We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Start your review of Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
 Click to rate
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 1 week ago

This pousada is a great, beautiful and quiet place to stay comfortably in Beja. This stunning building was very well adapted in a very comfortable hotel. Room are very well decorated, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is generous and with many options. Te pousada is very near Beja old quarter suggesting nice walks around the cobbled roads. The staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabelbrutt
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Isabel, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Pousada is in a 12 th Century Monastery in a very nice tom. Been in the heart 9 the Alentejo. The welcome is extraordinary, with the Staff really top class, and an excellent level of English. The hotel has enclosed parking. We were there on a Sunday night and there were only about six other guests in the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santiago M
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Santiago, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Stunning building, this old convent has been turned into a gorgeous and comfortable hotel, a few minutes away from the city center. Unfortunately the weather was not good enough to enjoy the nice swimming-pool in the garden. The breakfast room was gorgeous and the breakfast very good apart from one detail: the coffee was really terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelilans
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor

Oxted
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful building and gardens. Well decorated public areas. Very cosy warm bedrooms. Good sized bathroom. Excellent breakfast with many choices. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox0504
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our bedrooms breakfast and us staff. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit...

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

This place is pure class. The convent has been tastefully refurbished into a really good hotel. The rooms have all you need and the communal areas are nothing short of impressive. The food was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to return someday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky D
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Jacky, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor

Jersey
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October as part of a 10 night trip around. It is a special place lovely rooms and staff but hard to enjoy when there were so few people around when we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Alan, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

What more can you say about staying in a convent turned military base turned hotel. It is massive with cute cozy rooms but with large bathrooms you can't go wrong. The staff are so professional and friendly. I feel like a celebrity.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer A
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jennifer, Thank you so much for your comments about Pousada Convento de Beja. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, namely our location, and staff friendly. Is very important for all team, know that we have reached the client expectation, I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration...

Martley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

This pousada is located in a former convent near the centre of the City of Beja. This is probably the most beautiful building in the City, and the gardens, cloister, guest rooms and public spaces are of a very high standard. There is free and secure parking. The restaurant serves excellent food characteristic of the Alentejo Region. Most important of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuartcumella2016
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and restaurant services. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit...

west yorkshire
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A beutiful place with pleasant gardens & Pool good service a good restaurant serving a very good selection of hot & cold food at breakfast. The evening meal was also buffet, Soup was OK the cold food excellent & hot food good & very adequate quantity the desert's were interesting too. The room was spacious but a little dark owing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ovalball13
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The pousada is a former monastery beautifully restored. The reception rooms and corridors are atmospheric. Our bedroom was good and so quiet. Very different from normal town centre hotels. Food was a little disappointing although this may be due to mid week out of season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Andrew, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
19.8 km away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
0.2 km away
Residencial Bejense
1.5 km away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#5 of 9 in Beja
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Pousada Castelo Alvito
25.1 km away
Pousada de Sao Gens
Pousada de Sao Gens
#1 of 1 in Serpa
7 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Melius
Hotel Melius
#8 of 9 in Beja
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, is a hotel right in the centre of the city, in an old XIII century convent, the result of which is a majestic, impressionable architectural work, which represents religious and gothic architecture. The first registers of the convent date back to 10th November 1268, a date which marks the emergence of the S. Francisco Community in Beja under the initiative of the Captain General Lopo Esteves and the Councillors Diogo Fernandes and Vasco Martins. Opened in 1994, this historic luxury hotel in Beja has kept the original features of the old building, containing many spacious areas, high ceilings with predominating white walls and decor of local crafts and antiques, giving it a warm welcoming to visitors of the Pousada. In the old central nave, contemporary art expositions give life to the walls. The hallways, ample and stripped, connect the old monks' chambers which have been remodelled and transformed into welcoming bedrooms with an inviting view of the pool and garden. Nserted in the heart of Alentejo, the Pousada can help their guests plan a number of diverse activities including bicycle rides, horse treks and hikes. The Beja Castle is only 700 metres from the Pousada de Beja and the Queen Dona Leonor Museum is found a mere 300 metres away. The Pousada de Beja is a true oasis in the Alentejo plain. Come and relive these old memories, with almost 800 years of history, in a real haven in the Alentejo plain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Address: Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Price Range: RM317 - RM611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are very quiet and about the same size. Rooms with small number (201-205) are closer to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Isabelbrutt, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles stuartcumella2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our room overlooked the garden and pool area but has the opening times were controlled no issues with parties disturbing the tranquility”
 of 5 bubbles philleeds2015, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms on upper floors probably at the back best”
 of 5 bubbles terrym795, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms of the higher booking class are very big”
 of 5 bubbles Bjoern_from_Faido, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5