We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windsor Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Windsor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Had a beer in the hotel bar 6 euros... We'd just paid 3.50 euros in the hotel bar opposite. ... blatant rip off. Sad it was our first night not a good representation of the country. the bar prices said 3.7 Euros. Will not choose to drink there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank dizzyuk
Hotelwindsor_11, Diretor de vendas at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madeira, as well for your review on TripAdvisor, that despite it’s not positive, it is very important to us and always a great contribution to improve the quality of our services, which is our main objective. We believe that was a misunderstanding with your drinks in the bar. According to... More 

swindon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed at this Hotel from 15/22 September very impressed with friendly & helpful staff -however the rooms were small no air conditioning only a table fan to keep cool - all rooms have no balconies so the only option was to sit on the roof terrace to enjoy a drink the lounge area although comfortable with seats & tv... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian R
Hotelwindsor_11, Diretor de vendas at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel to make your holiday in Madeira, as well for your comment on TripAdvisor, which is really very important to us and always a great contribution to improve the quality of our services, which is our main objective. We always feel grateful when one of our Guests leaves our Hotels satisfied and happy with the... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and good location. There is no air conditioning in the room I stayed in only a fan which did very little to keep the room cool. We were given a room which was over the car park which means it was extremely noisy, on the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Malla P
Hotelwindsor_11, Diretor de vendas at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madeira, as well for your comment on TripAdvisor, that despite, it’s not positive, it is very important to us and always a great contribution to improve the quality of our services, which is our main objective. The Hotel Windsor was renovated in 2014, but unfortunately we couldn’t install the air... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Spent a week at the Windsor. It is in a fabulous location, right in the centre, with great staff, especially Elsa at the reception, who was always happy, friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was serviced every day, even when we had a lie in. Breakfast is continental (Breads/fruit salad/Ham/Cheese) which is basic but did... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
edinburgh
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Windsor, it is in a great location, and the staff are fabulous, especially the reception, who are so professional yet so friendly and helpful. Susana, Elsa and the young man who's name I have forgotten were fantastic.The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was serviced every day. Breakfast is continental... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank erussell2
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015

The positives: Hotel staff, apart from one, very friendly and helpful. Location - on a level with Cathedral and shops, near a supermarket and an excellent Ilalian gelato shop. Roof pool a plus. The negatives: Not airconditioned, no extract fan in bathroom. Pay for use of room fridge and safe. Free wi-fi in small reception area only otherwise extortionately expensive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wentw0rth1
Lemvig, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Small city hotel with a superb location in the center of Funchal. Short distance to everything.. I have tried many hotels around the World, but never any with such a friendly and helpfull staff. Everyone from the room personel to restaurant and last, but not least, the reception, offer a professionel yet personel service. it was a pleasure to stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank henrikhansen2015
Itaquaquecetuba, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We just came back from a week's holiday in this hotel. On the whole it's a good place, as previously mentioned it is located right in the city centre, near supermarkets, cathedral etc. Breakfast was continental but with plenty of fruit, cheese, cold meat, croissants and bread. No sausages or eggs, but this is often the case in 3 star... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fritz-Wepper
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Hotel's best advantage is it's location in the centre of Funchal. It was clean enough but our room unfortunately had to remain " curtains closed " because of the building directly across the narrow road looking straight into our room. Sheets were not changed during our entire stay. The breakfasts were appalling. The fruit juices were so diluted that they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mags C
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Traveled here for a week during carnival Best value you could ask for I feel like I got way more than I paid for. Location perfect city center with full service supermarket, hairdresser, restaurants, and world class shopping right at your doorstep. Restaurant has a nice menu with something for everyone, breakfast is basic but plentiful. All staff were amazing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank slybda

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 km away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#79 of 86 in Funchal
52 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#30 of 86 in Funchal
360 reviews
0.0 km away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#86 of 86 in Funchal
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#59 of 86 in Funchal
88 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#61 of 86 in Funchal
164 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#53 of 86 in Funchal
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Funchal
Funchal
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
MODERNLY FURNISHED THE HOTEL OFFERS YOU COMFORT IN A FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, HIGHLIGHTED BY THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED, AND AN EXCELLENT LOCATION. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: RM209 - RM649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
5 days ago
Funchal, Portugal
8 months ago
Torquay, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Windsor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one with good windows cause there are no AC”
 of 5 bubbles joanas102, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy and there is little privacy, other rooms have better privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles A2608JKandrewd, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“5th floor good as no one above you. Good lift facility to ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles pahjdales8, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The noise of slamming doors from 7a.m. onwards is very bad. Whether you want to be awake or not is not an option.. I was in room 107”
 of 5 bubbles johnl137, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“we were at front - probably quieter at back”
 of 5 bubbles 965emily26, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay