We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Traveller (216)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (19)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
195Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
50Attractionswithin 0.5 km
423Reviews
258Photos
5Q+A
76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 155
  • 112
  • 52
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The website promises a very nice view but as soon as we entered the room we were disappointed. See photo. Squeeky, poorly layed floor that annoys to no end, Don’t book 114. Awful cheap beds that in the end did my back in. They also made cuddling up completely impossible.
Read more
Such a disappointment! Here's a list: (1) Superior rooms are far from such (basic everything, very uncomfortable beds, dust - no good if you have an allergy!): (2) Dirty - cigarette ends litter the entrance and rear enclosed courtyard - the latter used by staff on a break late
Read more
No understanding of customer service whatsoever, complete lack of hospitality and organizing. I went for a breakfeast at Texaco gasoline station, as i value my life.=) it was honestly a complete joke and im pretty sure you will find this hotel on some Tv "horror hotel from hell"
Read more
We were a family of 9 and had booked 3 rooms ( 1 apartment and 2 studios). The location of the hotel is great in the heart of Haarlem with plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby (all cuisines including Indian). Supermarket Chain Albert Heijn is just 5 min walk but the railway
Read more
Response from Traveler779537, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2019
Dear Dhaval_83, Thank you for the broad explanation of our location. We are so sorry to hear that you have been treated badly by our staff. You might have noticed that we are in the middle of an upgrade from a 3 star to a 4 star hotel. We're not there yet, but me make improvements everyday. This is also why we want to thank you for your honest review because we want to improve everything! Unfortunately we can't fix everything at one. We hope that in the future you'll give us the chance to amaze you and give you the treatment you deserve. With the kindest regards and the hope for your understanding. Rosemary & Team Ambassador
Read more
The Ambassador City Hotel is lovely. It is well located and offers everything you need for a one night stay. I think there are better value-for-money options in the area, but if you're enjoying a night in the lovely town of Haarlem and are looking for something convenient, this
Read more
Response from Traveler779537, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2019
Dear KiaraWorth, Thank you for your honest review, we are in the middle of upgrading our complete property. We have just finished our bar/restaurant The Governor and the hotel is next up! We hope you come and see the results in the future! With kind regards, Rosemary & Team Ambassador
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
View from bedroom window showing close proximity os St Bavo's
"Double bed" actually 2 twin beds pushed together.
my room kettle
my room window look over the courtyard
PreviousNext
12345616
Are the rooms air conditioned?
Yes they are
0 votes
Show all answers
No that is not correct; apartments with kitchen and laundry facilities are for apartment guests - We did not stay in one of their apartments so we did not have access to their laundry facilities. We are backpackers and we wash our clothes in the shower and they dry overnight in the closet :-).
0 votes
I don't think so. This hotel appears to cater only to tourists.
0 votes
Show all answers
You can park your push bike outside the door, it is Holland, you can park it anywhere, the land of bike's, in Dutch.... Fiets. We didn't have breakfast in the Hotel, so don't know price but plenty of places nearby. For dinner,,, come out of hotel, turn right, then right again, Italian restaurant on right, Picolinos. Very good and very reasonable. Short walk to train station. Short ride to Amsterdam. Everybody speaks English, they even understand Ausies!!! Enjoy...
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes a really old slow jerky one with no inside doors....................
0 votes
Show all answers
"Stay away..."
"Don't book - not value for money."
"Are there good rooms?"
"Rooms looking to the inner courtyard are quiet"
"Make sure you tell them to make your room everyday!"
PreviousNext
12345616
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ambassador city centre haarlemhotel ambassador city centre
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceHaarlemCentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
265
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing