We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Coullons
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Wifi Not efficient, as in other places in portugal. People are very kind and helpull. It's very easy to have answer for foregin people. Hotel location is a very good place in COIMBRA. Tivoli COIMBRA is a very good place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alainjeanmaried
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are glad that you found the Team helpful and pro-active and that we met you expectations. Rest assured that I will share your comments with the Experience Team. Many thanks too for letting us know about your experience with the internet connection, we have shared your opinion with our IT staff in order to improve our levels...

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Excellent place to stay: good service on an excellent central spot. Gast friendly and effective staff. I felt relaxed here and also " at home". Very good and safe parkingplace under the building! i will come bback...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tivoli Coimbra. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast service. It will be a pleasure to pass your comments to our team. I sincerely hope to welcome you back on your...

Pompei
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I found the hotel old and dusty. it had a lot of staff that came directly from the 80ties. The services, being a 4* property were poor, such as the breakfast had bad quality of cold beverage and poor choice of bread, jams (only 2 types), fruits ( for 3 morning we had exactely the same type of fruits), cereals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicella
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you had a good journey home. Sorry if we do not correspond to your expectations. I can, however, assure you that we pay special attention to breakfast service, to provide diversity and quality products worthy of a hotel of our category. Therefore, we will...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Had a room at the streetside but even with windows closed you heard a lot of streetnoise (day and night). Large room, large beds but outdated and in need of a restyle. Room was clean. Friendly staff and great valet parking service for 8 euro per day. Not in the city centre but easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kleinigheidjes
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you had a good journey home. Thank you for giving us your opinion about our rooms. Most part of our rooms has been recently renovated as well as the hotel's public areas. We have two refurbished floors as well as a superior floor with...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This is a fairly basic hotel on the edge of the old quarter. The hotel has seen better days. Our room was tired with torn net curtains overlooking a scruffy housing complex and an air con unit. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the doors damaged. The room was reasonably clean. A depressing place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prue B
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you had a good journey home. Thank you too for giving us your opinion about our rooms. Most part of our rooms has been recently renovated as well as the hotel's public areas. We have two refurbished floors as well as a superior floor...

Whitewood, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Great location- beautiful hotel- lots of room! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Coimbra. Was nice to have valet service as well. The bathroom was huge and with a bathtub for,those who like to relax! Wish our stay had have been a bit longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbrule
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed our rooms, location and valet service. It will be a pleasure to pass your comments to our team. I sincerely hope to welcome you back on...

Rome
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I strongly recommend Hotel Tivoli, as ideal location for business purpose such as workshop for people coming from all over Europe. Excellent and friendly staff, good food, good time management. Fully satisfied with their way of dealing with customer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luigipE319VD
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, Thank you for your notes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and took good note on your comments. Looking forward to welcome you back soon in Coimbra. Kind regards, António Esteves General Manager

Vancouver
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Two nights three days to explore Coimbra. The food at the hotel was great and staff helped us explore port after dinner. Reception staff helped solve airline problems for us. Parking very convenient! Hazing of incoming students at university very curious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denniscurtisc
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed our food, our parking and you found the team helpful and pro-active. It will be a pleasure to pass your comments to our team. I sincerely hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Coimbra. Kind regards,...

ottawa, on
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The location is good, the hotel adequate. The hotel rooms are somewhat dated but clean, the pillows are poor. The breakfast is expensive for what you get and there is a large sign saying they'll charge you 11e - the full cost of breakfast - if you take any food with you. Forget taking that piece of fruit with you....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmccc
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We were very pleased that our location has matched their expectations. We are sorry that our breakfast has the not pleased. In the published rates mentioned the inclusion or not of the breakfast, always leaving the guest's discretion the best choice. However we hope to return to receive it and have the opportunity to host a next visit...

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Although food was nice and staff helpful, hotel is a bit old and need some refurbushment. Location of Hotel is not excellent, no views etc but at least close to centre. Single beds comfortable but small for an adult.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 25sandros
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you had a good journey home. Most part of our rooms have been recently renovated as well as the hotel's public areas. We have two refurbished floors as well as a superior floor with different types of accommodation. We will definitely consider your comments...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.2 km away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
1,029 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
898 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
1,080 reviews
1.7 km away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
508 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tivoli Coimbra combines tradition with contemporary style. Located in the centre of Coimbra, near Rua da Sofia, the Tivoli Coimbra is an excellent 4-star Coimbra hotel which simply oozes comfort and well being. Leisure also takes on a cool feel in the atmosphere of the Tivoli Caffe Coimbra, in the meeting rooms and in the surprising and fully renovated superior rooms. Leave your car in the hotel's private car park and take a stroll around this city of tradition. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Machado 4 5, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Price Range: RM251 - RM422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tivoli Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Coimbra
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#4 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tivoli Coimbra Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
South Portland, Maine
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Tivoli Coimbra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter. First floor has spacious rooms for the disabled.”
 of 5 bubbles filomenaazevedo, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid the rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles dvangalen, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the top floor (fifth) facing the old city”
 of 5 bubbles sebastiant97, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms quite noisy at night”
 of 5 bubbles 755Chris, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Little tip** If you sign up for their rewards program you can get free internet! (you're welcome!) Otherwise, it is quite expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles shawncY8399PQ, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay