We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leuven City Hostel

Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Leuven City Hostel
 Click to rate
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I spend one night in this Hostel, outside the big season. The location was amazingly in the center, close to the train station. I arrived in Louvain before the check-in time, but on their website it was mentioned you could leave you luggage before the check-in time. But at 15:00 I was standing in front of a closed door. So...

Thank P_Carelsz
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 7 October 2015

The positives: Excellent location, right in downtown and clean rooms. Nice to have the option of single showers in their own room. Facilities are great, kitchen is amazing! Very clean and living room/common area is very nice. The negatives: very funky late night check-in procedures. Wanted payment in advance for the whole stay if you check in after 8 p.m....

Thank BTVWriter
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Me and 4 friends came in to check in and we're welcomed in by a rude manager who had no interest in even trying to be helpfull or nice. Not even a smile or 'welcome' or 'hello'. After we found out something was wrong with our booking things turned for the worst. No help whatsoever. Made us feel like we...

4Thank PitMaypole
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 July 2015

It comes as no surprise to find more reviews that mention the owner of this place. me and my friends have never been treated so poorly. A man that said no hello, made no effort to help us, seemed to hate us from the moment we walked in. His tone was awful. When we mentioned this to him he immediately...

4Thank hendrikvs2015
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here from Mon through Fri for studyvisit. The room was small for 5 people, no room to place stuff on besides two chairs. Pillows were small and very soft. Windows couldn't be fully opened. Safety ladder next to the window that couldn't open all the way because of the bed. The bathroom was okay, but it could have been...

1Thank Sannesatijn
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Hostel seemed fine; you get what you pay for. Good location, free Wi-Fi, we were sold! First night we came back late having had a few drinks, as you do on holiday, and shortly after encountered an extremely angry Belgian man who I can only imagine is the 'horrible owner' everyone has wrote so much about. Without warning, anything, he...

6Thank Si C
LeuvenCityHostel, Manager at Leuven City Hostel, responded to this review

Here is our view on what happened that night. When we heard loud noise inside our hostel around 6am (shouting and singing, slamming doors...), we were woken up and took a look at what was going on. It turned out to be your group, together with others (no hostel guests) that you had brought in from the city. It goes...

Reviewed 28 March 2015 via mobile

It is a good place to stay, close to the city center, the service was ok, the breakfast is very poor just bread, butter and coffe or tea. The room was clean, the internet connection was very good, the toilets was smelling bad, the bathroom was good but the light timer sucks... the light always turn off during the shower...

Thank Noé M
Reviewed 27 January 2015

My stay of three nights in this hostel was good. The hostel is small and cozy, the common room is comfortable and the kitchen even though small, it's enough. The common showers and bathrooms are good and in a well kept condition. The worst side is probably the opening hours of the reception, check this out when planning your booking.

1Thank Potraco
Reviewed 25 October 2014

We stayed in City Hostel for one night in February 2014 and I can say it was one of the worst places I ever stayed before. There are not so many hotels in Leuven and we were choosing between City hostel and private apartments (it was the same price if you stay in the entire apartment alone or in double...

3Thank Yermolinski
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 September 2014

We stayed for one night in this hostel. The staff was very kind, we did not encounter a mean owner like many of the reviews state. The hostel is VERY clean and the electronic door system is very easy to use. The beds and rooms are fine, just the hallways echo and the bathroom doors make a lot of noise....

Thank Captain A

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Leuven City Hostel

Address: Ravenstraat 37, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Price Range: RM93 - RM239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Leuven City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Leuven City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Leuven City Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?