We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Room was surprisingly spacious. Good to be able to open windows. Did have to make a slight repair to the toilet as the flush mechanism was undone. Location was great for us as we were passing through on our return to Lisbon, although it is not located in a particularly interesting part of Coimbra. The tapas menu was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra! Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay in Coimbra. We are glad that you liked our spacious and comfortable rooms, premium location near the city center and the service provided by our restaurant collaborator Helena Pinto to which I will pass your comment. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the inefficiency...

Houston
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The hotel is totally acceptable for a short stay. It is clean and neat, well located, you can safely leave your car at the hotel for a nominal charge, the rooms are a decent size and the shower had sufficient water pressure. Unfortunately the night we stayed, the air conditioning in our room was not working. We did not discover...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmk773dgt
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to place a review about your recent visit to our Hotel. We are sorry about the inconvenience caused by air conditioning inefficiency. We have a maintenance team that is attentive to all situations. I guarantee that measures have been taken to address this timely lapse. Regarding the mattresses...

Philomont
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Front desk very helpful. Restaurant and bar staff were almost invisible and offered no assistance unless directly asked. When non Portugese speakers are there for breakfast, a greeting or explanation of the buffet would be most helpful. I want to respect this different culture than my own, but need help knowing how things work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K9120TTtomf
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to place a review about your recent visit to our Hotel. We are sorry that we have not responded to your expectations regarding the breakfast service. The comments and observations of our customers are for us an added value important because they allow us to correct our mistakes...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Staff very friendly and helpful. Comfortable and clean room. Very good shower but the temperature was not stable making the bath quite annoying. Very good breakfast with many options. Walking distance to old town and many options of restaurants in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabricio H
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you had a good journey home. We are glad that you appreciated the service provided by our friendly and attentive staff, our comfortable and clean room and our delicious breakfast. We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the water temperature. Our maintenance team was...

Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The hotel is very nice. Overall, the hotel is quite good and comfortable. This was the biggest and most comfortable room I have ever stayed in a hotel, during a business trip. The room was very big, and was clean. The bed was comfortable and so were the pillows. The only downside is that, unless you ask for it, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FilipePinheiro
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra! Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your recent stay in Coimbra. We are pleased that we respond to your expectations and delighted to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and appreciated our delicious breakfast. Thanking you once again for your remarks. I look forward to welcoming you once more. Best regards, António...

Nantes, France
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Good information from the staff, good location of the hotel and a pleasant room. The car parking service is very interesting for the customers. We are very statisfied with our stay in Coimbra and with our stay at the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lionelp872
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra! Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Tivoli Coimbra. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated the service provided by our friendly staff, as well as, premium location, comfortable rooms and parking reserved exclusively for our customers. Looking forward to welcome you back soon in...

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Wifi doesn't work good in some rooms, bathrooms are well, but they can be improved. Staff is really kind and the cleanse is quite good. It is a good hotel to spend a few days if you are planning to visit Coimbra. Well located and public transport close to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz R
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra! Many thanks for letting us know about your experience at the Tivoli Coimbra. We are glad that you appreciated the service provided by our friendly staff and premium location near the historic center. Some of our apartments have undergone recent renovations. However we want all our guests benefit from a modern and welcoming environment and so...

Essen, Germany
Reviewed 10 April 2016

The hotel is nice, rooms are clean, breakfast is good. Getting online is annoying as we had to get a different username and password for each device every 24 hours (we stayed 3 nights). At a time where every campground offers free WIFI that seems very customer unfriendly. Making the reservation was also difficult. I could not call the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familyoffive53
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and hope that your trip back home has been pleasant. Please accept our apology in relation to the reservation process. What you describe clearly does not fit into the service standards that our customers deserve and which we plan to offer. We are already taking actions...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 April 2016

There aren't all that many hotel options in Coimbra, but for us this fit the bill. It was close enough to the major tourist sites without being too close and all that entails. It was convenient to shopping for snacks, water, sandwiches, etc., ( there's a Pingo Doce a block away) which we very much appreciated. The room was spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidjt2016
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra! Many thanks for sharing your recent experience at the Tivoli Coimbra and the score given to our services. We are glad that you appreciated the premium location near the historic center, our delicious and varied breakfast, big and comfortable rooms and the service provided by our friendly and helpful staff. It is very rewarding for the...

Jaen
Reviewed 31 March 2016

A confortable hotel very conveniently located. . Walking distance from center. Parking cheap. The staff efficient and pleasamt. Coimbra is a city very easy to see With enough restaurants with good quality in general.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 559pmm
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra! Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your recent stay in Coimbra. We are glad that you appreciated our comfortable rooms, premium location near the historic center, the service provided by our friendly and attentive staff and parking reserved exclusively for our customers. Looking forward to welcome you back soon in Coimbra. Best regards,...

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.2 km away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
1,029 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
899 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#3 of 21 in Coimbra
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
1,080 reviews
1.7 km away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
510 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tivoli Coimbra combines tradition with contemporary style. Located in the centre of Coimbra, near Rua da Sofia, the Tivoli Coimbra is an excellent 4-star Coimbra hotel which simply oozes comfort and well being. Leisure also takes on a cool feel in the atmosphere of the Tivoli Caffe Coimbra, in the meeting rooms and in the surprising and fully renovated superior rooms. Leave your car in the hotel's private car park and take a stroll around this city of tradition. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Machado 4 5, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Price Range: RM252 - RM419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tivoli Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Coimbra
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#4 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tivoli Coimbra Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
South Portland, Maine
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Tivoli Coimbra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter. First floor has spacious rooms for the disabled.”
 of 5 bubbles filomenaazevedo, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid the rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles dvangalen, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the top floor (fifth) facing the old city”
 of 5 bubbles sebastiant97, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms quite noisy at night”
 of 5 bubbles 755Chris, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Little tip** If you sign up for their rewards program you can get free internet! (you're welcome!) Otherwise, it is quite expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles shawncY8399PQ, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay