We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poortackere Monasterium Hotel

Save
Traveller (212)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (19)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good37%
  • Average23%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Poortackere Monasterium Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
28
64
40
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
28
64
40
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer monasteryunique atmosphereshared bathroombeautiful chapelatmospheric hotelwedding partycity centrean extra eurosshower and toiletlocation is idealloved this hotelenjoyed my stayhigh ceilingslarge roomstayed for one nightquiet streetorphanage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The photos are of our room. This was the third room that they offered us and we were told we should be paying extra because they up graded us. My son was staying in a hostel and it looked better. We were shown photos of...More

2  Thank Alison G
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay!! The location is ideal for the centre of Ghent and it a really beautiful place. We had a twin room and it was massive. The shower is excellent! The bar was lovely and quiet and a great place for...More

Thank Victoria W
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I liked the idea of this hotel as it was unusual as it's a monastery. We booked at the last minute for a nice weekday two day break and we're disappointed when we were given a room in the annexe - rector. It was very...More

Thank Anna F
Management response:Responded 8 January 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the room was not to your liking... It does not really help you if I tell you that we will renovate that particular wing, as well. As for the 15£ (18€) we have...More

Reviewed 6 December 2016

We stayed at this hotel for one night with a 4 year old and a baby and loved it! The location is ideal, and even provides onsite parking (though it is an extra 15 euros). The hotel is huge and despite this, we felt like...More

Thank cherry_streets
Management response:Responded 8 January 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you had such a wonderful time in Ghent (and our hotel). As for your remarks about the renovations: indeed, a couple of months ago we have started them. Gradually we will renovate...More

Reviewed 23 November 2016

If all you want is a quiet, comfortable room near the centre of Ghent, then look no further. Also very good wi-fi coverage in rooms. However, if you are treating the wife then look elsewhere. Rooms and fittings are extremely tired and in need of...More

Thank KMLondon22
Management response:Responded 8 January 2017

Dear Guest, thanks ever so much for your review! It is an honest opinion, which is very true. We offer a unique atmosphere yet you will not find the 'red carpet' here. The breakfast may be on the expensive side, but it is also extensive...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ghent
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (212)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Danielle C
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from martinsiemons | Reviewed this property |
yes inside and cheaper then a parking garage
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Inner courtyard, not first floor was fine"
Read review
"I was under the roof - very interesting, only some windows could not be closed and the stair to the bedroom..."
Read review
"Go for a room on a higher floor and not opt for the cheapest rooms unless you are really on a budget."
Read review
"Rooms in the back or with (real) garden view seem to be a lot more quiet and have their own facilities."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing