We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument
See the most recent reviews
Showing 819: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at The Pestana Palace Hotel for 7 nights with our 3 teenage children. The Hotel is amazing - so peaceful and with lovely gardens. Our rooms were clean and comfortable.We were a little disappointed as the turkish baths were not open at all during the whole week and the indoor pool was closed on our last day.Having said...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank maureen f
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our first visit to Lisbon and we only stayed 1 night but it was wonderful to stay in such beautiful and calm surroundings yet be in the heart of a capital city. All the staff were helpful and showed a pride in their hotel. Desk staff made recommendations for a walk in the city and booked dinner for us. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank loneranger56
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear loneranger56, Thank you for choosing Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument on your first visit to our beautiful city and for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy that you had the opportunity of seeing the Royal Suites, they are magnificent in the details and transports us to the elegance and refinement lived in the late XIX...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was our third visit to the Pestana Palace. We were up graded to a fabulous room, it was Huge! My memory of our last two visits was that the Staff are delightful, friendly, helpful, never condescending, and eager to please. The Breakfast in the most beautiful of rooms was amazing. Now, there is the addition of a chef who...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank johnedwardpeter
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear John C, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We were very glad to know Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument was your choice for the third time! Thank you very much for your kind words about the helpfulness of our staff – they will be delighted to know! It is always good to know...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed 5 Nights at this hotel in July-13. It was one of the best stays I have ever had. The hotel is a very, very beautifully restored villa/Palace. The attention to detail in the restauration is breathtaking. I have read about the frescoes of Four Seasons Milan in numerous Magazines (and stayed there as well), but the Pestana Palace...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Espadaman
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear Espadaman, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your review is not only very useful for future guests, but also very important to us. We are very happy to learn that you consider this one of the best stays you ever had. It is very good to know that you enjoyed our ‘attention to detail’, the...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The service is what you experience first and it was only the best. My girlfriend and I stayed there for two nights and wished we extended. We went into Lisbon (the Palace provides a free shuttle into town), and to get home is a 6 euro charge. The downtown is bustling with action, and each night we ended with a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ronald P
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear OneCigarGuy, Thank you so much for your review! We were very glad to know that Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument provided you a great experience in the beautiful city of Lisbon. We highly appreciate your opinion on our service – we truly put an effort on providing our guests an excellent stay. We will definitely share your kind...

RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A true palace with beautiful rooms, large bedrooms, amazing garden and large inside pool. The staff ws friendly and helpful especially Patricia, who helped us with patience ans kindnes when our rented car had to be fixed. We enjoyed breakfast. The palace itself needs a little navigating but worth every effort.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank couple59060
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear couple59060, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinions with this community. We highly appreciate them – not only are they useful for our future guests, as they are of extreme importance to us. It is very good to know that you enjoyed our rooms, the inside pool and the beautiful gardens. We were also...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 10 days as a base for a relaxing holiday with lots of time by the pool and day trips to all the Lisboa city sights plus Sintra and Caiscais. The staff were great and added a nice human touch to compliment the lovely gardens and wonderful decor / furnishings in the hotel. We wanted the dual...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Seamie_Mac
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear Seamie_Mac, Thank you very much for publishing your comment on TripAdvisor. Your review is very important for us and very useful for future Guests. We loved your feedback and we are all happy to learn that the hotel was “perfect” for you. We will share your opinion with all Team that surely will be proud with your words. Thank...

Nebo
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just returned last week from a fabulous trip to Portugal and a six (6) day stay at the incredible Pestana Palace Hotel and National Monument. Such a beautiful setting for an enchanting stay in Portugal. Set in the heart of a Lisboa neighborhood I found the entire visit inviting and quite welcoming. The service and staff of this establishment is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kit C
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear Kit C, Thank you for being our Guest. We are very happy you had a wonderful stay in this “incredible” Hotel and a “fabulous” trip in Portugal. It is so nice to hear about your stay! It is very good to know that you enjoyed our service, rooms, breakfast and the city. Mr. Peter Mendes don’t work for the...

Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old hotel. Rooms were nice. Bed was a bit firm and i think it had rollers. Location not great as nothing near there. Has some eally cool seating rooms and pretty cool pool. They seemed to get backed up at the front desk.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rocker5978
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear Rocker5978, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We take your opinion very seriously and we appreciated for your kind remark about our service. We apologize if for some reason the service was longer than usual. Yes, it is true that we are not in the city center, however we provide to our Guests a shuttle, with different...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Have visited Pestana Palace for a business trip and resort, stayed for 3 days. As a hotel and a national monument it looks stunning, unfortunately my visit's emotional atmosphere was ruined by the fact that i had money being STOLEN from my room which i was not intending to give to a cleaning lady. Not much, but i was willing...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ilya911
Paulo R, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument, responded to this review

Dear llya911, We are very sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t excellent and above all your story about the room. Every day we evaluate our service standards and believe it, this is not our procedure. Never! I would like that you contact me with more details, so we can see what happened internally. Follows my email paulo.rodrigues@pestana.com Sincerely, Paulo...

1,915 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (393)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (155)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (102)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
3:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (360)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (656)
Viewed
Amenities (224)
Viewed
D. Amélia Royal Suite (43)
Viewed
D. Carlos Royal Suite (73)
Viewed
D. Manuel Royal Suite (47)
Viewed
Junior Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (29)
Viewed
Standard Room with Garden View (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
424 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
706 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
1,771 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pestana Palace Hotel & National Monument, member of the "The Leading Hotels of the World", is a 5 star hotel in a 19th century palace located in the city of Lisbon, and its gardens, with a variety of plants and subtropical trees, are classified as "National Monument". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument

Address: Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Price Range: RM863 - RM1,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palace Lisbon
Hotel Pestana Palace
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luxury, but depends on the time of the year. We got good rates because of off season”
 of 5 bubbles Slyke18, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you keep a copy of everything that you request at booking. The best view is their garden view”
  • Not 5-star standards in todays world
  • one bottle of water. thats it.
  • Sink is too small
  • Desktop screen made a TV. Too small
  • Curtains dont cover the entire window. Llots of light entering the room even if curtains are clo
  • Thats their king-size bed (connected two single beds)
 of 5 bubbles jamilj2013, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stay in the historic building!”
  • balcony!
  • lovely corner of the room!
  • living room of the suite!
  • classic!
  • bed!
  • the view outside the room is amazing!
 of 5 bubbles fox_yue_hu, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Nothing to say or recommend any this hotel”
  • Blood we found on the pillows
  • This is how disgusting the bathrooms are
 of 5 bubbles rfazilat, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River view or higher floor have good view”
 of 5 bubbles Arbaroon, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5