We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Gent Expo
 Click to rate
Paal, Belgium
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were here for just 1 evening, and all in all the hotel met our expectations. The room was large and equipped with AC and a mini fridge, also a TV with a small selection of channels. The hotel hosts a cosy bar and a large restaurant, plus free wifi which actually works! The aesthetics of the room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joren L
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The electricity cut out at 9.30 pm, I was told they are working on it, it's now nearly midnight and everything is dark. No apologies, no offer of a torch or light for the room. No chance to charge phone or iPad so I just have to hope power comes back soon or I will be completely cut off from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cloggyandfroggy
High Wycombe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a convenient location on The Loop - Europe's worst designed access road system for Flanders Expo. Accessing the hotel from the motorway system requires a confusing 360 degree "loop", carefully watching for the small hotel signage. The terminal of Tram #1 which runs into town is only 200 yards away, and day tickets are only €6,00....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigvassie
J2798ABinfo, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Vassie, Thank you for taking your time and tell us about your stay with us. Your meaning as a spire elite member is highly appreciated, and we will definitely share your feedback with our management team and our F&B team as well! Our executive rooms are all inside rooms, if you are staying with us next time, you...

Driebergen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attending a fair in February we stayed in this hotel that is situated next to Flanders Expo. That makes it the perfect venue to stay for business. However, if you wish to visit the old, beautiful city center you are too far away. Better searching for a city center based hotel then. The breakfast and the rooms are good, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulvanB1968
genthotelier, Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your score and feedback. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and mention our staff friendliness which we are very proud of. On the other hand, I will address your feedback about the lack of staff during check-out to the management team for further follow up. We apologize for...

Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. It is ideally situated due to being beside the motorway (no noise) and only 300 meters from Line 1 metro into the city centre which takes 20 minutes. The staff are always professional and friendly and the accommodation very good (exec room). I have no hesitation in staying there on my next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizand30
genthotelier, Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Wauw, thank you for your 5-star score and wonderful feedback! It pleases us to read that you keep coming back to us and will continue to do so, we are very proud when reading your comments. See you soon! Kind regards, Birgit De Peuter Front Office

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shame about receptionists but apart from them, this place is well worth stopping over. The bar staff were friendly. The breakfast choices are great whatever you dietary needs. You do have to pay for parking and watch out for the local tax charge. I was expecting a charge but it was a lot more than quoted. Please note that you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricklewood
J2798ABinfo, Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Tricklewood, Thank you for your feedback and score. We are surprised and sorry to hear about your feedback about our reception staff which is very rare. We will address this of course to our Front Office Manager. On the other hand it pleases us to read your feedback about our bar staff and breakfast. Hopefully, we get to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This Holiday Inn is right next to the Gent Expo. If on a Saturday the fair is finished and the waiting time to check-in is almost 30 minutes, you can NOT use the fair as an excuse. You are next to it, deal with it and have extra staff ready when needed. Just like on the morning of check-out, when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond K
J2798ABinfo, Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Raymond K, Thank you for your feedback and score. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. It is not our intention to use a fair as an excuse for the long waiting time. However, I'm sure you understand that check-in times of guests are unpredictable as well as the unpredictability whether they all come in at once or separately....

London
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Staying with family. Room was small and included sofa bed. The sofa bed was not made. The pillows in the wardrobe were dirty. The room was outdated. The location is not near the city center. The tram takes 25 minutes. There is a lot of construction work happening which makes it confusing to find your way to the hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amarjit J
J2798ABinfo, Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Amarjit, Thank you for your feedback and score. We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences during your stay as well as our location was not compliant with your expectations. We will follow up with the necessary departments regarding the sofa bed and pillows. We offer camera and barrier secured parking to our guests which is why we...

McCaysville, Georgia
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We spent two nights here and it was just wonderful! Had room service for both evening meals and it was very good as was the service. The room was very nice and the front desk staff was even nicer. Would absolutely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David7478
genthotelier, Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear David, What can we say? Always listen to your doctor's orders! :) We thank you for your score and amazing feedback which makes us very proud. We are pleased that you have very much enjoyed your stay and would return to us. We can't wait to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Birgit De Peuter Front Office

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the years when attending events at the Expo, or as a convenient overnight stop. Yes, there's a lot of building work near the hotel which has caused a lot of ridiculous comments in other reviews. It's a big project, but it's getting better and the hotel's signs are fine if you follow them. Yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gsdsxm
genthotelier, Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for your score and feedback. We are sorry to read that not everything went as expected during your stay for which we sincerely apologize. I've just copied your entire feedback and sent it to our management for follow up regarding the breakfast, state of the parking and supplies. Regarding the parking rates, we perform...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
3.9 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.1 km away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
3.9 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
4.0 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: RM337 - RM603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Gent Expo staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gent Expo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing outwards will have more natural light”
 of 5 bubbles craigvassie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the backside of the hotel, to avoid noise from the mainroad that runs in front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulvanB1968, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upper floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles David7478, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 657neilhh, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Breakfasts are plentiful”
 of 5 bubbles helenandpaul13, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5