We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Show Prices
#12 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 588: English reviews
WGC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Large hotel, beautiful room even though at front. No problem with that as out most of the day on golf activities. Room had balcony looking out toward mountains in distance. There was a road but wasn't too bothered by traffic noise - got use to it. Back rooms look towards the gardens and course. Very pretty but as room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EEDWgc
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us, and we appreciate the fact that you took the time and trouble to give us a detailed feedback. You kindly left wonderful comments about the spacious and spotless room, the buffet breakfast at Sagres restaurant, where there was plenty of choice – something for everyone, freshly made omelets, the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Gathering of ex-pats last night to celebrate St Andrews Day. We had the most fabulous buffet style meal for all 3 courses and second helpings were allowed 😃. The public areas of the hotel are clean and spacious and the staff joined in the spirit of the evening. One even wore a kilt

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! It is most rewarding for us to read your review further to St. Andrews Ball, which was held at our Resort recently. The buffet, the hotel, the attitude of our staff were according to the spirit of the evening, and we can assure it is an honour for us to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My first time golfing in Portugal and with 11 other professionals on a Fam trip hosted by golf breaks. From the first moment we arrived until we left all of the staff at the resort were fantastic, a great golf course, very traditional hotel with an amazing dinner in the restaurant in the evening. A must visit if in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for this wonderful testimony of your first golfing experience in Portugal, at our Resort. As a golf professional with other Pros, your feedback is quite important for us, as you can imagine, and is a great help for those who may be pondering to reserve a golf trip to the Algarve. From the moment of arrival...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Penina hosts a classic championship golf course, one of the first built in the country, that still holds its own. The length and grasses challenge experienced players and capable novices alike with a straightforward design, including one of the best-rated Par 3 holes in the world, the 13th. The hotel and resort design harkens back to a half-century ago, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cenz S
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have read your review “So much potential”, and we thank you for leaving your comments related to your stay in July 2016. It was a pleasure to read your description of our Golf Course, and the great comments about hole 13, one of the best-rated Par 3 holes in the world. You left also a lovely description...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thing’s to note: Book Tee times well in advance 1 month plus, Ask for Room with Golf Course view Bring slippers for in the room Go to town for food, the food was nice here, but much much better and cheaper Things that was good: -Reception Staff hotel and golf course, Polite and friendly, and accommodating where possible -The Room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuartfaeshetland
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the fact that you took the time and trouble to give us your input on your recent holiday at our Resort. Your honest feedback and constructive comments are most valuable to us, and were already shared with our Management team. You have kindly highlighted on a positive note the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff, the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Revisited Penina after 15 yrs and I can only say "like a good wine it has improved with age" We were not disappointed from the moment we arrived by the professionalism and friendliness of the reception staff . This hotel meets high standards all round starting with lovely bedrooms with white cotton Bedlinen, Nespresso machine .. modern natural stone well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne F
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your return visit, after 15 years, and for leaving us your testimony of an exceptional holiday experience. We feel rewarded to read that this stay was up to your expectations, and Penina was like a good wine which has improved with age, as the service was professional and friendly, the rooms were well equipped, and...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a week on an organised golf week. Hotel room was a bit dated but with everything that one needed. Maybe more power sockets would help with charging batteries etc. Our room was on the 4th floor which had its own lift. The mezzanine seating area was pleasant. Choice of food at both breakfast and dinner buffets was amazing and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gillyflower2015
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for letting us know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay, in your wonderful review where you have shared your recent experience as part of a golfing group at our Resort. You kindly gave us your feedback about the Hotel, quality and choice of food at breakfast and dinner buffet, the golf and practice...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited recently with a golf group and this was my third visit to the hotel in the same amount of years. I was really disappointed this time. The service and food levels have really dropped. We had Tee times and about an hour to have lunch - but when your waiting for over 40 mins for your lunch to arrive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah40_13
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us, and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your opinions and views. On a positive note, you have mentioned that the hotel was really lovely, good location, nice courses, however after two most enjoyable holiday experiences in the past, this time we did not provide the usual...

Ronda, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A nice hotel spoilt by petty-minded management who think customer service is less important than saving a few cents on water and decent coffees at breakfast! This person should be sacked for harming the hotel's reputation for nothing!! We felt sorry for the poor women at reception who have to suffer continuous complaints from disgruntled guests over petty little issues....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FlumpyRonda_Spain
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, May we take this opportunity to first of all thank you for sharing your comments and help us improving, we would also like to inform you that there has been a recent change in the Management of Penina Hotel. This is indeed a Hotel, with a vast number of repeated visitors, who enjoy the wonderful ambiance and great...

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this resort with a group of friends on a 3 night golf break. Overall it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. There is a lovely relaxing feel about the hotel that may not be found in more modern hotels. Breakfast is served in a bright and airy dining room with the added option of dining outside in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Conor0123
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your input on your recent holiday at our Resort. Your honest feedback and constructive comments are most valuable to us, and were already shared with our Management team. You have also kindly highlighted the wonderful experience at our Golf Course, the buffet breakfast served in a nice bright dining room, with the option to seat...

680 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (460)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Double Room Mountain View (27)
Viewed
Grand Suite Pool View (82)
Viewed
Junior Suite Pool View (47)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (94)
Viewed
Studio Pool View (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
6.0 km away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
536 reviews
4.4 km away
Pestana Alvor Praia
4.4 km away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
9.1 km away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
6.5 km away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#8 of 78 in Portimao
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8501-952, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Price Range: RM482 - RM1,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Portimao, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penina Hotel & Golf Resort staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Penina Hotel & Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden view if there to enjoy it. Back if only there to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles EEDWgc, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Room with Golf Course view”
 of 5 bubbles Stuartfaeshetland, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the pool side rooms - a lot quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles sarah40_13, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose Garden/Pool view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Pals87, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pool view rooms have a nice of the distance mountains and fields.”
  • View of the golf course
 of 5 bubbles Daniel_Babbs, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay