We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alto Lido Hotel

Expedia.comUS$77*
View Deal
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Alto Lido Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alto Lido Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Good location, close to front and very good restaurants. Quiet and peaceful. Cant understand why 4star, this is not 4star quality. Rooms were clean, but tired and dated, bathroom had stains in sink and toilet needed a good bottle of bleach. The carpet in corridors were really dirty could not tell what colour they were suppose to be, yes it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jayne B
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Reviewed 18 September 2015

This hotel is very well located, close to the center of Funchal. The rooms are clean and tidy and you have everything you need. The meals in the hotel are delicious. The staff are very friendly and always available to help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorge D
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Santarem, Portugal
Reviewed 15 September 2015

With all conditions to stay some days at Funchal while visiting the Isle.Clean and quiet place for families. Good pools help to enjoy the stay.Staff friendly and competent.Basic rooms but quite enough to stay with comfort..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joaquimduque
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one week only plus point is that its near many restaurants and super markets but old style with small rooms a average swimming pool but reasonable prices for winter night entertainment is not so good bar is always quite cheaper out side

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redbull123456
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Portugal
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel for a week. No wifi in the room and you have to sit in the lobby to go online. If there is more than 3 people wifi is a joke. Staff well aware and I was told they need a new server, but won't get one. Breakfast is very average and the entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wayne A
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Just returned from the Hotel stayed here 1 week in middle of August. The Hotel was clean the pools were fine, the outdoor pool was a little on the small side, the indoor pool was bigger and the times we used it there was no more than 4 other people in it. We never ate in the hotel but the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michele C
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks, b&b. Hotel was very good, both pools were top notch with viewing windows in the outside pool. Room was fairly basic but certainly did the job. Provided an excellent base for exploring the wonderful Funchal. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was busy with lots of choice, coffee from the machine was poor though. Timing your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank notusual
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of July, in an room overlooking the pool. We were four floors above the pool so we had a nice view and were away from the road. Whilst the decor of the room looked a bit dated, it was perfectly comfortable, well stocked and nice and big. We didn't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel O
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015

If you're reading this, it's probably because you've come from a website like travelsupermarket and you're wondering whether a 4* hotel can be such good value. Unfortunately, it isn't. This is why. The staff are disinterested (the receptionist, Ms Viverios, left us waiting for 20 minutes on arrival to deal with other matters). The decor is dated, the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G S
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Reviewed 14 August 2015

The service is ok, the room is good! But the wi-fi is horrible, and is available only in the corridor of the hotel. Otherwise you need to pay. And it seems that is why, the Internet is going DOWN every 10, 15 minutes:(((( The breakfast is also not very tasty...Could be better!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luda D
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

452 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (243)
Viewed
ADA Acessible Room (20)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (41)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Studio (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 km away
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
#45 of 87 in Funchal
705 reviews
0.4 km away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 87 in Funchal
176 reviews
0.7 km away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#42 of 87 in Funchal
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 87 in Funchal
310 reviews
6.1 km away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 87 in Funchal
350 reviews
1.6 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#44 of 87 in Funchal
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Alto Lido Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: RM257 - RM753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alto Lido Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Dundee, United Kingdom
Lacombe
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Dorset

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Alto Lido Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Travelled with RCI so you probably won't get one.”
AlanR901, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a room with the garden view (very nice view + evening sun), but not in the left corner (its nozy).”
jazzband88, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms, better views on higher floors,”
ChristopherW1779, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 14th floor good view”
kevbartlett123, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Main tower, sea/allotment view, high as possible above road noise.”
SarahMcNicol66, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$171
Hostelworld.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates