We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Independente Hostel & Suites

Visit hotel website
Traveller (327)
Room & Suite (191)
Storyboard
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
156
72
18
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
156
72
18
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews triple bunk beds bairro alto the ground floor restaurant location is great rooftop restaurant communal areas mac and cheese free breakfast night life bars and restaurants rooms are large the breakfast area living room excellent stay beautiful city decadente noise
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I had a great stay here. It has beautiful views of the city. Good breakfast and great staff. The only point of improvement for me would be the wifi. I could not connect to it in my room had to sit in the hallway to...More

Thank lotte128
Response from JoaoFilipeAntunes, Guest Relations Manager at The Independente Hostel & SuitesResponded yesterday

Dear lotte128, we thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated Lisbon in the best way. As for the Wi-fi problems you mention we agree it is not an acceptable...More

Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

I couldn’t be happier with my stay, I’ve loved it so much. The staffs are so so good, any queries that I had they’re always happy to help and inform the best places, times and ways to come and go. The Miradouro just right in...More

Thank Etienne Carvalh... d
Response from RitaRibeiroSilva, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at The Independente Hostel & SuitesResponded 29 July 2018

Dear Etienne, We hope you're having safe travels. Thank you so much for your rating on TripAdvisor! We are super happy to see that you had an experience worth of 5 points. :) Thank you for mentioning our staff and location, and for recommending us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bare in mind I don’t do 5* reviews very often, and this is not by any means a 5* hotel. This is just a gem in my eye if you are willing to look at it for what it is. We needed somewhere secure, clean,...More

Thank 462joei
Response from JoaoFilipeAntunes, Guest Relations Manager at The Independente Hostel & SuitesResponded 1 week ago

Dear Joe we thank you for the amazing review and rating you gave us. Hope this reply finds you well. It was our pleasure to have hosted you and the group you mention, it was a delight for us that everything went smoothly and that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, very central in Bairro Alto, near Principe Real Wonderful staff, eager to help Clean rooms and bathrooms, towel rental service available Washing machine onsite Beautiful common room and kitchen Breakfast includedMore

Thank vennefrancois
Response from JoaoFilipeAntunes, Guest Relations Manager at The Independente Hostel & SuitesResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear vennefrancois, we thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor. We are proud to have satisfied clients' such as you, it just shows us we are doing things right. Your comments will be passed on to our staff as a motivator and we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would we recommend this hostel, definitely NOT, we found it extremely basic, dark and depressing. In our opinion the whole place needs a major overhaul and a thorough clean. The breakfast restaurant and terrace was dingy and very uninviting, the food limited and poorly prepare....More

Thank terrylarkins
Response from JoaoFilipeAntunes, Guest Relations Manager at The Independente Hostel & SuitesResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear terrylarkins, thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We hope our answer finds you well. Regarding the problems you mentioned we just want to inform you that is not the opinion of the majority of our clients and we apologize for not...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Aaron P
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from eugeniaborgo | Reviewed this property |
yes!
0
Votes
Zelda J
29 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DavidnLouise | Reviewed this property |
Hi, We didn't stay in the hostel part and we caught the metro from the airport so cannot comment on a taxi fare - sorry
0
Votes
hotballoon
12 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Malcolm339 | Reviewed this property |
Have you tried loading the hotels App? I think this will give you the option to check your reservation.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing