We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Die Swaene

Show Prices
#61 of 98 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very much enjoyed our stay for a weekend here with friends. The hotel is a little dated but it doesn't matter. The staff are friendly and helpful. They recommended a very good restaurant to us for dinner (De Brugis) which was very busy but they managed to get a table booked for us. The hotel is canalside and only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Sittingbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed in a number of hotels in Bruges and this is certainly the best. Lovely room overlooking canal. One of the best breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff. Sadly Levan has left but Anna is doing a grand job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My wife and I stayed for two nights whilst visiting beautiful Bruges. What a disappointment this hotel is. It is in need of investment and upgrading and does not anywhere match the quality of other hotels in Bruges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
Lagos, Portugal
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

6 of us booked this hotel 7 months ago on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there, albeit some years ago.When we arrived the road outside the hotel was totally blocked by cement mixers & a huge pump. It turns out the next door property is being rebuilt.So instead of staying in the main hotel, we were put in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey2010
Whittlebury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Located right by the canal, this lovely hotel has everything you would need for a short stay in Bruges. With friendly helpful staff, comfy rooms and nice breakfast, we will be returning again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albie T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Firstly: Greeting at reception was prompt. The smile genuine and the friendliness sincere. The hotel: really lovely. Old school but I thought the decor sumptuous but cosy, and full of personal touches everywhere. The layout of the building is interesting too and I wonder if this is a combination of buildings as the structural layout is not standard. The Room:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walt01s
Toronto
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Our family of three absolutely enjoyed our two night stay at the Hotel Die Swaene. We stayed in one of the canal view rooms with a king bed and roll-out single bed. The property is very traditional in its decor and services. The continental breakfast was outstanding, especially enjoyed the views of the canal as we ate. Having a car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachhouseowner
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This hotel has a very friendly staff and has a great location. It has however grown a little old in my opinion. If you like this older darker feel in hotels you will like Die Swaene. My taste is newer and brighter. I did enjoy the breakfast. Very tasty and nice selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tetonhawk
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a trip to Bruges. The location is excellent, near the main square but away from the main business! Our room wax lovely- very old world with furniture like seemed like it was antique. The room overlooked the canal which was a nice touch. The staff were brilliant- very attentive and we took advantage of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived as two couple, one of us pregnant. The first room smelled dead rat in the bathroom. That room was changed to a non smelling one. Still Ac not working. Dripping on the wall. The other couple got a really humid room with a smell as a disaster. Even after a day with open window the smell still persist....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baskien
Tine04, Eigenaar at Die Swaene, responded to this review

We feel sorry you did not enjoy your stay (we instantly gave you another room with an upgrade to junior suite as there was indeed an issue with the room you were first appointed : we believe paying €136/night and getting a room of +€300 is a nice gesture) We wisely suggested and requested, much to your surprise, to leave...

411 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
'Pergola' Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Single Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#13 of 98 in Bruges
543 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 98 in Bruges
1,436 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#26 of 98 in Bruges
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Die Swaene**** is a sanctuary overlooking one of the most picturesque canals, right at the very heart of the old historical city center and just a stone-throw away from the Market and Burg square. This prize-winning hotel is considered to be one of the most romantic and peaceful boutique hotels in Europe and is renown for its customer-friendliness and excellent service. Quite a unicum in this age of 'time is money' but here one still finds time to listen to the needs of the guest. Die Swaene**** has 24 elegantly furnished and individually decorated rooms and the public rooms have an atmosphere of times past. The authentic salon "Guild of Merchant Taylors" (1779) is classified heritage and a perfect place to relax by the fire-place after a day of exploring the beautiful city. Or do you prefer to take an aperitif in the cozy bar or have a plunge in the swimming pool with sauna? Its all possible in Die Swaene. At the opposite side of the canal one finds the "Pergola" wing with 8 Superior Deluxe rooms, each with fire-place in the room and view over the water. From Monday to Friday we offer a free guided tour with an English speaking guide. Die Swaene**** has everything to make your visit unforgettable ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Address: Steenhouwersdijk, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Price Range: RM635 - RM1,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#51 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Die Swaene staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Die Swaene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“45 very warm and comfortable and overlooks canal.”
 of 5 bubbles 368janeh, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If requesting a double bed - make sure they're not 2 singles pushed together.”
 of 5 bubbles walt01s, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask to stay in the rooms by the breakfast cafe with canal views”
 of 5 bubbles beachhouseowner, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Canal Views.”
  • View from our room.
 of 5 bubbles notme2017, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“the elevator is very tight, so choose a room on the first floor if you have large bags.”
 of 5 bubbles Goldendogs2, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay