We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Windsor Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Windsor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
New Romney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Lovely clean comfortable hotel - really friendly, helpful staff - very relaxing environment - wonderful food which was very well priced - a lovely stay. Breakfast - a great choice of cereal, fruit, bread, meat, cheese - and cake! juices, tea and very nice coffee - was served until 10.Dinner menu had good variety but we tended to choose the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 965emily26
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We were very happy with this hotel. It was great value for b&b just a short walk from the Se, Zona Velde & seafront. Once you get the hang of the buses ( the blokes in the information booths are quite brusque!), you can enjoy numerous walks on the levadas or casinos. We were very happy with the room in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MHPCymru
Reviewed 19 January 2016

This is a good, well run hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Our room was very clean and well serviced. It had a safe and quiet empty fridge; both could be hired for a small extra charge. There was good free wifi. Quiet rooms are at the back away from the road. Two improvements would be hooks on the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeharland
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

One receptionist, Elsa, was very good, very attentive and the best thing about the hotel. Our rooms were very clean but definitely not 4 star or modern, they were more basic accommodation, the toilets were more modern than the rooms; the beds and pillows were uncomfortable, no duvets either, it was old fashioned blankets, one recptionist covered the hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maureen C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Good points: Ideal position within easy walking distance of the old town. Room was adequate and cleaned daily, my view is a room is for sleeping in not for living in! Safe in every room available at 1 euro per day. Good bathroom with excellent shower over the bath. Towels changed daily. Excellent reception staff - really helpful. Bad points:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shil192015
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Lovely holiday I had stayed in a great hotel - receptionist elsa brilliant always bringing happiness to everyone !! Excellent staff If I had to say something is that is was quite a noisy place in the city - busy road and the doors of the hotel rooms slam ! Also it would be nice to have a rubbish bin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MonicaFreitas21
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

a good central location, we were given a quite room it was away from the street but overlooked the car park so if cars came in late it was noisy. small room but adequate. breakfast was adequate but basic, eggs were extra! the staff were friendly but helpful. we didn't eat in the hotel as there were plenty of interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathyiris
uk
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Had a beer in the hotel bar 6 euros... We'd just paid 3.50 euros in the hotel bar opposite. ... blatant rip off. Sad it was our first night not a good representation of the country. the bar prices said 3.7 Euros. Will not choose to drink there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dizzyuk
Hotelwindsor_11, Diretor de vendas at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madeira, as well for your review on TripAdvisor, that despite it’s not positive, it is very important to us and always a great contribution to improve the quality of our services, which is our main objective. We believe that was a misunderstanding with your drinks in the bar. According to...

swindon
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed at this Hotel from 15/22 September very impressed with friendly & helpful staff -however the rooms were small no air conditioning only a table fan to keep cool - all rooms have no balconies so the only option was to sit on the roof terrace to enjoy a drink the lounge area although comfortable with seats & tv...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian R
Hotelwindsor_11, Diretor de vendas at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel to make your holiday in Madeira, as well for your comment on TripAdvisor, which is really very important to us and always a great contribution to improve the quality of our services, which is our main objective. We always feel grateful when one of our Guests leaves our Hotels satisfied and happy with the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and good location. There is no air conditioning in the room I stayed in only a fan which did very little to keep the room cool. We were given a room which was over the car park which means it was extremely noisy, on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Malla P
Hotelwindsor_11, Diretor de vendas at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madeira, as well for your comment on TripAdvisor, that despite, it’s not positive, it is very important to us and always a great contribution to improve the quality of our services, which is our main objective. The Hotel Windsor was renovated in 2014, but unfortunately we couldn’t install the air...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 km away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#79 of 86 in Funchal
52 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#58 of 86 in Funchal
89 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#86 of 86 in Funchal
41 reviews
2.9 km away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#44 of 86 in Funchal
659 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#54 of 86 in Funchal
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Funchal
Funchal
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Mediterranean
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
MODERNLY FURNISHED THE HOTEL OFFERS YOU COMFORT IN A FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, HIGHLIGHTED BY THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED, AND AN EXCELLENT LOCATION. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: RM192 - RM1,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Funchal, Portugal
9 months ago
Torquay, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Windsor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms don't have balconies,5th floor fine ,limited views of the hills etc.”
 of 5 bubbles B7429RDjohnn, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“From what we could tell no room would have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles davidjX2727HX, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with good windows cause there are no AC”
 of 5 bubbles joanas102, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy and there is little privacy, other rooms have better privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles A2608JKandrewd, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“5th floor good as no one above you. Good lift facility to ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles pahjdales8, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay