walking distance from central station. We checked in mid night and checked in process was simple and speedy. This hotel has a small lift it can carry only one person with a luggage. Rooms are small and basic. But those are clean. We heard the noise from the road throughout the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eranga S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This is our second visit to Koopermoolen Hotel and I must say we would not be staying here again. We stayed at the apartment for 6 people and it was a disaster the WIFI does NOT work what so ever they did not provide a kettle and the shower rod is broken so the pressure of the water changes so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jaiikay
Reviewed 9 April 2017

This was my 3rd visit at the Koopermoolen and will surly visit again, its a good value for money hotel right in the center of Amsterdam's red light district, quite clean,breakfast is good but above all the staff at the reception are very nice and helpfull. I suggest a small budget to paint the walls in the room and get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Serg R
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

First visit to the Capital and enjoyed it very much. Basic no frills hotel and stayed on b&b basis. Does need a bit or a tidy decor wise but was comfy. Good location for museums and canal tours just on our doorstep. We walked everywhere and were out from 10am til late each night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fleurpower
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Great location for fun in Amsterdam. Quality price reasonable comparing with other places with same category. If you are not looking for luxury and you just want to have a good night sleep and a shower this is the right place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sorrisos82
Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We visit Amsterdam at least twice a year,and have stayed in MANY hotels.Unfortunately the Koopermoolen isn't high up on the return list. First,though,it does what it should do,there's a decent comfortable bed,there's a decent continental breakfast. So.Bed and Breakfast as promised. Wifi.There's even a working lift! However.the room we were in (2142)had only one window to the outside world,and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here on more than 1 occasions,in the rooms and in the apartment they offer. Always never had a problem with this place. The staff was great,location was ideal and you get to smoke in the room,private showers and a tv in the room. The continental breakfast was good. Can't really complain for the price. Will always recommend if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAI_KHIN
Laura R, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Koopermoolen, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you had a good time. However we would like to clarify for future guests that we allow normal tobacco only to be smoked. We do not allow cannabis to be smoked in the rooms as this has a very pungent smell and can be unpleasant for our other...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Very tired hotel and in need of some TLC but the staff were very friendly and you were allowed to smoke in the rooms, ideal for smokers on a budget. Good location also, few hundred meters from central station. Free wifi, 24hr reception and continental breakfast was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purpleobi
Laura R, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Koopermoolen, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you had a good time. However we would like to clarify for future guests that we allow normal tobacco only to be smoked. We do not allow cannabis to be smoked in the rooms as this has a very pungent smell and can be unpleasant for our other guests....

249 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Triple Room (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (29)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#278 of 365 in Amsterdam
124 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 365 in Amsterdam
421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#185 of 365 in Amsterdam
603 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#176 of 365 in Amsterdam
261 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#298 of 365 in Amsterdam
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: RM487 - RM1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel De Koopermoolen staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
new jersey

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel De Koopermoolen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to be chosen near elevator”
ArghyaKolkata, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“Good location but that's about it.”
jaiikay, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“close enough to the red light district, without being in it. down one of the restaurant streets. No real view.”
Leannexx21, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“dirty toilet and clogged washstand.”
EastKate, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms nice at the heart of amsterdam”
bruffness, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$161* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$168
TripAdvisorUS$161
Orbitz.comUS$168
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates