We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Malmen

Orbitz.comUS$135*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Malmen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
Norrköping
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice room, though no water cooker. But there´s a bar downstairs where you can get drinks. Ironing board and iron in the room. Breakfast is really good. There´s a small gym as well. When I was there there was a big problem with the WLAN, it worked shortly and then stopped and so on. This got fixed within 1-2 days....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi Martin, Thank you for sharing this review, we appreciate it. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the bar and breakfast. Kettles are available in our Suits and Superior rooms, but unfortunately not in the standard rooms. Sorry to hear the WIFI was not working properly! Very welcome back to Scandic Malmen again in the future, Kind regards, Matilda

Vaasa
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Naked and Famous had a concert at Debaser Medis, Stockholm and we got the tickets to show so we had to get a place to sleep too. Scandic Malmen was the perfect spot to stay, just opposite to the Club with trafficlights making the walking over the road safe. Behind the corner was a stairway to the metro/tube which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tero H
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi, Glad to hear Scandic Malmen was the perfect spot to stay for you! Our cabin rooms are indeed very convenient for a good nights sleep as they are dark and quiet. Some of the cabin rooms, like the one you stayed in, has a queen bed, and some of them has two twin beds. Please let us know the...

Helsinki
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We really wanted to get some sleep and Hotel Malmen has these "cabin" rooms without windows where you don't hear anything from the street. Mind you, if you take a room with a view, you might be woken up every hour by the oppisite clock that strikes on the hour. We also had warm sandwiches downstairs in the restaurant, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyasintti
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi, I am glad to hear you had a good nights sleep with us and liked your cabin room. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your sandwiches and the breakfast. Welcome back again at any time! Kind regards, Matilda

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I liked the look and feel of the reception and the bar had a good atmosphere and it's in a good central location, but I was disappointed with my room. I only stayed one night fortunately or I'd have insisted on moving. I booked a "cabin" as had a budget but it was a tiny room, two floors down underground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Thank you for writing this review, we’re glad to hear you like the nice atmosphere in our reception and bars. I am sorry to hear you didn’t like the cabin room, but it is nice to know you would like to visit us again and then stay in another room category. Very welcome back in the future! Kind...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had room at Malmen on Sunday 14th July and we loved the room, so did your friends. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors on the other side, their room was the last on the hallway, we were next to them.The group went out and came back around two very drunk and were very noisy. We called two times to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kati I
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear Katituulia, Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate to get constructive feedback as it helps us to improve our everyday work. I am really sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the neighbors and how we reacted to this. What you describe is not at all how we want our guests to feel like. Thank you for...

Odense
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very good location in short walking distance to ie Gamla Stan and other attractions. Rather small room with tiny bathroom. Wooden floor and comfortable beds. Popular bar in connection with lobby. Start prices on Wine and drinks. Very delicious breakfast with all you need and can think of. Frontstaff friendly and helpful, but one employee looked like he just had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SENOdense
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for writing this review, what a nice one to receive. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our location, delicious breakfast, popular bar and the friendly staff. I am sorry though to hear that one of the front desk staff seemed a bit tired, I will talk to them about it. Hope to see you back at Scandic...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A room where designers must have spent some time to make it "fun" (see photo). I asked and got a room at the fourth floor at a quiet street side. The bathroom is very tiny, but thanks to an ingenious convex glass door that could be turned away to the wall so as to make more space. Once positioned towards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelGeeks2009
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay, we appreciate feedback from our guests. I am sorry to hear the breakfast was not ideal during your stay. Our breakfast room can get a bit crowded from time to time, especially on weekends when most guests eat at the same time. If arriving a bit earlier there are normally...

South
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have stayed at Scandic Malmen several times before, and often choose it for the excellent location and since we know that Scandic as a chain is always dependable for good breakfast and a high minimal quality level. The location is hard to beat, expecially now that the Continental has been torn down. As usual and as expected, check-in, check.out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swede83
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear Swede83, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay, we appreciate to get feedback from our guests. I am glad to hear you like our location, the rooms and that the check-in/check-out is quick and easy. On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear you don’t like what our ground floor is like since the renovation....

sydney
Reviewed 23 September 2013

All hotels in Stockholm are overpriced, so its hard to speak about the value of Scandic Malmen, but as an above basic hotel in Stockholm it was excellent. The location Sodermalm was great for exploring that part of the city and you can literally enter the Metro from walking outside the building. We also stayed in Ostermalm and enjoyed getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrrplanner
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for sharing this nice review. We’re really glad to hear that you that you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Malmen and our beautiful pillow. I’m sorry you had a hard time finding a seat in the breakfast room. The tends to get busy sometimes, especially on weekends when most guests eating at the same time, so sorry...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Fairly standard hotel experience. Room was clean. Great shower with good water pressure. Bar was above average. The two downsides came in the morning - breakfast was a bit of a free-for-all and quite disappointing in quality. Secondly, the lifts were very busy at this time - perhaps to be expected, but could be an issue for some people, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enfilade405
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hi, I am glad to hear you enjoyed the clean room, the shower and the bar, thank you for letting us know. I am sorry you didn’t like our breakfast and had to wait for the elevators. We’re planning a renovation of our elevators at the end of this year that will make them run faster, so hopefully this won’t...

504 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Superior Extra Room (30)
Viewed
King Superior Room (26)
Viewed
Queen Cabin Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Cabin Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#75 of 155 in Stockholm
657 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 155 in Stockholm
220 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
2,625 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#107 of 155 in Stockholm
76 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 155 in Stockholm
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoFo & Medborgarplatsen

Neighbourhood Profile
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Throughout the last decades these neighborhoods transformed from a rather quiet residential area into the birthplace of Swedish hipsterism and became Sweden’s main hub for new fashion labels, independent coffee shops and innovative gastropub concepts. Despite their extreme transformation, SoFo (South of Folkungagatan) & Medborgarplatsen managed to hold on to their residential charm and quietness and became one of the most sought-after places to live among young people in Stockholm. This neighborhood is also home to Sweden’s highest student hall, Skrapan, which used to be the head office of the tax authorities and now combines a mix of student hall and shopping mall with a bar on top.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
Cuisines: European, Bar, International, Pub, Swedish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Price Range: RM462 - RM1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Malmen staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
8 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Malmen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors and facing the back”
amarcord83, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms on lower levels have no windows. Windows in rooms on higher floors don't appear to open anyway, so this may not be so much a problem.”
Mrs_Quill, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room off the main road as the church bells chime every hour from 9am, not good if you fancy a lie in.”
michellemK6577AB, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Standard rooms are located in the basement and do not have any windows. Therefore, I highly recommend booking superior rooms.”
magdal92, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“To avoid the traffic noise at night, prefer rooms which are not facing the main streets.”
FredDee87, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$135* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$275
PricelineUS$153
Expedia.comUS$135
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates