We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lti Pestana Grand

Show Prices
#16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Lti Pestana Grand
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,397: English reviews
Swansea Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at Pestana Grand due to very good reviews, supposedly 5 star, not so. (The staff are 5 star however). The views from the sea view rooms are 5 star. Breakfast, possibly 4 star. Although a good choice of food at breakfast, the self service area is small and can get very congested (toast can be a problem ((toasters too...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gandsusan
Suffolk
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading the reviews we booked our stay over christmas as well as my husband's birthday. However, we encountered problems and upon returning home sent an email to 'guest feedback' - did not receive a reply, then sent another marked for the attention of the owner of Pestana Group - yet did not hear back from them. Copy of our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MargSuffolk
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our return visit to The Grand Pestana Hotel on the award winning island of Madeira met our needs entirely. The members of staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast range of dishes was excellent and even a vegetarian could select from over 25 different items of food. Since last year wifi was provided in the rooms although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KEITH L
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear KEITH L, First of all thank you so much for your loyalty and preference and for choosing once again Lti Pestana Grand Hotel as you hotel in Beautiful Madeira, award Winning Island, as you well said. We are very happy to know that you found the members of our staff very helpful and friendly. That gives us extra motivation...

chippysmate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a shame. Like many other reviewers. It's the small things that are missing Room Not cleaned well. Only hoovered once in the week. No dusting. Bed covers too small for the bed. TV very outdated and sound quality poor Bathroom outdated. Shower curtain hanging by a few hooks and needed cleaning. Loo seat needed replacing. Towels threadbare. Room noise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brierdene
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear Brierdene First of all let me take the chance to thank you for choosing our resort to spend you holidays at our beautiful island Madeira. We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel. For us there is no such thing as ‘small things’ and because of that we will take good note of...

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is the third time my husband and I have spent Christmas at the Grand. A little disappointed this Christmas. We cannot fault the stall all excellent, The carpet in our room could have done with a shampoo but we do appreciate with a very busy hotel this can be very difficult. Something seems to have changed. As beautiful as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RSSS_13
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear RSSS_13 First of all, we would like to thank you for loyalty and for choosing once again Lti Pestana Grand, as your hotel in Madeira and for spending such an amazing season with us. It is great to read that you have found all our staff excellent. Concerning your remarks and criticisms, we have already taken good note of...

Breking out from London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my wife stayed here for seven nights after New Year. We had a standard room which was spacious, clean and included a safe. Maid service was good and we regularly received clean bath towels and refreshed pool towels. Breakfast is standard buffet with hot & cold selections with an omelette chef on hand. The area can get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rovingtourist
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear Rovingtourist, First of all let me take the chance to thank you for choosing our resort to spend you holidays at our beautiful island Madeira. It is great to know that you’ve found our staff always friendly and helpful. A sincere thank you for your kind words and preference. The Team will be thrilled to go through it. Once...

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The reviews on tripadvisor which say this isn't 5 Star are true. The family room we had was OK, but nothing special. In a 5 Star hotel you don't expect to see anything but a flat screen TV. The bar area is good, but we didn't end up using it because it didn't have much character. On one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicholas S
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas S, Many thanks for having selected Lti Pestana Grand Hotel as your hotel in Madeira and for sharing your experience. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our indoor pool. Thank you very much for your feedback. Regarding your remarks and criticisms we have taken good note of them and we will do...

Athus, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are very spacious, clean and good The breakfast buffet is very well served with many choices, The evening buffet is not that what we expected, so we try only once ! The have an inside an outside pool The bar offers happy hours

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khuncharlie1
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear khuncharlie1, Thank you so much for choosing Lti Pestana Grand Hotel to spend your holidays in Madeira. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We appreciate your most kind words and we thank you for sharing your experience with so many travelers. We look very...

East Midlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from our 3rd stay at the Pestana Grand. We were welcomed back by the friendly staff on reception and were given the exact rooms we had requested. As per my previous reviews this is a great hotel, in a nice quiet location just outside Funchal. Some reviewers say it is too far out, but we can walk into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FoodieFred
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear FoodieFred First of all, we would like to thank you for your loyalty and for choosing once more Lti Pestana Grand, as your hotel in Madeira. It was our absolute pleasure taking care of you. Thank you so much for your kind words and for recommending us to so many travelers. We are happy to know that you found...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel exceptionally clean and well looked after. Excellent breakfast although the coffee could do with being hotter but besides that there was a great choice and something to suit everyone. Shuttle bus regular to and from the hotel and good restaurants near hand if you want to stay close to the hotel. One gripe though .........why not replentish the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank loobieloo1952
Maria_da_Paz_Garcia, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review

Dear loobieloo1952, Thank you so much for choosing the Lti Pestana Grand Hotel, among many others in Madeira, to spend your holidays. It was our absolute pleasure taking good care of you. Thank you so much for your kind words and for recommending us to so many travelers. We are happy to know that you found the cleaning of the...

1,381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (950)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
View from Room (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (257)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (294)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (386)
Viewed
Amenities (72)
Viewed
Mountain View Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Sea and Pool View Room (28)
Viewed
Sea View Room (29)
Viewed
Suite (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,575 reviews
1.0 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 86 in Funchal
1,025 reviews
1.8 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
767 reviews
1.1 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: RM365 - RM693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lti Pestana Grand staff and other travellers.
103 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (103)

Questions? Get answers from Lti Pestana Grand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any sea view up high.”
 of 5 bubbles gandsusan, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles MargSuffolk, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Brierdene, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The more you pay the better the room.”
 of 5 bubbles RSSS_13, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors are better in our opinion”
 of 5 bubbles FoodieFred, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay